Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windsor & Area

Windsor & Area Holiday Reviews

Windsor Castle, Windsor

Windsor is the perfect short break destination. Offering 1,000 years of history, some of the UK's top visitor attractions, great shopping, superb restaurants, and plenty of fantastic Windsor hotels, there's much to see and do here.

Our fantastic attraction packages provide the perfect family break, and include tickets to Windsor's nearby theme parks. Tickets for Legoland, Thorpe Park and Chessington World of Adventures are all incredibly popular, and make for great days out when packaged with one of our fab hotels in Windsor.

  • Don't miss stunning Windsor Castle, and take a tour of this ever-popular Royal residence and its gardens; be sure to catch the changing of the guards!
  • Reconnect with nature, and take a stroll through Windsor Great Park, just outside the town; historically significant Runnymede is also very pretty, and well worth a visit too
  • Have a flutter or two and have a glamorous day at the races at nearby Ascot - one of the country's most famous and popular racecourses
  • Enjoy a boat trip along the River Thames - the perfect way to enjoy the sunshine during the warm summer months
We have a great range of hotels in Windsor to suit all budgets and needs, with many having elegant restaurants and leisure facilities onsite for you to enjoy and make the most of your stay. Check out our great range of Windsor hotels in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 251

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Great few days away

Stay Date: 10/07/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Grovefield House Hotel in Windsor (Nr) wrote this review.

Stayed in Burnham and used the train abd bus to travel to Windsor, Legoland, had super day. The hotel was rather noisey as it had conferances on both nights and they were in the garden having a See More  Read more information barbacue. Our room was over garden The day we left spent it in London and went on the London eye Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens, visited Dianas memorial fountain and playground. Great day for thekids.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Legoland  
London Eye  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Windsor

Stay Date: 04/07/07, a customer from Grimsby who stayed at 4* Grovefield House Hotel in Windsor (Nr) wrote this review.

Our main aim was to visit National Trust properties in the area. Hughenden and Waddesdon Manors were most interesting whilst Hatchlands Park and Cranden were less so. The RHS gardens at Wisley were See More  Read more information a must for us and we spent most of the day wondering around. The new grenhouse is fantastic, the whole place is much better than Kew Gardens in our opinion We had some good meals at the Feathers pub(Chef & Brewer) in Taplow (Opposite the entrance to Clivedon House also NT.) Friendly staff, good food and a nice atmosphere. The Pimms was very enjoyable. Try a walk in Windsor in the evening whenall the crowds have gone but avoid the actual railway station!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Waddesdon Manor  
Hughenden Manor  
RHS Wisley Gardens  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Feathers, Taplow  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Egham

Stay Date: 22/06/07, a customer who stayed at 4* The Runnymede on Thames in Windsor rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal Ascot Races  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Loch Fyne  
 
 

Marvellous Marlow

Stay Date: 09/06/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Macdonald Compleat Angler Hotel in Marlow wrote this review.

We visited The Compleat Angler for my 50th birthday and it couldn't have been more perfect, including the weather! Arrived in Marlow about 4pm and went exploring, just a 5 min walk into the town. See More  Read more information Found the Slug & Lettuce, a chain cafe bar but had an excellent lunch and coffee - also good for cocktails! Walked down to Bourne End along the Thames Path admiring the beautiful houses with lawns downto the river along the way - good sandwich and real ale at The Bounty pub at destination. Take a walk down to the weir and watch the barges, yachts and small boats come and go. The Bull at Bishamis a pub/restaurant and comes highly recommended - we only stopped for a drink but the venue itself was very pretty and was packed out with people taking lunch - I believe it is run by an Italianfamily.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Slug & Lettuce  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Very Comfortable BUT Expensive Bar Prices

Stay Date: 01/06/07, a customer from Kingston Upon Thames who stayed at 4* Crowne Plaza Marlow in Marlow wrote this review.

this hotel is very modern and very comfortable it is built in the middle of a factory estate. The rooms are very well equipped and we had a very good nights sleep. The big downside is the bar See More  Read more information prices, they are tooo much over the top also the main restaraunt is trying to be something it will never be "good value for money".   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Henley-on-Thames  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Grovefield Revisited

Stay Date: 04/06/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Grovefield House Hotel in Windsor (Nr) wrote this review.

This was a return for us having previously visited in 2003. The grounds are as beautiful as ever and the rooms as lovely as we remembered. Unfortunately, the chef from our previous visit has since See More  Read more information moved on and the quality of the food has suffered as a result. On the first night we ate in the restaurant and at £60 for the two of us without drinks we were less than impressed. The starter wasoverly complicated and the flavours didn't work. The main course was under-seasoned and imbalanced and the dessert was poor. The following day we had a bar meal and although we were treated like secondclass citizens to the diners in the restaurant the meal we got was tasty and unpretentious. The breakfasts too were excellent.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Thorpe Park  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Grovefield House Hotel and Area

Stay Date: 26/05/07, a customer from Uckfield who stayed at 4* Grovefield House Hotel in Windsor (Nr) wrote this review.

The hotel, its location and setting are very good and staff of all levels professional and cheerful. The only downside is if there is a wedding. The noise is disruptive if your room is close to the See More  Read more information disco and the resstaurant is closed. We have fed back to the hotel that it would be appropriate for them and Superbreak to inform potential clients if there is a wedding so an informed choice can bemade as to whether or not to stay. On the basis that there is not a wedding on at the time, we would definitely stay again. Windsor Castle is an excellent attraction not far from the hotel. We wouldsuggest booking on line to avoid the queues on the gate (fasttract to the desks to left of the ticket hall). Be prepared for a lot of visitors clumped into national groups. The audio tour is well worthit. Windsor itself is lovely, lots of good restaruants and boutiques. Chessington World of Adventures is an excellent attraction about 40 minutes away on the motorway and well worth the trouble. Theattractions are innovative and fun for all the family. The only downside for us was that, infuriatingly, McDonalds ran out of vegetarian food, but we found plenty at Pizza Hut. Again, book online toavoid the queues at the ticket desks - you also get better discounts that way.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chessington World of Adventures  
Windsor Castle  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's Comments: We do request that all the hotels we work with inform us of any large events or conferences they may be holding so we can inform clients. Unfortunately on this occasion we were not made aware of this.

 

Short Break in Windsor

Stay Date: 21/04/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Castle Hotel Windsor - MGallery by Sofitel in Windsor rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windsor Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Browns  
 
 

Short Break Near Windsor

Stay Date: 18/04/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Grovefield House Hotel in Windsor (Nr) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blue River Cafe  
 
 

M25 Tour

Stay Date: 09/04/07, a customer from Derby who stayed at 4* Grovefield House Hotel in Windsor (Nr) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chartwell  
Windsor Castle  
Windsor Boat Trip  
Cliveden  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Village, Billericay  
 
 
 

Showing 221 - 230 of 251 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 11:23:27

Last rendered @ 20/07/2019 02:23:21

Last rendered @ 20/07/2019 02:23:21

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.