Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - York

York Holiday Reviews

York Minster

The city of York is easily one of the UK's most popular short break destinations. Thousands of visitors flock to see this picturesque city each year for its fascinating history, fabulous shopping and a whole wealth of great attractions too. Our superb range of York hotels offer an ideal retreat after a long day of shopping and sightseeing; the medieval city is compact and easy to explore. The gorgeous York Minster, Clifford's Tower, the famous cobbled street The Shambles and the Jorvik Viking Centre are all within easy walking distance of most central hotels in York.

  • York Minster sits at the very heart of York and dominates the city skyline. One of Britain's best medieval cathedrals, highlights of the Minster include the spectacular Heart of Yorkshire window, the Norman foundations in the crypt and the 275 step ascent to the top of the tower.
  • Lying just a short drive from the Yorkshire Dales and North York Moors, York provides the perfect base to explore stunning North Yorkshire scenery. Walk the North Sea coast from Filey to Scarborough or tackle Yorkshire's three peaks near Skipton.
  • York boasts a thriving food and drink culture which includes many fine restaurants, bars, pubs and cafes. Try Skosh's small plates or street food in the Shambles Market. A hotbed of the craft beer revolution, York has two breweries within the city walls in Brew York and York Brewery, a visit to their taprooms is not to be missed.
Our York hotels benefit from great transport links and the city is an excellent choice for a rail break. Ideally placed on the high speed East Coast Mainline, York is a mere two hours from London and only two and a half hours from Edinburgh. A city with a proud heritage, the terrific National Railway Museum is one of York's busiest attractions or, to add something extra to your stay, be sure to take a scary York Ghost Walk for a short break with a difference.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1635

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

30th birthday

Stay Date: 27/06/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Newcastle Upon Tyne who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel (Including Dinner) in York wrote this review.

Stayed for one night for daughter's 30th birthday in various hotels. My breakfast and evening meal were superb - top marks to the chef and staff, had a twin room my bed being the double was See More  Read more information comfortable but my sister's single bed was uncomfortable, asked for an ice bucket to cool champagne to take to daughter's apartment but was told I had to pay £2.50 for ice which I thought was disgraceful, allin all a good stay close to everything and would return to this hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel

Stay Date: 12/07/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Elgin who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn York in York wrote this review.

Hotel let down by the restaurant staff who were sullen and left breakfast dishes on the tables. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Yorkshire Air Museum  
Jorvik  
York Minster  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Frankie and Bennies  
scotts chip shop  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Nice location

Stay Date: 13/07/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Best Western Burn Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night dinner) in Easingwold (Nr York) wrote this review.

Lovely settings and friendly staff throughout the stay. Food was great too. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cliffords Tower  
Roman Bath House  
Jorvic  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
rose and crown sutton on the field  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great day out in York

Stay Date: 24/07/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Mercure York Fairfield Manor in York wrote this review.

Mercure Fairfield Manor is an excellent hotel with very friendly and helpful staff who went the extra mile to ensure our stay was fabulous. The hotel was situated near the park and ride meaning See More  Read more information getting into York was so simple. Would definitely recommend it to anyone. Can't wait to do it again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shambles Shopping  
Racecourse  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Golden Fleece  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel

Stay Date: 26/07/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel in York wrote this review.

Hotel is decent but could do with an update as it's looking tired. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Taj Mahal  
Delrios  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Queens Hotel

Stay Date: 31/07/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel (Including Dinner) in York wrote this review.

Hotel in excellent position. Room and bathroom large and comfortable. What let the visit down was the food in the hotel. After staying and eating here on several previous visits the standard at See More  Read more information dinner was not the same. We put this down to a coach party staying at the hotel, and we had the same set menu, i.e. what was left after they had eaten (judging by the speed it came out of the kitchen).The breakfast was ok, with plenty of food on offer. If we stayed here again we would not eat here.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
elvington track  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Day Out In York

Stay Date: 24/07/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Barnard Castle who stayed at 4* Doubletree by Hilton York (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in York wrote this review.

