Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - York

York Holiday Reviews

York Minster

The city of York is easily one of the UK's most popular short break destinations. Thousands of visitors flock to see this picturesque city each year for its fascinating history, fabulous shopping and a whole wealth of great attractions too. Our superb range of York hotels offer an ideal retreat after a long day of shopping and sightseeing; the medieval city is compact and easy to explore. The gorgeous York Minster, Clifford's Tower, the famous cobbled street The Shambles and the Jorvik Viking Centre are all within easy walking distance of most central hotels in York.

  • York Minster sits at the very heart of York and dominates the city skyline. One of Britain's best medieval cathedrals, highlights of the Minster include the spectacular Heart of Yorkshire window, the Norman foundations in the crypt and the 275 step ascent to the top of the tower.
  • Lying just a short drive from the Yorkshire Dales and North York Moors, York provides the perfect base to explore stunning North Yorkshire scenery. Walk the North Sea coast from Filey to Scarborough or tackle Yorkshire's three peaks near Skipton.
  • York boasts a thriving food and drink culture which includes many fine restaurants, bars, pubs and cafes. Try Skosh's small plates or street food in the Shambles Market. A hotbed of the craft beer revolution, York has two breweries within the city walls in Brew York and York Brewery, a visit to their taprooms is not to be missed.
Our York hotels benefit from great transport links and the city is an excellent choice for a rail break. Ideally placed on the high speed East Coast Mainline, York is a mere two hours from London and only two and a half hours from Edinburgh. A city with a proud heritage, the terrific National Railway Museum is one of York's busiest attractions or, to add something extra to your stay, be sure to take a scary York Ghost Walk for a short break with a difference.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1587

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in York

Stay Date: 24/06/06, a customer from Nottingham who stayed at 4* Novotel York Centre in York wrote this review.

During our one nights stay, my daughter along with two other male guests got stuck in the lift. Although there were repeated calls to reception nobody from the hotel staff went to their aid. Myself See More  Read more information and family of the gentlemen wo were in the lift were told there was nothing they could do as they were not lift engineers. Eventually the two gentlemen forced the doors open and they got out. The liftwas very hot, the emergency button did not work and frankly the duty manager showed very little interest. The second lift was out of service also any disabled guests would have a serious problem. Mydaughter who is fifteen was frightened very shaken. Although the hotel itself was very nice I was very dissapointed with the attitude of the management and would not stay there again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in York

Stay Date: 14/08/06, a customer from Stoke-On-Trent who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel (Including Dinner) in York rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Minster  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Queens Hotel Restaurant  
 
 

Short Break in Wetherby

Stay Date: 31/03/07, a customer from West Bromwich who stayed at 4* Bridge Hotel and Spa in Wetherby (Nr York) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Dungeons  
 
 

Royal York

Stay Date: 24/08/07, a customer from St. Albans who stayed at 5* The Principal York in York rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Minster  
Art Gallery  
City Museum  
Castle & Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blue Bicycle  
 
 

Week end in York

Stay Date: 21/09/07, a customer who stayed at 2* George Hotel in Easingwold (Nr York) wrote this review.

Lovely location of hotel with easy access. Old coaching inn with very uneven bedroom floor was disorientating. Staff not very professional in attitude. Restaurant meal expensive for quality of See More  Read more information meal served.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Minster  
Designer outlet  
City Tour of York  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Three Tuns York  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in York

Stay Date: 15/02/08, a customer from Winsford who stayed at 5* The Principal York in York wrote this review.

Returned from a fantastic weekend in York. The place itself has many things to do including the Castle Museum, Railway Museum and the stunning Minster. My partner and I dined upstairs at the See More  Read more information Biltmore on Swinegate on the Saturday night, and we will definately be going back there when we return to York. The upstairs is quieter and set as a Mezzanine which is great for "people watching" the morerelaxed bar downstairs. I had the red snapper and my partner had the fillet of beef, both cooked to perfection. After the meal, we went downstairs and sat on the sofas downstairs, and had a few drinks.Service / Staff were excellent. Now for the downside of the trip. The hotel was below my expectation. In terms of location; fantastic. It was near to the train station and within walking distance ofall the main attractions of York, however the hotel itself and the staff were not as good. Our room was not in the main hotel building, but in Mews type accommodation to the side. The room was quitedark, and not as clean as we are used to. (We found rubbish left from the previous guests on arrival). The kettle in the room still had water in and was cracked. I called the reception to have a new onesent up and the phone just rang out for 6 minutes! I went down and requested a replacement at 7pm, and had to remind the reception when we arrived back from our night out at 11pm, (they did apologiseand said that they had sent it to the wrong room). The service in the bar was very slow, and the bar staff kept their heads down, rather than acknowledge that they knew you were waiting. Beware also,that they do charge extra for newspapers. Not a big thing in terms of money, but £2.25 of a charge that I wasn't expecting left a bad taste in my mouth. Parking is also chargeable, but we knew aboutthis in advance, so it didn't matter. Breakfast was good, the usual selection of continental, cereal or full English buffet. I would visit York again, but maybe another hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Minster  
York Castle Museum  
Cliffords Tower  
York Railway Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Biltmore  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's Comments: Errata state that bedrooms may not be located in the main hotel building.

 

Short Break in Malton

Stay Date: 23/08/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Talbot Malton in Malton (Nr York) wrote this review.

This hotel is living on past glories. The bedroom furniture was old.not what you would expect for a decent hotel. Even allowing for it being bank holiday the staff were less than helpful and seemed See More  Read more information as if they didn't want to be there.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wolds Way Lavender, Wintringham  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1581 - 1587 of 1587 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open Open 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002024 @ 05/02/2019 12:51:19

Last rendered @ 23/02/2019 01:11:23

Last rendered @ 23/02/2019 01:11:23

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.