Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - York

York Holiday Reviews

York Minster

The city of York is easily one of the UK's most popular short break destinations. Thousands of visitors flock to see this picturesque city each year for its fascinating history, fabulous shopping and a whole wealth of great attractions too. Our superb range of York hotels offer an ideal retreat after a long day of shopping and sightseeing; the medieval city is compact and easy to explore. The gorgeous York Minster, Clifford's Tower, the famous cobbled street The Shambles and the Jorvik Viking Centre are all within easy walking distance of most central hotels in York.

  • York Minster sits at the very heart of York and dominates the city skyline. One of Britain's best medieval cathedrals, highlights of the Minster include the spectacular Heart of Yorkshire window, the Norman foundations in the crypt and the 275 step ascent to the top of the tower.
  • Lying just a short drive from the Yorkshire Dales and North York Moors, York provides the perfect base to explore stunning North Yorkshire scenery. Walk the North Sea coast from Filey to Scarborough or tackle Yorkshire's three peaks near Skipton.
  • York boasts a thriving food and drink culture which includes many fine restaurants, bars, pubs and cafes. Try Skosh's small plates or street food in the Shambles Market. A hotbed of the craft beer revolution, York has two breweries within the city walls in Brew York and York Brewery, a visit to their taprooms is not to be missed.
Our York hotels benefit from great transport links and the city is an excellent choice for a rail break. Ideally placed on the high speed East Coast Mainline, York is a mere two hours from London and only two and a half hours from Edinburgh. A city with a proud heritage, the terrific National Railway Museum is one of York's busiest attractions or, to add something extra to your stay, be sure to take a scary York Ghost Walk for a short break with a difference.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1587

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in York

Stay Date: 21/02/07, a customer from Newcastle Upon Tyne who stayed at 4* Novotel York Centre in York wrote this review.

It was my grandsons 3rd birthday and when we arrived we asked if they could provide a birthday cake at breakfast this was 1pm in the afternoon when we arrived they told us they couldnt help us but See More  Read more information we could buy a cake and take it to breakfast I thought this a little unfare as we didnt know anywhere in York and got a taxi to the National Railway Museum so i wasnt very impressed with the servicethat was provided I also suffer from ulcerative colitis and asked for a lower room as I need the toilet quite frequently and find i prefer to use my room I am very sever medication for this. when wearrived they had put us on the top floor and said there were not other rooms hence we had to take our evening meal in our room. not happy with the service and would probably not stay again. We often goaway for weekends but wouldnt use Novotel again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Railway Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Museum Weekend

Stay Date: 03/03/07, a customer who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel (Including Dinner) in York wrote this review.

we used the queen's hotel as a base for a museum weekend. Great for the kids- Jorvik, Castle Museum and National Railway Museaum. Good atmosphere in the city centre, with lots of places to have a See More  Read more information bite to eat, or simply relax.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jorvik Viking Centre  
Railway Museum  
Castle Museum  
York Wheel  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jumbo Chinese Buffet  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in York

Stay Date: 31/03/07, a customer from Redcar who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel (Including Dinner) in York wrote this review.

Being to Queens Hotel in October 06 and definately saw a decline since then. Shower not working, no dry wine by the glass. Sorry See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Yates  
Tuscany  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Poor Service At The Hotel Bar

Stay Date: 30/03/07, a customer who stayed at 5* The Principal York in York wrote this review.

Sat. - we wanted a light meal in the evening - a very long wait (over half hour) for food and drinks, but were given free hot drinks as compensation. Sun. - an even longer wait, then told that See More  Read more information two food items were off. not charged for drinks as compensation, but had no alternative, rather than face another long wait, but to buy sandwiches in station buffet   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Railway Museum  
York Minster  
Treasurer's House  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in York

Stay Date: 28/04/07, a customer from Ripley who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel (Including Dinner) in York wrote this review.

Lovely city with shops that are a little different from usual. Hotel dinner only satisfactory - food not very warm, were unsure how to make Irish coffee, many flavours bland. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Railway Museum  
Castle Museum  
Bus Tour of City  
York Shopping  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

I Would Rather Be In France

Stay Date: 04/05/07, a customer from London who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel (Including Dinner) in York wrote this review.

At first sight this is a good, interesting and educational destination with lots to do. But it is a real money magnet. A family with children would have to be choosey. There are many good pubs and See More  Read more information restaurants but be careful as they are probably out of bounds on Friday and Saturday nights. The best thing we visited was the National Rail Museum which also had the benefit of being free. A veryenjoyable few hours in pleasantly handled surroundings.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jorvik Centre  
National Rail Museum  
Open Bus Trip  
River Cruise  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in York

Stay Date: 11/05/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn York in York rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break in York

Stay Date: 05/07/07, a customer from Blackpool who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel (Including Dinner) in York rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jorvik Viking Centre  
York Minster  
 
 

Short Break in York

Stay Date: 26/07/07, a customer who stayed at 5* The Principal York in York rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Royal York Hotel Restaurant  
 
 

Memorable holiday

Stay Date: 31/07/07, a customer from Kilwinning who stayed at 4* Talbot Malton in Malton (Nr York) wrote this review.

Although the hotel was nothing great, it served it's purpose as a base for my son and I as we visited Yorkshire. I left the car at the hotel for the duration of our stay and decided to travel by See More  Read more information train, which was great as far as not having to worry about parking etc, but I found rail travel very expensive. On the plus side, the rail station was only a stones throw away from the hotel. We visitedmany places during our 5 day break and even got the train to Newcastle one day, to visit the Metro Centre - I wasn't very impressed with the centre. I felt we had walked for miles during our visit toYorkshire, saw many interesting places and were very lucky with the weather. I would visit Yorkshire again in the future, lots of historical and interesting places to see. I would prefer a moreupmarket hotel, one that is not quite so basic. the hotel was let down considerably by it's shabby decor, I felt it hadn't recovered from the many years it's patrons would have been smoking in it and nowwith the introduction of the smoking ban I felt the hotel had done nothing to freshen the place up. My bedroom for example was very nicotine coloured in plces that should have been white, this wasparticularly noticeable on the table lamp-shades, there was even cigarette burn marks on my bedside cabinet. Oh - and cobwebs on the ceiling was the icing on the cake. The hotel costs were not cheap so Iwould have expected a higher standard.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Minster  
Scarborough  
York Open Top Bus Tour  
National Railway Museum, York  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1521 - 1530 of 1587 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open Open 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002024 @ 05/02/2019 12:08:51

Last rendered @ 23/02/2019 22:51:44

Last rendered @ 23/02/2019 22:51:44

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.