Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - York

York Holiday Reviews

York Minster

The city of York is easily one of the UK's most popular short break destinations. Thousands of visitors flock to see this picturesque city each year for its fascinating history, fabulous shopping and a whole wealth of great attractions too. Our superb range of York hotels offer an ideal retreat after a long day of shopping and sightseeing. The medieval city is compact and easy to explore, the gorgeous York Minster, Clifford's Tower, the famous cobbled street The Shambles and the Jorvik Viking Centre are all within easy walking distance of most central hotels in York.

  • York Minster sits at the very heart of York and dominates the city skyline. One of Britain's best medieval cathedrals, highlights of the Minster include the spectacular Heart of Yorkshire window, the Norman foundations in the crypt and the 275 step ascent to the top of the tower.
  • Lying just a short drive from the Yorkshire Dales and North York Moors, York provides the perfect base to explore stunning North Yorkshire scenery. Walk the North Sea coast from Filey to Scarborough or tackle Yorkshire's three peaks near Skipton.
  • York boasts a thriving food and drink culture which includes many fine restaurants, bars, pubs and cafes. Try Skosh's small plates or street food in the Shambles Market. A hotbed of the craft beer revolution, York has two breweries within the city walls in Brew York and York Brewery, a visit to their taprooms is not to be missed.
Our York hotels benefit from great transport links and the city is an excellent choice for a rail break. Ideally placed on the high speed East Coast Mainline, York is a mere two hours from London and only two and a half hours from Edinburgh. A city with a proud heritage, the terrific National Railway Museum is one of York's busiest attractions or, to add something extra to your stay, be sure to take a scary York Ghost Walk for a short break with a difference.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1605

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Treat

Stay Date: 17/11/15, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Best Western Burn Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night dinner) in Easingwold (Nr York) wrote this review.

On arrival looked good, it was pouring of rain, when we got into our room it was freezing and we were told heating didn't come on till 4pm and then went off again at 7pm. I have been to many hotels See More  Read more information but never on a timer. The meal was excellent, staff were great, but we had to have three different people up to sort the TV out. The manager had the cheek to say it was on a timer, it kept going offfor two days, needless to say this was annoying. Never heard of a TV on timer, it kept going off ten minutes then you might get thirty minutes it was dreadful, in the end of the second night in theevening he brought us a small TV. I took my daughter for a break because her husband had died two weeks ago, I have to say this was stressful and spoilt our break. I asked the manager to compensate us insome way but we got nothing, very disappointing.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Helmsley  
Thirsk  
Easingwold  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good weekend in York

Stay Date: 20/11/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Sheffield who stayed at 3* Best Western York Pavilion Hotel (Half Board Offer) in York wrote this review.

Hotel as you would expect from its age. Good accommodation but getting dated. Great meals on each of the 2 evenings with the staff being very attentive and helpful. Easy hotel to find and approx 30 See More  Read more information minute walk to city centre. Appeared to be good bus service but didn't use. Would stay again if in area and happy to recommend.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Dungeon  
Yorvik  
Chocolate Experience  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in York

Stay Date: 27/11/15, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel (Including Dinner) in York wrote this review.

Had a great time at the shops, the hotel was good and the food was fine. Shops all walking distance from hotel, I will return. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dungeons  
Railway Museum  
on the boat  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Shame

Stay Date: 29/11/15, a customer aged 65+ from South Yorkshire who stayed at 4* Mercure York Fairfield Manor (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in York wrote this review.

Hotel was very clean with good size bedrooms, staff very good. Breakfast was help yourself which we prefer and all food hot and nice. The let down was dinner and the menu. Menu was disappointing and See More  Read more information food although presented well did not come up to a 4 star standard. Pie pastry hard and burger heavy and chewy. They need to up their restaurant menu and quality for dinner.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Nice break in York

Stay Date: 01/12/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel (Including Dinner) in York wrote this review.

Hotel superbly situated very near centre and next to river. Be aware that if there is flooding you will not be able to use the hotel car park. Room pleasant however new mattresses needed for the See More  Read more information single bed. Food was good with plenty of choice and the serving staff were lovely. The hotel seems to get a lot of coach tours who always seem to book the dining room at 6:30 so generally the onlysittings available were 6 or 7:30 or later.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bills  
akbahrs  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Christmas Stay

Stay Date: 09/12/15, a customer aged 25-44 from Angus who stayed at 3* Jorvik House in York wrote this review.

Hotel in great location, have stayed here a number of times before and always been happy with rooms, however on this occasion we were given a room in what can only be described as a garage See More  Read more information conversion! Situated right at the back of the hotel annex this room was small, poky + freezing! If we had been staying longer than 2 nights we would have asked to change rooms. The minimal time that we spentin the room involved us squeezing past the end of the bed to get round the room, struggling to get any channels on the TV and freezing in general, but especially in the bathroom!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

New Year break in Wetherby.

Stay Date: 31/12/15, a customer aged 65+ from Staffordshire who stayed at 4* Bridge Hotel and Spa 2 Night New Year Break in Wetherby (Nr York) wrote this review.

Hotel room was good, but lacked anywhere to hang coats. Wardrobe was very small, and included a trouser press in it. Impossible to use without taking everything out of it. Nice touches in room See More  Read more information though with a small decanter of port. We were there for New Year's Eve, included was afternoon tea which was very good. The carvery for the evening meal was ok, the chef carving the meal was a littlesurly, he just threw the 2 slices of beef onto your plate. No other choice of meat was available. Yorkshire pudding was like a doorstop. The potatoes were overcooked, roast potatoes very nice, other vegwas good. Good disco. Second night we had a Murder Mystery night. This again included a Carvery, exactly the same as the night before, but we did have a choice of pork and beef. The theme of theevening was very good and would recommend this. Overall we had a good New Year break, but for the cost, the food could have been better with a bit more choice. The breakfast was good, with plenty ofchoice.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harrogate Town  
Skipton  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short stay in York

Stay Date: 07/01/16, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 5* The Principal York in York wrote this review.

Hotel in good location to visit attractions. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Rail Museum  
Shops  
York Minster  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Teddy Bear Tea Rooms  
Mallard restaurant at N R M  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Convenient position

Stay Date: 29/01/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Parsonage Hotel & Spa (Yorkshire Tea & Cake of the Day) in Escrick (Nr York) wrote this review.

The Parsonage Hotel, near York, was in a good position to get to McCarthy Glenn Fashion Outlet Store and it is also possible to leave the car on their car park and get the bus into York. The hotel See More  Read more information room was very good but the bathroom was let down by having a dowdy black floor and no heater or heated towel rail. The food in the restaurant was very good. As we only booked for one night, we did runout of time and couldn't take part in the leisure facilities which appeared excellent.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Valentine's in York

Stay Date: 13/02/16, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel (Including Dinner) in York wrote this review.

A wonderful Valentine's weekend spent in York browsing shops during the day and walking along the River Ouse. The hotel was as centrally located as possible right on the bank of the river. Our room See More  Read more information was a particularly large room with a well appointed spacious bathroom. The carvery evening meal was plentiful as was the buffet breakfast in the morning. We would definitely consider this hotel again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Shops  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Drake's Fish n Chips  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 901 - 910 of 1605 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 16:47:10

Last rendered @ 21/05/2019 18:18:33

Last rendered @ 21/05/2019 18:18:33

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.