Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - York

York Holiday Reviews

York Minster

The city of York is easily one of the UK's most popular short break destinations. Thousands of visitors flock to see this picturesque city each year for its fascinating history, fabulous shopping and a whole wealth of great attractions too. Our superb range of York hotels offer an ideal retreat after a long day of shopping and sightseeing. The medieval city is compact and easy to explore, the gorgeous York Minster, Clifford's Tower, the famous cobbled street The Shambles and the Jorvik Viking Centre are all within easy walking distance of most central hotels in York.

  • York Minster sits at the very heart of York and dominates the city skyline. One of Britain's best medieval cathedrals, highlights of the Minster include the spectacular Heart of Yorkshire window, the Norman foundations in the crypt and the 275 step ascent to the top of the tower.
  • Lying just a short drive from the Yorkshire Dales and North York Moors, York provides the perfect base to explore stunning North Yorkshire scenery. Walk the North Sea coast from Filey to Scarborough or tackle Yorkshire's three peaks near Skipton.
  • York boasts a thriving food and drink culture which includes many fine restaurants, bars, pubs and cafes. Try Skosh's small plates or street food in the Shambles Market. A hotbed of the craft beer revolution, York has two breweries within the city walls in Brew York and York Brewery, a visit to their taprooms is not to be missed.
Our York hotels benefit from great transport links and the city is an excellent choice for a rail break. Ideally placed on the high speed East Coast Mainline, York is a mere two hours from London and only two and a half hours from Edinburgh. A city with a proud heritage, the terrific National Railway Museum is one of York's busiest attractions or, to add something extra to your stay, be sure to take a scary York Ghost Walk for a short break with a difference.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1604

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Weekend For Two In York

Stay Date: 01/02/08, a customer from Gateshead who stayed at 5* The Principal York in York wrote this review.

We stayed for 2 nights (01/02/08 - 03/02/08) at the Royal York Hotel which had an excellent location, right next door to the Train Station and a short stroll to the Minster and other major See More  Read more information attractions. On entering the hotel you immediately get the feeling that you are in a classy joint. At reception the staff were very pleasant and gave us the key to our first room which was overlooking thetrain station roof and platform. Previous reviews had warned us about being woken up at 6.00 a.m. to the sound of a train announcer, so we complained to reception, who must have known what we about tosay, because straight away they moved us to a better room. The first room may not have been worth £120 per night, but the second room most definitely was. We then decided to have a drink in the Hotelbar, a pint of beer was £3.10 and a glass of wine was £6.25. (or £18.95 per bottle) extortionate considering it was only Echo Falls Rose - £3.99 per bottle in the shops. It was late afternoon in the bar,not too busy and there were 3 staff working, so we couldn't believe the number of tables waiting to be cleared of glasses and plates with leftover food etc. We ate in the hotel restaurant on thefirst nite, the food was ok, but the service was poor. We ordered water and a bottle of wine with our food. The starters came, but the wine and water didn't arrive until after our Main courses hadbeen served and only because we asked again. Breakfast on both mornings was a much better experience. Everything you could think of, was available and the level of service was far more suited to a 4 starhotel comapred to our experience at dinner. Overall, I would happily stay at the Royal again but would defintely give the bar and restaurant a miss next time. Away from the Hotel and on the secondnite and we ate in an italian restaurant called Tuscany, where the food and service were excellent. Make sure you leave room for a desert, they're not to be missed. We also ate at Zizzi for SundayLunch which was nice, but not up to the same standard as Tuscany. Our daytime was filled in by strolling through the old streets of the city centre taking in many of the fine attractions including theminster, the castle and the shambles etc. We also visited the Jorvik Viking Centre, which is well woth the entrance fee, about ?8, but if you sign up to gift aid, you get free entry for a year whichisn't bad at all if you plan to return. We also made time to take in some of the bars, old and new which all had a great atmosphere. With so much choice on offer, i would definitely return to York.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jorvik Viking Centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zizzi  
Tuscany  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

The Royal York Hotel

Stay Date: 21/02/08, a customer from Newark who stayed at 5* The Principal York in York wrote this review.

Extremely dissapointing hotel for its 4* rating. Bedoom was pretty small with inadequate drawer space & was so unbearably hot with no way of turning off the heating/opening the window more than a See More  Read more information few inches! Food in restaurant very mediocre- luke warm & uninspiring. Dirty linen & crockery outside bedroom doors when we checked in at 2:15 pm! Staff pleasant, but not really interested or capable indealing with 'problems'. Very poor value. Great city though- lots to see & do!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jorvik Viking Centre  
York Minster  
York Dungeons  
Castle Museum (York)  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in York

Stay Date: 23/02/08, a customer from Oswestry who stayed at 5* The Principal York in York wrote this review.

