Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - York

York Holiday Reviews

York Minster

The city of York is easily one of the UK's most popular short break destinations. Thousands of visitors flock to see this picturesque city each year for its fascinating history, fabulous shopping and a whole wealth of great attractions too. Our superb range of York hotels offer an ideal retreat after a long day of shopping and sightseeing. The medieval city is compact and easy to explore, the gorgeous York Minster, Clifford's Tower, the famous cobbled street The Shambles and the Jorvik Viking Centre are all within easy walking distance of most central hotels in York.

  • York Minster sits at the very heart of York and dominates the city skyline. One of Britain's best medieval cathedrals, highlights of the Minster include the spectacular Heart of Yorkshire window, the Norman foundations in the crypt and the 275 step ascent to the top of the tower.
  • Lying just a short drive from the Yorkshire Dales and North York Moors, York provides the perfect base to explore stunning North Yorkshire scenery. Walk the North Sea coast from Filey to Scarborough or tackle Yorkshire's three peaks near Skipton.
  • York boasts a thriving food and drink culture which includes many fine restaurants, bars, pubs and cafes. Try Skosh's small plates or street food in the Shambles Market. A hotbed of the craft beer revolution, York has two breweries within the city walls in Brew York and York Brewery, a visit to their taprooms is not to be missed.
Our York hotels benefit from great transport links and the city is an excellent choice for a rail break. Ideally placed on the high speed East Coast Mainline, York is a mere two hours from London and only two and a half hours from Edinburgh. A city with a proud heritage, the terrific National Railway Museum is one of York's busiest attractions or, to add something extra to your stay, be sure to take a scary York Ghost Walk for a short break with a difference.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1609

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Hotel Ok But Noisy Night

Stay Date: 12/03/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Jorvik House in York wrote this review.

Stayed with 2 friends 11th march. We had front rooms our friends had a room at the back. None of us got any sleep until after 3 am due to a party at the hotel. Very inconsiderate to others staying See More  Read more information at the hotel. Reported it to the management who just said "sorry". If you want a good nights sleep after a tireing day don't stay at the jorvik hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Joe Brown Concert  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Lendle  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good Weekend In York

Stay Date: 27/03/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Doubletree by Hilton York (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in York wrote this review.

We often stay in york, usually self catering but this time stayed at the monkbar hotel but it will be our last there, overall very poor. Walked the walls, snickelways and shops, great time. Weather See More  Read more information good, will be back found two super new coffee shops so need to go back soon.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Snickelways  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Express, York  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In York

Stay Date: 03/08/11, a customer who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel (Including Dinner) in York wrote this review.

Disappointing after reading many good reviews. Requested twin top floor, quiet room and got 1st floor very noisy room family room most of the noise coming from hotels plumbing system and restaurant See More  Read more information opposite bedroom window. Had to wait for table on two ocassions at breakfast despite arriving before 8am. Rather chaotic as not much room in serving area. Evening meal very average.Our experienceshouldn't put people off the hotel - this was just our experience but ensure that you book a room with a river view, these rooms seem to be better - less noise and better decor. Overall, york a wonderfulcity and will return.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Yorkshire Museum  
Railway Museum  
Jorvik Viking Centre  
York Minster  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Hotel Shame About The Noise

Stay Date: 15/08/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 5* The Principal York in York wrote this review.

The hotel was lovely, unfortunately 3 nights in a row there was a wedding in the hotel and we couldnt get to sleep for the noise of the band, even though we had requested a high floor, quiet room we See More  Read more information didnt get this, very disappointed.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor’s comments: Our booking confirmations state that any requests, such as upper floor rooms, quiet rooms etc. cannot be guaranteed, however every effort will be made to satisfy your requirements.

 

3 Days In York

Stay Date: 25/02/12, a customer from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Jorvik House in York wrote this review.

York is a great place whether you want to shop, like history, trains or religious buildings. We were not disappointed and did it all on foot. The entrance prices for the jorvik centre and york See More  Read more information minster at between £8-£9 were not disappointing and the ticket has a 12 month life so if we go back within the year we use the same ticket. The national railway museum has plenty to keep you entertainedeven if you are not a railway enthusiast, it's a trip back in time. There is no entrance fee, all they ask is for a donation (suggested donation of £3) so they can keep up the good work. We gave a £10donation for two of us and it was worth every penny and more, we were entertained for 2 an half hours and we still hadn't covered everything. Great for children too, with the chance to stand on some ofthe footplates and see the inside of the japanese bullet train. Very educational and well laid out.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Jorvik Centre  
National Railway Museum  
York Minster  
The Ghost Hunt- Ghost Walk  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

York

Stay Date: 18/08/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Doncaster who stayed at 4* Doubletree by Hilton York (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in York wrote this review.

went on combined bus / boat ticket . excelent value for money See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Boat Trip  
Bus Tours  
Railway Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
indian  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

York Trip

Stay Date: 23/06/13, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 5* The Principal York in York wrote this review.

Hotel was 4 stars but room did not reflect this. Stains on sheets. Very noisy at 3 in morning what sounded like delivery vehicles. Lots of bangs. Leisure facilities were excellent and hotel was See More  Read more information clean. It was also a great location.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shambles  
Betty's tearoom  
York Minster  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Oscars  
Betty's Tearoom  
Indian Lounge  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely Short Break

Stay Date: 06/08/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Blairgowrie who stayed at 4* Doubletree by Hilton York (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in York wrote this review.

As the weather was good we just took our time to stroll the lovely streets and the river walks and the wall. We also spent time visiting relatives and had a lovely break. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shops  
River Walks  
York Minster  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Windmill  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great time in York spolied by lack of sleep

Stay Date: 27/02/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Glasgow who stayed at 4* Novotel York Centre in York wrote this review.

The hotel was comfortable and the staff friendly. Unfortunately on my second day there was a hen party who kept knocking my door in the early afternoon. I reported this to reception and asked if See More  Read more information they could have a word about their hijinks and also the number of my room so that I was not disturbed again. When the group came back, they were noisy and then my internal phone went at 1.35 in themorning to tell me that my chinese meal was ready. I was furious as I was sharing a room with my disabled son and I was driving back to Scotland the next morning. and we were both awake for a couple ofhours as my son who has downs syndrome and OCD had to go through all his sleeping rituals again I was offered an apology but nothing else and feel this was not reasonable. We had hoped to dine in thehotel but it was so expensive for very basic pub grub so will probably book in the travelodge another time   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shambles  
The Minster  
Jorvik Centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wetherspoons  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in York

Stay Date: 04/07/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Peterborough who stayed at 4* Doubletree by Hilton York (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in York wrote this review.

Great place to visit , lots to see, the hotel was being refurbished and our room area was much needed, the floors all moved and creaked so badly that we were kept awake at night with others above us See More  Read more information walking around there room. The downstairs part of the hotel was very nice with plenty of seating areas, it is also in a great location to sight see around York.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Riverboat Cruise  
York Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Happy valley  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1581 - 1590 of 1609 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 12:13:57

Last rendered @ 24/06/2019 20:20:19

Last rendered @ 24/06/2019 20:20:19

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.