Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - York

York Holiday Reviews

York Minster

The city of York is easily one of the UK's most popular short break destinations. Thousands of visitors flock to see this picturesque city each year for its fascinating history, fabulous shopping and a whole wealth of great attractions too. Our superb range of York hotels offer an ideal retreat after a long day of shopping and sightseeing. The medieval city is compact and easy to explore, the gorgeous York Minster, Clifford's Tower, the famous cobbled street The Shambles and the Jorvik Viking Centre are all within easy walking distance of most central hotels in York.

  • York Minster sits at the very heart of York and dominates the city skyline. One of Britain's best medieval cathedrals, highlights of the Minster include the spectacular Heart of Yorkshire window, the Norman foundations in the crypt and the 275 step ascent to the top of the tower.
  • Lying just a short drive from the Yorkshire Dales and North York Moors, York provides the perfect base to explore stunning North Yorkshire scenery. Walk the North Sea coast from Filey to Scarborough or tackle Yorkshire's three peaks near Skipton.
  • York boasts a thriving food and drink culture which includes many fine restaurants, bars, pubs and cafes. Try Skosh's small plates or street food in the Shambles Market. A hotbed of the craft beer revolution, York has two breweries within the city walls in Brew York and York Brewery, a visit to their taprooms is not to be missed.
Our York hotels benefit from great transport links and the city is an excellent choice for a rail break. Ideally placed on the high speed East Coast Mainline, York is a mere two hours from London and only two and a half hours from Edinburgh. A city with a proud heritage, the terrific National Railway Museum is one of York's busiest attractions or, to add something extra to your stay, be sure to take a scary York Ghost Walk for a short break with a difference.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1633

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in York

Stay Date: 05/05/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn York in York wrote this review.

I was very dissapointed on arriving at my hotel to discover your company had not booked my accomaddation luckily there were rooms available and after a long wait the Holiday Inn staff were able to See More  Read more information sort out your mistake   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Railway Museum  
Jorvik  
Yorkshire Wheel  
York Dungeons  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's Comments: We work hard to ensure our booking procedures are very comprehensive and we are working with the hotel to ensure that their reservation procedures are reviewed.

 

Great Weekend Break

Stay Date: 21/03/08, a customer from West Bromwich who stayed at 3* Mercure Wetherby in Wetherby (Nr York) wrote this review.

I enjoyed visiting York & the surrounding area. The hotel was excellent value for money & the staff were very friendly & obliging. I came back home refreshed which was exactly what i was hoping See More  Read more information for.We would recommed the hotel to anyone.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jorvik Viking Centre  
York Minster  
Harrogate Town  
Barley Hall  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

break away from family

Stay Date: 25/10/08, a customer from Sheffield who stayed at 3* Mercure Wetherby in Wetherby (Nr York) wrote this review.

The break was for my daughter-in-law. We looked around york and wetherbyand enjoyed our 2 days away from the family,in a clean and comfortable hotel. We enjoyed looking round york and visiting the See More  Read more information museum and Jorvik centre and also doing a bit of shopping.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jorvik Centre  
Castle Museum (York)  
shops and market  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good day out at Wetherby races

Stay Date: 01/11/08, a customer who stayed at 3* Mercure Wetherby in Wetherby (Nr York) wrote this review.

Stayed at the Jarvis hotel just on the outskirts of Wetherby village excellent location for the Racecourse and to drink and eat after races. On saturday we went raceing at Newcastle the course is a See More  Read more information five minute walk from Gosforth Marriott, the facilities at the course are excellent and I would highly recommend a visit Gosforth Marriott is a great location and excellent hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wetherby Racecourse  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Overnighter For Trade Fair In Harrogate

Stay Date: 19/07/09, a customer from Mexborough who stayed at 3* Mercure Wetherby in Wetherby (Nr York) wrote this review.

Beautiful town, close enough to Harrogate, well placed for touring North Yorks. Hotel adequate but with reception and stairway in need of upgrading. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ask  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Stay In Ramada Wetherby

Stay Date: 23/10/09, a customer from Warrington who stayed at 3* Mercure Wetherby in Wetherby (Nr York) wrote this review.

The hotel was good with one or two little points with room for improvement. We upgraded our room for £15 per night and we got papers free and internet and movies. We chose a movie but two thirds in See More  Read more information the tv screen picture broke up and carried on doing this to the end of the film. Breakfast was good but toaster took ages to slightly cook it.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Castle Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ask In Wetherby  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In York

Stay Date: 02/10/09, a customer from Guisborough who stayed at 3* Mercure Wetherby in Wetherby (Nr York) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Golden Lion, Osmotherley  
 
 

Good Day Out In York

Stay Date: 01/09/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Pontefract who stayed at 3* Mercure Wetherby in Wetherby (Nr York) wrote this review.

Had a great day out went to rail museum, a bit of shopping, had an ok meal and nice walk by the river. We were staying in Wetherby and were a bit disappointed that although there was public See More  Read more information transport to Leeds & Harrogate there was none to York (we went on Sunday). The Hotel was ok rooms pretty basic breakfast not great, very tasty but luke warm for the most part (pot of tea included). Staffwere very friendly and attentive. Location only a short walk from town.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Wetherby Mercure

Stay Date: 15/05/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Mercure Wetherby in Wetherby (Nr York) wrote this review.

The hotel was adequate but would not use it again. It is badly in need of refurbishment. The staff were very poor - tables were not cleaned for hours on end, carpets were not hovered despite See More  Read more information notifying staff that there were crumbs etc. on the carpets. The price of drinks and meals were too high given the location. Local pubs and restaurants were much better value and were within walking distanceof the hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Lack of communication from the hotel spoilt the break

Stay Date: 01/01/18, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Mercure Wetherby in Wetherby (Nr York) wrote this review.

Having emailed hotel, I had to phone the day before we travelled to get any answers to the requests. They couldn’t track my email even though a standard response had been generated. If we had had See More  Read more information the information I required we would not have spent the entire break stranded without suitable transport to visit ANY of the various towns / attractions we wanted to visit. The DJ for New Year's Eve wasprobably the worst I have ever experienced, not just his complete lack of programming tracks to provide a good party atmosphere but he even managed to mess up the actual countdown to midnight! Rathercrucial I would have thought.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wetherby Town  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Mercure  
Bengal Lounge  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 51 - 60 of 1633 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 11:23:27

Last rendered @ 20/07/2019 02:19:24

Last rendered @ 20/07/2019 02:19:24

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.