Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - York

York Holiday Reviews

York Minster

The city of York is easily one of the UK's most popular short break destinations. Thousands of visitors flock to see this picturesque city each year for its fascinating history, fabulous shopping and a whole wealth of great attractions too. Our superb range of York hotels offer an ideal retreat after a long day of shopping and sightseeing; the medieval city is compact and easy to explore. The gorgeous York Minster, Clifford's Tower, the famous cobbled street The Shambles and the Jorvik Viking Centre are all within easy walking distance of most central hotels in York.

  • York Minster sits at the very heart of York and dominates the city skyline. One of Britain's best medieval cathedrals, highlights of the Minster include the spectacular Heart of Yorkshire window, the Norman foundations in the crypt and the 275 step ascent to the top of the tower.
  • Lying just a short drive from the Yorkshire Dales and North York Moors, York provides the perfect base to explore stunning North Yorkshire scenery. Walk the North Sea coast from Filey to Scarborough or tackle Yorkshire's three peaks near Skipton.
  • York boasts a thriving food and drink culture which includes many fine restaurants, bars, pubs and cafes. Try Skosh's small plates or street food in the Shambles Market. A hotbed of the craft beer revolution, York has two breweries within the city walls in Brew York and York Brewery, a visit to their taprooms is not to be missed.
Our York hotels benefit from great transport links and the city is an excellent choice for a rail break. Ideally placed on the high speed East Coast Mainline, York is a mere two hours from London and only two and a half hours from Edinburgh. A city with a proud heritage, the terrific National Railway Museum is one of York's busiest attractions or, to add something extra to your stay, be sure to take a scary York Ghost Walk for a short break with a difference.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1635

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

A Great Day Drinking in York

Stay Date: 03/02/07, a customer from Sheffield who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel (Including Dinner) in York wrote this review.

We arrived at York early Saturday afternoon got parked easily, close to the hotel and made our way to the Kings Arms pub where we were meeting some friends. The Kings Arms is a fantastic pub and i See More  Read more information would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxed atmosphere in a perfect setting on the river. This was our third visit to York in two months so it must have something that attractsus...good pubs, good food and a really friendly trouble free city centre.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Boat  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Deniz Kebabs  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Royal York

Stay Date: 24/08/07, a customer from St. Albans who stayed at 5* The Principal York in York rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Minster  
Art Gallery  
City Museum  
Castle & Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blue Bicycle  
 
 

2 Day Rail Break To York

Stay Date: 21/01/10, a customer who stayed at 3* Jorvik House in York wrote this review.

It was a comfortable two hour trip via train right into the heart of York. We walked the ten minute journey, across a lovely park to the Jorik hotel. We were surprised at the high standard of our See More  Read more information Jorik hotel room, due to previous reviews we had seen. It was bright, clean and had a jacuzzi bath and hi tec shower system. Although there is clearly renovation under way in parts of the hotel, it inno way affected our stay. We walked round the beautiful historical lanes, shopping and taking in the beautiful Minster and sights. There were numerous small courtyards containing lovely old atmosphericpubs, restaurants & shops. We also visited the National Railway museum. It was really interesting and had free admission. We had an excellent time and it was fabulous value for £133 for both of us,including train fares.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Rail Museum  
York Minster  
Holy Trinity Church York  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bengal Brasserie  
Punchbowl Public House  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Photographic Meet

Stay Date: 07/08/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel (Including Dinner) in York wrote this review.

We held a photographic meet with my pals from fuji. I was the only one staying at this hotel. We booked a meal elsewhere and so i did not have any meals at the queens hotel. The hotel was quiet, See More  Read more information well staffed, clean and convenient for all the attractions.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Shambles  
National Railway Museum  
York Minster  
In And Around York  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Go Down  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Apartment! Too Many Rules!

Stay Date: 25/09/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Victoria Cloisters Apartments in York wrote this review.

The apartment was lovely. Very modern, spacious and clean. Only fault is the number of rules. £25 fine if you don't empty your bin! surely you are paying a cleaner to do this. Could do with a few See More  Read more information more utensils in kitchen. It was ok for a weekend, but if you were spending a week there and cooking a lot there would not be enough.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Blue Bicycle  
Michael's Brasserie  
 

User Review Ratings: 6 out of 6 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Wetherby

Stay Date: 10/06/12, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Bridge Hotel and Spa in Wetherby (Nr York) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wetherby  
Skipton  
York  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Leeds  
Wetherby  
Skipton  
 
 

Short Stay In York

Stay Date: 22/06/12, a customer who stayed at 3* Victoria Cloisters Apartments in York wrote this review.

Victoria cloister was centrally located. The apartment was wamr and cozy. Very clean. Have to note that it is self catering so no daily cleaning of the room. 3 days visit is more than sufficient to See More  Read more information cover the city of york. Our trip was made interesting when we co-incidentally arrived in the city when the olympic torch came to city making our visit to york eventful. The city walk was mostinteresting as it covers the history of york and took us to the back alleys and castles which we otherwise would not have discovered on our own. We enjoyed the hogroast sandwich which is native in this townand it was delicious. We had good chinese food at happy valley,french at cafe rouge and york traditional at gert & henry at the shambles. The shambles is a must to visit as it is very interesting andto see the number of cats walking on the wall of the city. The ruins of the city wall was also very interesting covering the norman years of york history. It is a good break from london. Thearrangement with Superbreak was excellent and seamless. Remember to book your confirmed seats from york to london as the train was very crowded and we had to stand all the way back on our return journey.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shambles  
Hop On Bus Tour  
Free Walking Tour Of The City  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cafe Rouge  
Happy Valley Chinese Restaurant  
Hogroast Sanwich  
 

User Review Ratings: 8 out of 8 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Nightmare

Stay Date: 20/01/18, a customer aged 45-64 from Leicester who stayed at 4* Parsonage Hotel & Spa (Yorkshire Tea & Cake of the Day) in Escrick (Nr York) wrote this review.

Walked out of hotel, room freezing cold, hadn't got any cakes left, which should have had on arrival and the restaurant was closed due to upgrade but wasn't told about this on booking. Staff rude See More  Read more information and unhelpful. Stayed in another hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 4 out of 4 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Trip to York

Stay Date: 02/03/18, a customer aged 25-44 from Staffordshire who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel in York wrote this review.

The hotel was lovely we didn't use any of the facilities because we was out most of the time. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Dungeon  
Jorvick Center  
Rail way Musium  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Five guys  
The hook and line  
The yourky pud  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Week in York

Stay Date: 12/04/18, a customer aged 45-64 from Australia who stayed at 3* Victoria Cloisters Apartments in York wrote this review.

York is amazing. Totally worth spending a few days in this city. Take longer and explore the wonderful moors. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Mansion House  
Museum Gardens  
York Minster  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pinicolli  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1591 - 1600 of 1635 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open Open 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001995 @ 15/11/2018 15:01:06

Last rendered @ 17/11/2018 10:50:43

Last rendered @ 17/11/2018 10:50:43

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.