Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - York

York Holiday Reviews

York Minster

The city of York is easily one of the UK's most popular short break destinations. Thousands of visitors flock to see this picturesque city each year for its fascinating history, fabulous shopping and a whole wealth of great attractions too. Our superb range of York hotels offer an ideal retreat after a long day of shopping and sightseeing; the medieval city is compact and easy to explore. The gorgeous York Minster, Clifford's Tower, the famous cobbled street The Shambles and the Jorvik Viking Centre are all within easy walking distance of most central hotels in York.

  • York Minster sits at the very heart of York and dominates the city skyline. One of Britain's best medieval cathedrals, highlights of the Minster include the spectacular Heart of Yorkshire window, the Norman foundations in the crypt and the 275 step ascent to the top of the tower.
  • Lying just a short drive from the Yorkshire Dales and North York Moors, York provides the perfect base to explore stunning North Yorkshire scenery. Walk the North Sea coast from Filey to Scarborough or tackle Yorkshire's three peaks near Skipton.
  • York boasts a thriving food and drink culture which includes many fine restaurants, bars, pubs and cafes. Try Skosh's small plates or street food in the Shambles Market. A hotbed of the craft beer revolution, York has two breweries within the city walls in Brew York and York Brewery, a visit to their taprooms is not to be missed.
Our York hotels benefit from great transport links and the city is an excellent choice for a rail break. Ideally placed on the high speed East Coast Mainline, York is a mere two hours from London and only two and a half hours from Edinburgh. A city with a proud heritage, the terrific National Railway Museum is one of York's busiest attractions or, to add something extra to your stay, be sure to take a scary York Ghost Walk for a short break with a difference.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1587

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Great Weekend in York

Stay Date: 01/11/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel in York wrote this review.

We had an excellent weekend in york the Queens hotel was good and clean and very centrally located the only problem was some drunken yobs coming in at midnight shouting & banging doors this was See More  Read more information reported to the reception and they was very apologetic and would speak to the room occupants   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

York by Foot

Stay Date: 08/11/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Merstham who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel in York wrote this review.

Ideal city for a short break family reunion. Queens Hotel occupies an extremely good location very close to the City centre on the banks of the River Ouse and a ten minute walk to York Railway See More  Read more information Station. The National Railway Museum offers free admission and is a must for everyone.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Rail Museum  
York Minster  
Norvik Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

York - Great Place

Stay Date: 12/11/13, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel in York wrote this review.

Everything about our short break was marvellous. Travel arrangements worked smoothly. Hotel well placed and convenient. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cliffords Tower  
York Minster  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Betty's  
Yorkshire Terrier  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in York

Stay Date: 01/02/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel in York wrote this review.

Queens hotel was in need of decoration but apart from that it was clean and the food was very good the rIlway museum was excellent really enjoyed it the weather was very good so made it a nice See More  Read more information weekend break   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dungeon  
Railway Museum  
Yorvik ctr  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Russell's  
Indian  
Betty tearoom  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great short break in York

Stay Date: 14/03/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Huntingdon who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel in York wrote this review.

Hotel in great location, easy walk from train station and near historic centre, bars and restaurants. Hotel clean and comfortable, breakfast good though would have liked pot of tea or coffee served See More  Read more information to table, the help yourself drinks were very stewed and you had to search for milk on stand with cereals, which was a hassle and spoilt otherwise good breakfast.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jaipurspice  
Ambiente  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Clean the Rooms

Stay Date: 01/04/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel in York wrote this review.

We stayed for 2 nights at the Queens Hotel, primarily for its location and secondly because breakfast was included. The hotel is certainly ideally located for accessing the main attractions. See More  Read more information However, on arrival at our room it was clear the room could do with a good clean, cob webs, dust and numerous dirty marks on the walls. The kettle in the room was clearly heavily scaled especially at thespout. This we highlighted to the reception, who suggested we would have to wait until the next day for it to be replaced or cleaned. When we returned fro our day out the next day, the inside of thekettle had been cleaned but the spout was still heavily scaled. We were told by the reception that if we wanted a cup of tea/coffee we could come down to reception for one. Also, there was no TVreception on our first day, in the whole of the hotel and this wouldn't be rectified until the next day. Breakfast at the hotel was cold, although the serving utensils were almost too hot to hold. The bedwas uncomfortable and the pillows flat. The bar prices in the hotel are very inflated encouraging the occupants to drink out of the hotel. Superbreak advertise the hotel as a 3 Star, whereas the localmagazines advertise it as a 2 star. Overall I would be pushed to give the Queens a 2 Star based on my experience. Our Superbreak package included 1st class rail travel from Aberdeen to York andthe trip down was excellent with an attentive service from the East Coast steward. However, the return trip was not as successful. We selected our train times from the Superbreak website, but couldn'tget a direct train to Aberdeen from York for the times to make our connection at the other end. We therefore accepted a change of train at Edinburgh, based on the options on your website. When we wentto change train at Edinburgh we were informed that our ticket wasn't valid for the next two departures and would have to wait in excess of 2 hours for the next East Coast train. This resulted in somesignificant changes to our travel arrangements once we arrived in Aberdeen and took the shine off what was meant to be a relaxing break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jamie's  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fabby York!

Stay Date: 09/05/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel in York wrote this review.

A lovely scenic, historic place to see. Lots to do and plenty of restaurants and pubs to suit everyone. Lots of fab shops and market stalls. The Queens Hotel in centre of it all, with lovely view of See More  Read more information the canal. Great place to stay, am booking our next trip!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Taj Mahal  
The Punch Bowl  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

The place to stay

Stay Date: 16/05/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Greenlaw who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel in York wrote this review.

The location of the Queens Hotel in York made our weekend. Right next to a bridge so a very short walk to the centre, the main attractions and the shops. Our room looking on to the river was very See More  Read more information nice, spotlessly clean and the fact is was 23 degrees every day made us feel like we were abroad. Fantastic break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
River Cruise  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Delrios  
Missoula  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great break

Stay Date: 23/06/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel in York wrote this review.

As we have stayed at the Queens Hotel before we were very pleased to return, from the reception, dining room and room service we were not disappointed with the entire package. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Golden Fleece  
Caesars at the minster  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

WEEKEND IN YORK

Stay Date: 08/08/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel in York wrote this review.

Been to York at least six or seven times now, always stayed at the Queens Hotel, perfect position for the city, river view rooms are the best, try to book car parking space beneath hotel(supplements See More  Read more information to pay for these). York is small enough to walk to all attractions and there`s plenty of pubs & cafes to call in if you need refreshing.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
City Walls  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Plonkers  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 361 - 370 of 1587 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open Open 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002024 @ 05/02/2019 12:08:50

Last rendered @ 20/02/2019 06:58:19

Last rendered @ 20/02/2019 06:58:19

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.