Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - York

York Holiday Reviews

York Minster

The city of York is easily one of the UK's most popular short break destinations. Thousands of visitors flock to see this picturesque city each year for its fascinating history, fabulous shopping and a whole wealth of great attractions too. Our superb range of York hotels offer an ideal retreat after a long day of shopping and sightseeing. The medieval city is compact and easy to explore, the gorgeous York Minster, Clifford's Tower, the famous cobbled street The Shambles and the Jorvik Viking Centre are all within easy walking distance of most central hotels in York.

  • York Minster sits at the very heart of York and dominates the city skyline. One of Britain's best medieval cathedrals, highlights of the Minster include the spectacular Heart of Yorkshire window, the Norman foundations in the crypt and the 275 step ascent to the top of the tower.
  • Lying just a short drive from the Yorkshire Dales and North York Moors, York provides the perfect base to explore stunning North Yorkshire scenery. Walk the North Sea coast from Filey to Scarborough or tackle Yorkshire's three peaks near Skipton.
  • York boasts a thriving food and drink culture which includes many fine restaurants, bars, pubs and cafes. Try Skosh's small plates or street food in the Shambles Market. A hotbed of the craft beer revolution, York has two breweries within the city walls in Brew York and York Brewery, a visit to their taprooms is not to be missed.
Our York hotels benefit from great transport links and the city is an excellent choice for a rail break. Ideally placed on the high speed East Coast Mainline, York is a mere two hours from London and only two and a half hours from Edinburgh. A city with a proud heritage, the terrific National Railway Museum is one of York's busiest attractions or, to add something extra to your stay, be sure to take a scary York Ghost Walk for a short break with a difference.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1605

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Yorkshire Break

Stay Date: 07/08/12, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* George Hotel in Easingwold (Nr York) wrote this review.

We stayed at the George Hotel in Easingwold. I cannot praise this hotel enough, the owners showed a genuine interest in you and the staff were all friendly and helpful. The hotel has both character See More  Read more information and charm. The atmosphere in the hotel is welcoming and friendly.The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean with everything you needed. The food was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stayand would definately go back again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Castle Howard  
York  
Thorpe Perrow  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Superb bank holiday in York

Stay Date: 24/08/12, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel (Including Dinner) in York wrote this review.

Fantastic hotel. Superb food. Only disappointment was that evening dinner was a very rushed experience. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York  
River Cruise in York  
Bus Tour in York  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Oscars  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

2 Night Break Near York

Stay Date: 30/08/12, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Parsonage Hotel & Spa (2 Nt BB Offer, 1 Cream Tea/1st Nt Dinner) in Escrick (Nr York) wrote this review.

Parsonage Country House Hotel-rooms a little tired otherwise couldn't fault it. Hotel restaurant was absolutely fantastic quality meal- very friendly helpful staff. Great spa facilities and a lovely See More  Read more information afternoon tea- Would certainly re-visit   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Tour Bus  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Thai Restaurant next to the Parsonage Country House Hotel  
 

User Review Ratings: 4 out of 4 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Birthday in Boroughbridge

Stay Date: 29/09/12, a customer aged 25-44 from Mexborough who stayed at 3* Best Western Crown Hotel in Boroughbridge wrote this review.

A fantastic stay in a lovely hotel! The staff were excellent and my special requests of champagne and room service had been done beautifully! Our stay for my boyfriend's birthday was really See More  Read more information enjoyable-the leisure facilities were clean and well maintained and were a lovely bonus for us during our stay. We dined in the hotel restaurant on the Saturday night where the food was well presented andvery tasty, and the staff were very friendly. Additionally, the manager at reception was fantastic! A very enjoyable stay, we would definitely go back and recommend it to others!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ripon  
Harrogate  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Most Enjoyable Relaxing Break

Stay Date: 04/10/12, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Bridge Hotel and Spa in Wetherby (Nr York) wrote this review.

This was our first stay at the Bridge Hotel and Spa. We had a fantastic time, the staff were very friendly and warm, we chose to have the carvery in the restaurant in the evening and was more than See More  Read more information happy with our choice and we would highly recommend it for excellent value, the breakfast was equally as enjoyable. Our stay was topped off by the time we spent in the Spa which was a joy. Overallwe would highly recommend this break and have already recomended it to friends and family.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harrogate  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Anniversary Getaway

Stay Date: 12/10/12, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Parsonage Hotel & Spa (2 Nt BB Offer, 1 Cream Tea/1st Nt Dinner) in Escrick (Nr York) wrote this review.

A very relaxing two day break. After a full afternoon at York races, disappointingly unprofitable, we arrived at this beautiful hotel and after pre-dinner drinks in the cosy bar, enjoyed the first See More  Read more information of two excellent evening meals. The following day was a leisurely shopping/museum trip into York followed by a delightful afternoon tea at the hotel. Very well fed and watered we came away refreshedafter our weekend and at the usual good value we expect from Superbreak   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Races  
Castle Museum  
 

User Review Ratings: 3 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in York

Stay Date: 21/10/12, a customer aged 65+ from Wirral who stayed at 4* Parsonage Hotel & Spa (2 Nt BB Offer, 1 Cream Tea/1st Nt Dinner) in Escrick (Nr York) wrote this review.

Hotel was excellent in every respect, from use of spa to friendliness of staff. In excellent position just outside York where we caught the bus into York very easily. Great atmosphere even though See More  Read more information the weather was poor. Enjoyed meals in the Hotel and also in The Mumbai Lounge in York   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Yorvik Museum  
York Walls  
Mumbai Loung  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Mumbai Lounge  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Day Out in York

Stay Date: 28/10/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Stafford51 who stayed at 4* Mercure York Fairfield Manor in York wrote this review.

We had a very pleasant stay at the Mercure Hotel near York. We arrived early and were able to book in immediately. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean with tea and coffee facilities.We dined See More  Read more information in both nights because there was a really good offer available - 3 course for ?22. They also offered a children's menu which again was very good value for money. The location is great - a short driveto park and ride so we had a good day and a half to explore. There is loads to do. Highlights include York Minster and the York wheel. Also Fairfax house but make sure you have a sit down before youdo the tour .Also enjoyed the Castle museum. The Jorvik centre is overpriced for what you get. We can certainly recommend the hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Wheel  
Jorvig Centre  
York Minster  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

York

Stay Date: 29/10/12, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Parsonage Hotel & Spa (2 Nt BB Offer, 1 Cream Tea/1st Nt Dinner) in Escrick (Nr York) wrote this review.

We enjoyed the whole trip and as we are both over 80 this sort of break is ideal for us. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Ousing fun at York

Stay Date: 29/10/12, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 5* The Principal York in York wrote this review.

Comfortable hotel base to see historic sights and quality shops and restaurants. Hotel ideally situated next to the rail station and shops, restaurants, bars and places of interest. Lots to see in a See More  Read more information relatively small area of great historical interest. Lovely walks by the river. Handy map given at reception on arrival. All staff polite, welcoming and friendly and room very comfortable with goodview from window. Food excellent though evening meal costly. Therefore ate out apart from breakfast. Great experience all round.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Treasurers House  
Art Gallery  
Wheel  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bettys Tearoom  
Bella Italia  
Pizza Express  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 391 - 400 of 1605 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:26

Last rendered @ 23/05/2019 09:53:40

Last rendered @ 23/05/2019 09:53:40

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.