Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - York

York Holiday Reviews

York Minster

The city of York is easily one of the UK's most popular short break destinations. Thousands of visitors flock to see this picturesque city each year for its fascinating history, fabulous shopping and a whole wealth of great attractions too. Our superb range of York hotels offer an ideal retreat after a long day of shopping and sightseeing; the medieval city is compact and easy to explore. The gorgeous York Minster, Clifford's Tower, the famous cobbled street The Shambles and the Jorvik Viking Centre are all within easy walking distance of most central hotels in York.

  • York Minster sits at the very heart of York and dominates the city skyline. One of Britain's best medieval cathedrals, highlights of the Minster include the spectacular Heart of Yorkshire window, the Norman foundations in the crypt and the 275 step ascent to the top of the tower.
  • Lying just a short drive from the Yorkshire Dales and North York Moors, York provides the perfect base to explore stunning North Yorkshire scenery. Walk the North Sea coast from Filey to Scarborough or tackle Yorkshire's three peaks near Skipton.
  • York boasts a thriving food and drink culture which includes many fine restaurants, bars, pubs and cafes. Try Skosh's small plates or street food in the Shambles Market. A hotbed of the craft beer revolution, York has two breweries within the city walls in Brew York and York Brewery, a visit to their taprooms is not to be missed.
Our York hotels benefit from great transport links and the city is an excellent choice for a rail break. Ideally placed on the high speed East Coast Mainline, York is a mere two hours from London and only two and a half hours from Edinburgh. A city with a proud heritage, the terrific National Railway Museum is one of York's busiest attractions or, to add something extra to your stay, be sure to take a scary York Ghost Walk for a short break with a difference.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1587

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Overnight Stay in York

Stay Date: 27/10/15, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 5* Grand Hotel & Spa in York wrote this review.

We stayed at the Grand Hotel and Spa. I rang the hotel several days in advance and asked for a early check in and they said they would advise me upon arrival. We arrived at 10:45 am and were told we See More  Read more information could leave our luggage with the concierge and go off into York and they would ring if the room was ready. My mother is disabled and needs periods of rest throughout the day. At 2pm, we returned tothe hotel but were advised the room still wasn't ready (3pm is the normal check in time). We had a tea in the Whisky Lounge and went back to the reception desk at 3pm and were allowed to check in. Theroom was cold so I put the air conditioning on to 26 degrees. After two hours, it still felt very cold so I rang reception. They sent maintenance up to the room and whilst the temperature at the airconditioning unit read 26, this was near the ceiling and the rest of the room was much cooler. Maintenance were unable to do anything about it so they brought an electric heater to the room. By thistime, were chilled to the bone so we went to a local restaurant to give the room time to warm up. This is not what I would expect of a 5 star hotel. We would not stay here again. My mother has a badchest and with the room being cold, she has returned home with a chesty cold not helped by the cold room. We wanted to spend some time in what we thought would be a luxurious hotel room.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
City Wall  
Mannions Cafe  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

York break

Stay Date: 08/11/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel (Including Dinner) in York wrote this review.

Hotel was nice although in need of an update. Evening meal very good. Sleep disturbed as room was very close to vent from the kitchen. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Train Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Nothing Special

Stay Date: 05/12/15, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Best Western Crown Hotel in Boroughbridge wrote this review.

An overnight stay for a wedding nearby. Room incredibly hot even though winter and heating turned off. Very creaky floors in corridor. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Crown,Roecliffe  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Nice Weekend in York

Stay Date: 24/01/16, a customer aged 25-44 from Whaley Bridge who stayed at 5* The Principal York in York wrote this review.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel was refurbished to an excellent standard, the rooms were very clean and to a high standard although the Superior room was very nice is was See More  Read more information just a standard to me for a big 4 star hotel and my superior room didn't have a bath, the breakfast was ok, nothing special and not a great selection at all really for a 4 star Hotel and the staff atbreakfast didn't come over enough to clear dirty plates or ask if needed any more tea. I had to ask for toast and got a peculiar look when I asked for some, tried to get staff attention and even notbusy they didn't look or come over, not very impressed at all, got quite frustrated as had better service at 3 star hotels - thought would be spot on and just got minimal service, all other staff werespot on though. The spa was really disappointing and the Jacuzzi was too hot to sit in and no-one sat in the whole time we were there, just put legs in and came out red, both me and my dad slipped in ittoo, the pool was a lovely temperature but it wasn't a 4 star spa not by a long shot. There were children jumping in and leaving the paper water cups in the pool, but ok, not dirty. Liked the bottledwater in the fridge, good idea and overall décor.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shops  
Park  
York Minster  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wetherspoons  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

York break

Stay Date: 08/06/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Jorvik House in York wrote this review.

SuperBreak tickets arrived quickly, hotel staff let the break down. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Railway Museum  
Shambles  
ye olde starr inne  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
ye olde starr inne  
mamma mias italian  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

York hotel

Stay Date: 11/08/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel (Including Dinner) in York wrote this review.

Location very good and so was dinner in the hotel. Not much of choice for breakfast if you didn't want cooked breakfast or if you were vegetarian. Hotel room very hot, no air con so had to open See More  Read more information window, therefore very noisy. Apart from that very good. I would return. York is a fab city. This is my second visit with SuperBreak.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Castle Museum  
Railway Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic weekend in York

Stay Date: 24/09/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel in York wrote this review.

The Queens Hotel is ideally situated for an overnight stay or weekend trip to York, I will be recommending this hotel to family and friends. There are a couple of public areas that look a little See More  Read more information tired, but nothing to put you off. We only ate breakfast in the hotel, I was disappointed that they had tinned fruit, fresh fruit would have been nicer, however, the food was hot and you could order arange of cooked eggs.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Minster  
National Railway Museum  
Food and Drink Fesival  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rustique, Castlegate  
The whippet inn  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good wedding venue

Stay Date: 07/10/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Bridge Hotel and Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Wetherby (Nr York) wrote this review.

Hotel room very small but adequate. Carvery meal on the first evening was good. Breakfast had a good choice but not exceptional quality. Overall the hotel is a little tired but friendly staff made See More  Read more information the stay enjoyable.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Family trip

Stay Date: 19/04/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Queens Hotel in York wrote this review.

Queens Hotel fab location ,staff are helpful, walking distance to all amenities. Best to book your table for eating in the restaurant as soon as you arrive as we were not able to get a table for See More  Read more information four of us. Plenty of taxis and buses if you don't want to walk too far. Lots of things to do and visit, some things are free like the Railway Museum (donations accepted). Hotel gives money off vouchersfor attractions. Should you wish to eat out there are lots of cafes/pubs we ate in The Duke of York, everything was fresh and great service from staff.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Dungeons  
The Shambles  
Railway Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Staff unfriendly

Stay Date: 23/08/17, a customer aged 45-64 from West Yorkshire who stayed at 4* Novotel York Centre in York wrote this review.

The staff were all unwelcoming, the carpet in our room was dirty. The hotel was perfectly positioned. The hotel swimming pool was lovely. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
York Dungeon  
Ghost Tour  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Indian Lounge  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1371 - 1380 of 1587 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open Open 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002024 @ 05/02/2019 12:08:49

Last rendered @ 20/02/2019 07:34:33

Last rendered @ 20/02/2019 07:34:33

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.