Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - York

York Holiday Reviews

York Minster

The city of York is easily one of the UK's most popular short break destinations. Thousands of visitors flock to see this picturesque city each year for its fascinating history, fabulous shopping and a whole wealth of great attractions too. Our superb range of York hotels offer an ideal retreat after a long day of shopping and sightseeing. The medieval city is compact and easy to explore, the gorgeous York Minster, Clifford's Tower, the famous cobbled street The Shambles and the Jorvik Viking Centre are all within easy walking distance of most central hotels in York.

  • York Minster sits at the very heart of York and dominates the city skyline. One of Britain's best medieval cathedrals, highlights of the Minster include the spectacular Heart of Yorkshire window, the Norman foundations in the crypt and the 275 step ascent to the top of the tower.
  • Lying just a short drive from the Yorkshire Dales and North York Moors, York provides the perfect base to explore stunning North Yorkshire scenery. Walk the North Sea coast from Filey to Scarborough or tackle Yorkshire's three peaks near Skipton.
  • York boasts a thriving food and drink culture which includes many fine restaurants, bars, pubs and cafes. Try Skosh's small plates or street food in the Shambles Market. A hotbed of the craft beer revolution, York has two breweries within the city walls in Brew York and York Brewery, a visit to their taprooms is not to be missed.
Our York hotels benefit from great transport links and the city is an excellent choice for a rail break. Ideally placed on the high speed East Coast Mainline, York is a mere two hours from London and only two and a half hours from Edinburgh. A city with a proud heritage, the terrific National Railway Museum is one of York's busiest attractions or, to add something extra to your stay, be sure to take a scary York Ghost Walk for a short break with a difference.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1633

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in York

Stay Date: 13/02/07, a customer from Bedford who stayed at 4* Novotel York Centre in York rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jorvik  
York Dungeon  
Castle Museum  
Little Bettys  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Express  
Bombay Spice  
 
 

Rescued From The River Ouse

Stay Date: 10/02/07, a customer who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel (Including Dinner) in York wrote this review.

Well almost as we stayed at the Queens Hotel on the river Ousse we parked the car overnight on the river bank as there is very limited parking at the hotel, due to a bit flooding i had to wade in to See More  Read more information rescue my car from the river at 8am luckily it was only a few inches deep but enough to amuse the children. When I visit York next I plan to leave the car at home as eveything is in walking distance,we did drive out to Whitby as we had the car calling at Goathland on the way where Heartbeat is filmed my 13 year old daughter enjoyed this and we all enjoyed the steam train arriving. We visited Theralway museum and toured the narrow streets and saw where Guy Fawkes was born and babtisted, we visited Bettys taking home some of their famous goods my 11 year old son said it was very culteral,both children enjoyed themselves and are looking forward to visiting the minster and the Jorvik museum we had to leave these out this time as my husband had knee problems and we did not think we wouldhave enjoyed as much by not been able to walk round a lot but its a reason to return.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Railway Museum  
The Shambles  
Goathland & Whitby  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in York

Stay Date: 14/02/07, a customer who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel (Including Dinner) in York rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jorvik Viking Centre  
York Minster  
York Dungeon  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Betty's  
 
 

Short Break in Malton

Stay Date: 03/02/07, a customer from South Humberside who stayed at 4* Talbot Malton in Malton (Nr York) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Railway Museum  
Jorvik Centre  
Yorkshire Wheel  
 
 

Short Break in York

Stay Date: 07/02/07, a customer who stayed at 5* The Principal York in York wrote this review.

The hotel was very convenient for the city; the room was what we would have expected. Having realised its close proximity to the station we could have have travelled by train rather than the See More  Read more information car. It was very convenient for the surrounding area. The fare at the Hotel was rather expensive for our tastes in comparison to the choices at other venues in York.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Railway Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wetherspoons  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in York

Stay Date: 03/02/07, a customer from Crowthorne who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel (Including Dinner) in York rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Queens Hotel Restaurant  
 
 

Hotel Room

Stay Date: 02/02/07, a customer from Redditch who stayed at 5* The Principal York in York wrote this review.

I was disappointed with the room, it was in the basement. Whilst quite a large room there was no view except a wall. I doubt I would book another break without some kind of guarantee about See More  Read more information accommodation. I also think I could have got the same room cheaper if I had booked direct   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Railway Museum  
York Minster  
York Museum  
Shambles Shopping  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's comments: Our booking confirmations state that any requests, such as non-smoking rooms, quiet rooms etc. cannot be guaranteed, however every effort will be made to satisfy your requirements.

 

York Hotel

Stay Date: 07/02/07, a customer from Leicestershire who stayed at 5* The Principal York in York wrote this review.

The hotel is lovely. Very well-run, and very central. Two minor points. It took a 10 minute walk to get from the reception desk to our room. What a labrynth! Also, £10 to park in the hotel car park See More  Read more information is a little excessive. Surely? Superbreak were very good. No fuss, just great service.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Minster  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Indian Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Great Day Drinking in York

Stay Date: 03/02/07, a customer from Sheffield who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel (Including Dinner) in York wrote this review.

We arrived at York early Saturday afternoon got parked easily, close to the hotel and made our way to the Kings Arms pub where we were meeting some friends. The Kings Arms is a fantastic pub and i See More  Read more information would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxed atmosphere in a perfect setting on the river. This was our third visit to York in two months so it must have something that attractsus...good pubs, good food and a really friendly trouble free city centre.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Boat  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Deniz Kebabs  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Day Out in York

Stay Date: 03/02/07, a customer from Hartlepool who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel (Including Dinner) in York wrote this review.

Me and my wife traveled from Hartlepool to celebrate our 4th wedding anniversary. We arrived at the Queens Hotel around 2.30pm Saturday. We dropped our bags off and headed for the local bars. On See More  Read more information Sunday morning we went to the York Minister. The morning service was just finishing and sounded fantastic. We finished off having a great cup of coffee at Coffee Royal which is in the main square.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Minster  
Shambles  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rose Bowl  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1551 - 1560 of 1633 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 10:44:09

Last rendered @ 22/07/2019 04:53:54

Last rendered @ 22/07/2019 04:53:54

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.