Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - York

York Holiday Reviews

York Minster

The city of York is easily one of the UK's most popular short break destinations. Thousands of visitors flock to see this picturesque city each year for its fascinating history, fabulous shopping and a whole wealth of great attractions too. Our superb range of York hotels offer an ideal retreat after a long day of shopping and sightseeing. The medieval city is compact and easy to explore, the gorgeous York Minster, Clifford's Tower, the famous cobbled street The Shambles and the Jorvik Viking Centre are all within easy walking distance of most central hotels in York.

  • York Minster sits at the very heart of York and dominates the city skyline. One of Britain's best medieval cathedrals, highlights of the Minster include the spectacular Heart of Yorkshire window, the Norman foundations in the crypt and the 275 step ascent to the top of the tower.
  • Lying just a short drive from the Yorkshire Dales and North York Moors, York provides the perfect base to explore stunning North Yorkshire scenery. Walk the North Sea coast from Filey to Scarborough or tackle Yorkshire's three peaks near Skipton.
  • York boasts a thriving food and drink culture which includes many fine restaurants, bars, pubs and cafes. Try Skosh's small plates or street food in the Shambles Market. A hotbed of the craft beer revolution, York has two breweries within the city walls in Brew York and York Brewery, a visit to their taprooms is not to be missed.
Our York hotels benefit from great transport links and the city is an excellent choice for a rail break. Ideally placed on the high speed East Coast Mainline, York is a mere two hours from London and only two and a half hours from Edinburgh. A city with a proud heritage, the terrific National Railway Museum is one of York's busiest attractions or, to add something extra to your stay, be sure to take a scary York Ghost Walk for a short break with a difference.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1604

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

2 great days out in York

Stay Date: 05/10/17, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Novotel York Centre (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in York wrote this review.

Novotel situated just outside the hustle and bustle of the city, but within easy walking distance. The hotel was fine but PLEASE can they supply single duvets for single beds as we suffered with a See More  Read more information triple folded king size one which was very heavy and very hot! Loved York - so much to see and do. We used the sightseeing bus which was very informative and a good way of seeing the city on a firstvisit.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Minster  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Little Italy  
L  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great location for York

Stay Date: 07/10/17, a customer aged 65+ from Cumbria who stayed at 4* Parsonage Hotel & Spa (2 Nt BB Offer, 1 Cream Tea/1st Nt Dinner) in Escrick (Nr York) wrote this review.

Hotel was nice although we were put in the coach house through the grounds (fortunately not raining). Room was very nice. Afternoon tea was good and served promptly as we arrived. 1st night dinner See More  Read more information was supposed to be 3 course but after 2nd course they forgot about us and no one collected our plates or asked if we required a sweet - disappointing although they knocked the price of our drinks off.1st morning breakfast we were shown into a back room as the dining room as full - awful so I asked be moved. All told the stay was good but unfortunately there was a wedding being held at the hotelwhich meant we had to compromise. In future I will check to make sure there isn't a wedding going on.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York outlet  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Thai  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Visit to York

Stay Date: 15/10/17, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Best Western Burn Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night dinner) in Easingwold (Nr York) wrote this review.

The hotel was ideal. Food was very good and the staff were excellent. We used the Park and Ride into York which was excellent. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York City  
York Minster  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

York short stay

Stay Date: 15/10/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Bathgate who stayed at 4* Novotel York Centre in York wrote this review.

The hotel has aspects of 4* hotel, however in my opinion is not 4*. The rooms were decorated in what resembled wood chip paper and had nothing to soften the starkness of the cream walls (which See More  Read more information looked dirty) and dull stained carpet. The toilet was separate meaning you had to walk to separate shower room to wash your hands (and whilst this may not be a major issue for some I wondered how muchgerms was on the door handles and if they were cleaned daily). I have stayed in better budget hotel rooms. On a positive note all the staff we met were willing, helpful and always greet you with a smile.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Dungeons  
Boat Cruise  
Jorvik Centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bells Italia  
Prezzo  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Recent York Visit

Stay Date: 19/10/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel (Including Dinner) in York wrote this review.

Really enjoyed our recent 2 day break in York. Had a fabulous trip down on Virgin Train, hotel was in perfect location, very pleasant staff, very easy to access the town and all main attractions. See More  Read more information Accommodation and food at hotel was great although they could have halved their evening meal portions and still been more than sufficient. Unfortunately the return trip to Edinburgh on the Cross CountryTrain was absolutely terrible, it was first and last time travelling with them.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Nice hotel just needs bit of maintenance

Stay Date: 26/10/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Gloucester who stayed at 4* Parsonage Hotel & Spa (2 Nt BB Offer, 1 Cream Tea/1st Nt Dinner) in Escrick (Nr York) wrote this review.

We have got mixed feelings about our recent break at Parsonage Hotel and Spa. The hotel itself was nice with lovely grounds. Our room was large with 4 poster bed but the windows didn't close See More  Read more information properly so very draughty and ivy growing up the walls inside. The cream tea was lovely served in the conservatory, our evening meal was lovely too but the service very slow and strange way of ordering, wehad to go to the bar to wait for our table and place our order, it took ages to get a menu and a long time after that to go to our table. The hotel was very cold and several guests commented aboutthis, it was only when I complained to reception staff that they turned the heating back on. The spa/gym was great, lovely facilities pool, sauna, Jacuzzi even had aromatherapy sauna. We loved the gastropub The Fat Abbot (linked with hotel) they served lovely food and it was warm, friendly atmosphere. The hotel itself was in a great position for sightseeing. We went to the park and ride just downthe road, however you could catch a bus just outside the hotel. We walked the city walls of York, loved York Minster and The Shambles. Our favourite spot was Knaresborough Viaduct over the river andthe castle on the hill, it was lovely. We would definitely go to the hotel again but in the summer and hope they've addressed some of the maintenance issue e.g. windows.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York  
Knaresborough  
Harrogate  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great central hotel

Stay Date: 11/11/17, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel (Including Dinner) in York wrote this review.

This is a great central hotel to explore York. Room overlooking river was fantastic. Food and service were great. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Castle Museum  
Railway Museum  
Ouse boat trip  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cafe Nero  
Lucky days  
Museum tearoom  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend break

Stay Date: 17/11/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Best Western Burn Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night dinner) in Easingwold (Nr York) wrote this review.

The hotel reception and bar, restaurant were decorated lovely, rooms are a little basic and needs more colour in the room i.e. pictures. Breakfast was lovely and restaurant food was good. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel Stay

Stay Date: 21/11/17, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Parsonage Hotel & Spa (2 Nt BB Offer, 1 Cream Tea/1st Nt Dinner) in Escrick (Nr York) wrote this review.

Overlooked. Worth mentioning that whilst our room was very good, size wise & furnishings, the bathroom door did not close properly and several of the window panes had condensation inside them, being See More  Read more information double glazed. So, some maintenance work could be needed on our room. Otherwise our stay was very good indeed and should we be returning to York again we would certainly look at this hotel again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Fat abbot  
Laselles  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent visit to York

Stay Date: 21/11/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel in York wrote this review.

Location of hotel and room was excellent for our visit. We asked for a quiet room but because it was above the kitchen, we were woken up before 6am by banging about and during evening a constant See More  Read more information noise from below. Otherwise getting about in York was very easy with lots to see and do. The railway museum was excellent.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Minster  
Holy Trinity Church  
City Walls Walk  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wildwood  
Slug & Lettuce  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 841 - 850 of 1604 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:24

Last rendered @ 19/05/2019 18:13:36

Last rendered @ 19/05/2019 18:13:36

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.