Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - York

York Holiday Reviews

York Minster

The city of York is easily one of the UK's most popular short break destinations. Thousands of visitors flock to see this picturesque city each year for its fascinating history, fabulous shopping and a whole wealth of great attractions too. Our superb range of York hotels offer an ideal retreat after a long day of shopping and sightseeing. The medieval city is compact and easy to explore, the gorgeous York Minster, Clifford's Tower, the famous cobbled street The Shambles and the Jorvik Viking Centre are all within easy walking distance of most central hotels in York.

  • York Minster sits at the very heart of York and dominates the city skyline. One of Britain's best medieval cathedrals, highlights of the Minster include the spectacular Heart of Yorkshire window, the Norman foundations in the crypt and the 275 step ascent to the top of the tower.
  • Lying just a short drive from the Yorkshire Dales and North York Moors, York provides the perfect base to explore stunning North Yorkshire scenery. Walk the North Sea coast from Filey to Scarborough or tackle Yorkshire's three peaks near Skipton.
  • York boasts a thriving food and drink culture which includes many fine restaurants, bars, pubs and cafes. Try Skosh's small plates or street food in the Shambles Market. A hotbed of the craft beer revolution, York has two breweries within the city walls in Brew York and York Brewery, a visit to their taprooms is not to be missed.
Our York hotels benefit from great transport links and the city is an excellent choice for a rail break. Ideally placed on the high speed East Coast Mainline, York is a mere two hours from London and only two and a half hours from Edinburgh. A city with a proud heritage, the terrific National Railway Museum is one of York's busiest attractions or, to add something extra to your stay, be sure to take a scary York Ghost Walk for a short break with a difference.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1605

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Touch of Class

Stay Date: 18/10/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Aberdeen who stayed at 5* The Grand, York in York wrote this review.

Fabulous hotel from start to finishing. Very friendly and attentive staff. We will definitely be back. Minor detail was that we never did manage to figure out how to work the underfloor heating in See More  Read more information the bathroom, we could have asked at reception but the room was warm enough anyway. Hotel is spotless. Beds very comfortable. Continental breakfast was lovely and something for everyone. Didn't use thespa, restaurant or bar so cannot comment on them. Very convenient location situated between the railway station and the city centre - less than 5 minute walk from each.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bettys  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Western, Huby

Stay Date: 03/11/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Peterborough who stayed at 3* Best Western Burn Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night dinner) in Easingwold (Nr York) wrote this review.

From the pictures on the internet it looked as though the hotel would be an old country house type of building. In fact it is but the rooms seem to be located in a large 70's style extension built See More  Read more information on to the house. The room that we stayed in was small, probably ok for one person but not for 2. Had to squeeze past the shelves to get past the end of the bed to get into the bathroom.... which wasalmost as big as the bedroom. The room was clean but dated and no wardrobe but there was an open set of shelves with hanging space. If you have stayed in a Premier inn before then this room was not upto their standards. The meals in the hotel restaurant were excellent, 10/10. The staff were also very good and pleasant 10/10. Location is ok for a visit to York...use the park and ride which isabout 20 mins away from the hotel. The hotel is isolated and quiet.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York  
The York Soap Shop  
Park and Ride  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The hotel restaurant  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely Hotel

Stay Date: 18/10/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel (Including Dinner) in York wrote this review.

Great location overlooking the river. Central location for shopping and pubs. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A wonderful break near York

Stay Date: 30/10/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Parsonage Hotel & Spa (2 Nt BB Offer, 1 Cream Tea/1st Nt Dinner) in Escrick (Nr York) wrote this review.

The Parsonage Spa and Hotel was a great choice for a relaxing break away. The hotel has easy access to York using the local bus service. The Hotel was a delight, it had a good leisure facility, See More  Read more information which when we arrived we had our afternoon tea there.The hotel was a good, clean facility which provided excellent food, we had a lovely stay and although this hotel is not in the heart of York(where wehave always stayed when we come to York) it is well worth staying at for the value for money they are providing. We would love to come back to stay next time we are coming to York.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York City  
York Minister  
The Shambles  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jamie Oliver  
Parsonage  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Quality Break

Stay Date: 29/10/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Parsonage Hotel & Spa (2 Nt BB Offer, 1 Cream Tea/1st Nt Dinner) in Escrick (Nr York) wrote this review.

Our third stay at the Parsonage Hotel and we will go again. The hotel, food, service and Spa are just perfect for a relaxing break. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Best food ever

Stay Date: 29/10/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Newcastle Upon Tyne who stayed at 5* The Principal York in York wrote this review.

Stayed in Royal York hotel beds a bit too soft for me but everyone's different. Food was amazing, would go back. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Park  
York Minster  
Shambles  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Day out in Whitby

Stay Date: 28/10/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Preston who stayed at 3* Best Western Burn Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night dinner) in Easingwold (Nr York) wrote this review.

Used park and ride to visit Whitby. Lovely vibrant place with lots of cafes and Abbey worth a visit. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Whitby  
Yorkminster  
James Herriot Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Midweek at Bridge Inn

Stay Date: 27/10/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Bridge Hotel and Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Wetherby (Nr York) wrote this review.

The Bridge Inn is a lovely hotel with a wealth of history behind it. However, the staff were indifferent to any requests made and the service was minimally supplied. We were met with dirty laundry See More  Read more information piled in the corridor (the room itself was clean and well presented). The carvery table was generally unattended and a long wait was due both for breakfast and dinner. They ran out of bread butter andfried eggs at breakfast - again showed indifference when asked to replenish these items and the bread supplied was still frozen! Also wifi connection poor.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York  
York Minster  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A little disappointing

Stay Date: 25/10/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Orpington who stayed at 4* Doubletree by Hilton York (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in York wrote this review.

Best Western Monkbar is in a great location for all the attractions of York, being approx 5 mins from the Minster and shopping centre. The restaurant meals and service were excellent. Likewise the See More  Read more information reception staff were friendly and helpful. However the hotel room was disappointing. Whilst it had all you would require for a stay in the way of facilities and the beds were comfortable, we had tocomplain about an unpleasant smell in the bathroom, bathroom shaving light not working, trouser press not working and on the second morning we were unable to get hot water through the shower. Our car hadto be parked in the public car park which was 5 mins away from hotel due to refurbishment at the hotel. We were not aware of this fact until we had confirmation of our booking. Whilst this would notnormally be a problem to us, on this occasion my husband was suffering with a knee injury and was having trouble walking. Overall a good hotel but would probably would not use again until roomsupdated and car park reinstated.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Bad break

Stay Date: 25/10/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Bridge Hotel and Spa in Wetherby (Nr York) wrote this review.

On first approach to hotel very pleased. Staff at reception not over helpful didn't inform us of restaurants bars or spa. On booking hotel we requested a nice quiet room, we was put next to spa and See More  Read more information set of stairs. Room was not cleaned properly toilet rim had urine on it carpet had not been hoovered bed wasn't made properly sheet didn't even fit bed there was no television control reported toreception they couldn't find one to match the tv in our room. People constantly walking past our room from spa and running up and down stairs. Bar area was messy untidy and only one bar man servingfor two bars. Hallways to room were dirty. Didn't sleep well at all, constant noise. Wasn't greeted at breakfast so had to find a table and then fend for ourselves and ask for tea and coffee. Mypartner and I was looking forward to a romantic night away and unfortunately we didn't get that. Wouldn't return to hotel or recommend it.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York City Centre  
York Cathedral  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 531 - 540 of 1605 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 16:47:10

Last rendered @ 25/05/2019 06:32:41

Last rendered @ 25/05/2019 06:32:41

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.