We walked the walls which was very relaxing. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable - slept well. Staff were very helpful and cheerful. Best tip is to get around walking you see See More  Read more information lots.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Minster  
Shops  
York  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lots to do and see

Stay Date: 03/08/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Uk who stayed at 5* The Principal York in York wrote this review.

Have been to York many times - The Royal York Hotel was perfect as a base - close to station and bus stops and very comfortable with helpful, welcoming staff...would recommend visiting the tourist See More  Read more information information centre as they helped us arrange a visit to the Bronte museum and will always go the extra mile to ensure your visit is enjoyable. They give you some great suggestions and are able toaccess websites for you relating to transport etc.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Castle Howard  
York Minster  
bronte house  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Oscars  
Stonegate Yard  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent Break

Stay Date: 04/08/15, a customer aged 25-44 from Peterborough who stayed at 3* Best Western Burn Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night dinner) in Easingwold (Nr York) wrote this review.

Just returned from a very enjoyable 3 day break in York and our stay at the Burn Hall Hotel was excellent. We had a family room as we were with our twin 12 year old boys, and it was a really See More  Read more information refreshing change to have interconnecting rooms rather than being crushed into the same room as is the norm with hotels these days, the boys had their own space which we all enjoyed! Staff at the hotelwere very attentive and helpful, and a credit to the hotel. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first night, on the SuperBreak 'first night dinner included' deal. In reality this does in fact meanan allowance of £20 per adult and £10 per child towards the meal, however we all had main courses and puddings (with our children choosing off the adult's menu rather than the children's menu becausethey eat more than we do these days!) And at the end all we had to pay was an additional £12 on top of the allowance. The food was of excellent quality, very large portions, and we would never havemanaged three courses! Breakfast was the usual hotel buffet style, but again of good quality with a wide selection of both cooked and cereal/continental options, including a very passable fresh fruitsalad. The only issue we had with the hotel, and it's a minor one, is that the WiFi is useless. They advertise free WiFi but the reality is that it is very patchy at best. In this era, witheveryone so dependent upon various mobile devices, it is becoming more and more important for people to have good WiFi - especially if you have two 12 year old boys who seem to be incapable of functioningwithout it! I do think the hotel would be well advised to invest in a decent WiFi system. Certainly if I had been staying at the hotel on business I would have been far from happy about the lack ofconnectivity. We visited York on all three days, choosing to use the Park and Ride system on the second day to save on the cost of parking (which, be warned, is at least £2.40 per hour and can be moredepending on where you park). We would definitely recommend it - £5.80 return for two adults (children under 16 are free) - it took less than 15 minutes to get in to the city centre and the buses goevery few minutes. Bettys Tea Rooms, although a bit expensive, is a 'must-do' just for the experience. Oh, and avoid Bella Italia like the plague. I won't go into more detail here because it'sa very long story, but suffice it to say that we have never had such a bad experience ever, and will certainly not be returning to that restaurant! We visited the York Castle Museum - excellentvalue at £10 per adult and again children are free (I do wish more attractions would adopt this policy!) - and spent a very enjoyable two and a half hours looking at the wide variety of exhibits. We alsowent to the Railway Museum which even if you are not particularly into trains is still very interesting and FREE to visit, and again you can easily spend a couple of hours just wandering around. Ahigh 'thumbs up' to Burns Hall for a very pleasant stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Castle Museum  
National Railway Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bella Italia  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great central hotel

Stay Date: 14/08/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Doubletree by Hilton York (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in York wrote this review.

Great monkhouse great western hotel - staff all nice, house keeping very good with little things like tea/coffee making facilities in room with biscuits & water left every day. Evening meal was See More  Read more information excellent. Breakfast outstanding self service. Been filled all the time with fresh food, nice touch with toast & tea & coffee brought to table.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Boat Trip  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Yorkshire hog roast  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 791 - 800 of 1635 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open Open 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001995 @ 15/11/2018 15:01:08

Last rendered @ 18/11/2018 00:19:34

Last rendered @ 18/11/2018 00:19:34

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.