Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - York

York Holiday Reviews

York Minster

The city of York is easily one of the UK's most popular short break destinations. Thousands of visitors flock to see this picturesque city each year for its fascinating history, fabulous shopping and a whole wealth of great attractions too. Our superb range of York hotels offer an ideal retreat after a long day of shopping and sightseeing. The medieval city is compact and easy to explore, the gorgeous York Minster, Clifford's Tower, the famous cobbled street The Shambles and the Jorvik Viking Centre are all within easy walking distance of most central hotels in York.

  • York Minster sits at the very heart of York and dominates the city skyline. One of Britain's best medieval cathedrals, highlights of the Minster include the spectacular Heart of Yorkshire window, the Norman foundations in the crypt and the 275 step ascent to the top of the tower.
  • Lying just a short drive from the Yorkshire Dales and North York Moors, York provides the perfect base to explore stunning North Yorkshire scenery. Walk the North Sea coast from Filey to Scarborough or tackle Yorkshire's three peaks near Skipton.
  • York boasts a thriving food and drink culture which includes many fine restaurants, bars, pubs and cafes. Try Skosh's small plates or street food in the Shambles Market. A hotbed of the craft beer revolution, York has two breweries within the city walls in Brew York and York Brewery, a visit to their taprooms is not to be missed.
Our York hotels benefit from great transport links and the city is an excellent choice for a rail break. Ideally placed on the high speed East Coast Mainline, York is a mere two hours from London and only two and a half hours from Edinburgh. A city with a proud heritage, the terrific National Railway Museum is one of York's busiest attractions or, to add something extra to your stay, be sure to take a scary York Ghost Walk for a short break with a difference.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1635

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Great spa day

Stay Date: 08/11/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 5* The Grand, York in York wrote this review.

Lovingly converted from old railway station offices, very classy, nice bar area though prices steep but not unexpected, rooms had all the amenities required. Spa was very good relaxing back and head See More  Read more information massage, swim in the pool and a nice sauna. Would go again as a treat.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Railway Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
La Vecchia Scuola  
Fiesta latina  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Amazing hotel!

Stay Date: 29/02/16, a customer aged 25-44 from Ilkley who stayed at 5* The Principal York in York wrote this review.

Amazing service! Mentioned it was my partners birthday! Instead of going out drinking we stayed in our suite. Also, the hotels recommendation for a restaurant was amazing! Best break we have had. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The whippet inn  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

York lovely, hotel fine

Stay Date: 17/03/16, a customer aged 25-44 from Lancashire who stayed at 4* Hilton York in York wrote this review.

Several business owners told me that business is slow after the floods. Let me make it clear that York is open! The only exceptions are the Jorvik and York Dungeon attractions which were damaged. See More  Read more information Otherwise, you wouldn't know that there had been any flooding, it is back to normal. I'll not go into detail about York's attractions as there's plenty of information elsewhere, except to say that theguided tours of York Minster (included with admission) are well worthwhile. We really enjoyed our visit to the city. The Hilton is in in a great location within the city walls. Having never stayedin a Hilton before we imagined a somewhat fancier experience than. It was perfectly fine and clean, but not really discernible from a stay in a budget hotel chain. Then again, we paid only a budgethotel price through SuperBreak, so we cannot complain. Our room was adequately sized, though by no means spacious, it was a little bit too hot and the interior was somewhat dated. We found the TV a bitdifficult to operate and were very surprised that WiFi is still a paid extra in this day and age.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Castle Museum  
York City Walls Walk  
York Minster  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Queens Hotel

Stay Date: 02/04/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel (Including Dinner) in York wrote this review.

Hotel staff where surly on arrival - did not even look at your face when we went back in afternoon but the older lady was very nice and pleasant. Dinner was overcooked - the Yorkshire pudding was See More  Read more information like a brick and the wine was undrinkable. I would not go back to this hotel as it could have ruined a good trip if we let it.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Minster  
Town  
train musem  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic time in York

Stay Date: 15/08/16, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Novotel York Centre in York wrote this review.

Fantastic hotel, just a short walk from the Museum. Beautiful weather, lovely people and a stunning place. What more do you want to spend a couple of days away with family? Novotel has a pool, it's See More  Read more information not very big but we had fun. They let us check in at 10am which was great, the hotel staff were so friendly and helpful.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Dungeons  
York Ghost Walk  
York Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zizzi  
Caesers italian  
Baileys tearoom  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great visit to York

Stay Date: 25/10/16, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 5* The Grand, York in York wrote this review.

Hotel was excellent, very clean and comfortable, staff were very friendly and helpful, couldn't have asked for more! Pool and facilities also really good. Hotel is in a great location, very central, See More  Read more information short walk to train station and city centre! Wish we would have stayed a bit longer- will visit again and stay longer.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Minster  
Ghost Walk  
Shambles  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Duke of York  
Slug and Lettuce  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great family break in York

Stay Date: 04/04/17, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Victoria Cloisters Apartments in York wrote this review.

Stayed at the Victoria Cloisters Apartments, ideal for a family - lovely and clean. Staff we encountered in the hotel nearby to check in were really nice, we arrived earlier than time however the See More  Read more information receptionist rang housekeeping and found our apartment was ready for us leaving us extra time to go off exploring. When we arrived at the apartment the housekeeping team were there and checked to makesure we had enough towels etc and gave us some tips about nearby restaurants and cafes. The Railway Museum is a must see whilst in York we had our children with us aged 7 and 14 and they both loved theexperience. We will be visiting York again in the future and would be delighted to stay at Victoria Cloisters again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National railway museum York  
Castle Museum York  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Postern Gate  
hogroast co york  
longboat york  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

York - city break with my girls

Stay Date: 16/11/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Novotel York Centre in York wrote this review.

We had a lovely time away. I want to be able to take my growing girls to as many places as possible - it's very important to me that they experience and see lots of different cities, cultures and See More  Read more information people...education doesn't stop at school - I want them to grow up with a wealth of experience and fun with lovely memories of our trips away. Super Break enables me to do this ...train seats booked,hotels booked and discounts available for top attractions - it's brilliant. I am a busy working mum - 3 jobs and a university course striving to give my girls a happy and provided life - Super Breakhelps me do this especially with the added bonus of a little extra off for being an NHS employee. Thank you! We are already planning our next city break away .   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Dungeons  
Ghost Walk  
Shambles  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Betty tea rooms  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Super Break

Stay Date: 01/12/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Staycity York in York wrote this review.

The train journey was effortless and made a pleasant change to driving. We received a fabulously warm welcome at the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble & everyone was so friendly I would thoroughly See More  Read more information recommend the Staycity hotel in York.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Regency  
Nickholsons Punch Bowl pub  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good location in York

Stay Date: 15/12/17, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Novotel York Centre in York wrote this review.

The Novotel York Centre. Great location within 10 minutes of city centre. Great room - could be a bit warmer, food in restaurant was poor and bar prices expensive. Altogether a satisfactory hotel See More  Read more information within easy access to City centre and local restaurants and bars would use again!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Christmas market in the Shambles are  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
In Hotel  
Local Indian within 5 minutes. from hotel  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1601 - 1610 of 1635 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 11:23:27

Last rendered @ 23/07/2019 12:28:23

Last rendered @ 23/07/2019 12:28:23

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.