Dissappointed with hotel it wasnt a four star, the room was small for what we paid, but york was lovely and would go to york again. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Minster  
Shambles  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Royal York Hotel

Stay Date: 07/03/08, a customer from Cleveland who stayed at 5* The Principal York in York wrote this review.

For the price, this hotel was a let down. While the room was nice and the bathroom almost as big as the room, for a hotel of this standing, service was not where it should be. eg I ordered a See More  Read more information cocktail from the bar menu, but they did not have the ingredients. At breakfast I asked for Earl Grey Tea for two and was brought a pot of hot water with room service Earl Grey one cup tea bag in a papersachet. Reception were very efficient, but the most disappointing thing was that the hotel policy on booking is no stag or hen nights are accepted, however, a hen night was in the hotel and went on tothe early hours. Our romantic weekend in a luxury hotel was let down by the hotel. If you want a weekend in York, however, there is more than you can possibly do in one visit, with great places to see,great places to eat and drink, its easy to get to on the train and everything is virtually in walking distance of the centre. Leave the car at home as parking is expensive and a problem at times,jump on the train and have a fantastic holiday. If you only eat in one place it has to be Delrios, a genuine family run restaurant in the cellars under the street on Micklegate. Fantastic Sardinian food,good wine list, excellent friendly service and very good value. We've been going for 20+ years now and have never been disappointed. York has something for everyone - the legendary Bettys Tearooms tochampagne bars and some great real ale pubs (try the Spread Eagle on Walmgate, the Blue Bell also on Walmgate or the Yorkshire Terrier on Stonegate). Go to York, its a great holiday, just a shameabout the hotel this time.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Railway Museum  
Cliffords Tower  
Barley Hall  
York Brewery Tour  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bettys  
Delrios (on Micklegate)  
J Bakers Bistro Moderne (on Fossgate)  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Boozy Weekend in Malton!

Stay Date: 21/03/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Talbot Malton in Malton (Nr York) wrote this review.

We didn't really know what to expect in Malton, it was a last minute "let's get away for the weekend" decision. However we found the local area of pubs and bars very lively and the local people See More  Read more information extremely friendly! A good weekend was had.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Malton Local Area  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

All A Bit Shabby

Stay Date: 23/08/08, a customer from York who stayed at 4* Talbot Malton in Malton (Nr York) wrote this review.

We stayed at the Talbot Hotel in Malton, looks nice from the outside but very old and shabby inside, needs bringing up to date faded bedding old tatty furniture and nylon blankets a definate no no! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Poor Hotel Standard for a 4 Star

Stay Date: 27/10/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure York Fairfield Manor in York wrote this review.

The Hotel (fairfield Mannor)was overpriced and had maintinace issues, loose taps, poor tv picture, key card failed twice. The administration was poor, we paid in full on line with you, when we See More  Read more information arrived they didn't no we had paid so we had to explain the situation, When we left they tried to bill us again! Overall our experience in York was great, the only let down was the hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York City Centre  
Visited York Minster  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Ladies Trip to York

Stay Date: 25/11/08, a customer from Stirling who stayed at 5* The Principal York in York wrote this review.

4 middle aged ladies had a fun time eating, drinking, shopping and chatting in York. Hotel was good and right next to the station. Dinner in hotel was good but not extra special - we only ate there See More  Read more information because it was very cold outside and one of the party was not feeling too well so we didn't want to go out. The leisure pool and spa were very welcome in the morning, although changing rooms left alittle to be desired with the floor very wet. Traffic noise from the street outside was quite bad starting around 6.30am but other than that no complaints. York is a lovely city - very easy and compactto walk round and some great shops. Market on Wednesday (and other days)near the Shambles well worth visiting - just wish we could have bought some of the lovely fruit and veg on show.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rustique, Castlegate  
Biltmore Bar & Grill  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in York

Stay Date: 31/01/09, a customer from Northants who stayed at 4* Novotel York Centre in York rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jorvik  
Castle Museum  
 
 

Anniversery Visit To York

Stay Date: 14/05/09, a customer who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel (Including Dinner) in York wrote this review.

On arrival at hotel we were please with our choice of hotel, the location was great. Unfortunatley there was a lot of noise from outside the hotel late at night. The hotel was let down by the See More  Read more information restaurant, lots of things were not available on evening menu and the breakfast choice was poor and the cooked breeakfast buffet was not as hot as it should be.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Castle Museum  
York Races  
Ghost Walk  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1521 - 1530 of 1604 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:26

Last rendered @ 20/05/2019 09:36:28

Last rendered @ 20/05/2019 09:36:28

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.