Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 753

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Weekend in The Lakes

Stay Date: 29/06/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Rotherham who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Hotel was good, if a little tired looking in places. Staff were fantastic. The area is, as ever, spectacular See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Local Pub  
The Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Amazing Time at the Lake District

Stay Date: 23/07/13, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Wonderful place for a peaceful break See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The World of Beatrix Potter  
Aquarium  
Lake Cruise  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Nice break at the Lakes

Stay Date: 24/08/13, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

The hotel was comfortable, not a 4* as advrtised and in need of a refurb. It's looking a little tired and dated. The views from the hotel were stunning and it was very nice on the terrace See More  Read more information overlooking the lake. The food was very nice in the restaurant and staff helpful and polite.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windermere  
Coniston Waters  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ok but Overpriced

Stay Date: 28/09/13, a customer aged 25-44 from Wrexham who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal wrote this review.

The hotel is ok, slightly faulty towers as the same person seems to work reception, the bar, breakfast etc! The room was very small and there were some strange looking stains on the walls! Could See More  Read more information have benefited from a good clean. I wouldn't stay here again as in my opionion the rooms/food are overpriced.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Giavannis  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Trip to Windermere

Stay Date: 19/10/13, a customer aged 25-44 from Glasgow who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

We took an overnight stay as a treat before our baby arrives in December. We found the hotel no problems and on initial arrival you see how beautiful the view and surroundings are. There's a few See More  Read more information internal stairs to negotiate. Staff were friendly and check in was quick. Our room was lovely. Could do with a few touch ups to paint etc but hardly noticed as view stunning. We were told we wereupgraded room. Took a trip to Windermere for dinner lovely meal at Sutherlands. Parking at hotel at night very tricky as it was busy. Next day breakfast was gorgeous. Staff friendly. Check out easy!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Sutherlands  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Walking in Lancaster

Stay Date: 25/10/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Pickering who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Lancaster in Lancaster wrote this review.

We walked to Lancaster then caught a bus to Glasson Dock and walked back the 7 miles besides the river See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lancaster Town  
lancaster prison  
glason dock  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beec Hill Hotel

Stay Date: 16/11/13, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Nice hotel slightly too warm! Expensive evening meal See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windermere  
Bowness-on-Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lakeside

Stay Date: 09/08/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Lakeside Hotel in Windermere (Newby Bridge) wrote this review.

Lovely hotel, pricey but the service and food were excellent. We took the fine dining experience at £48 per person on the Saturday evening. The food and again the service were superb. As with all See More  Read more information the hotels around the lakes there are lots of walks , so although I would recommend the hotel we would prefer to try another from a different location.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Steamer  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beeches Hotel, Windermere

Stay Date: 11/08/14, a customer aged 65+ from Solihull who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

The room wasn't ready at 4.00pm when we arrived. They gave us some tea in the lounge but at 5.30 I enquired when the room would be ready and was told it had been ready for about 20 minutes. There See More  Read more information had been a problem with non delivery of linen and they did give us a bottle of fizzy wine but we were annoyed that we had been kept waiting longer than necessary. Also there were 3 flights of stairsfrom the car park to reception and dining room wasn't made clear before we booked and my husband has considerable difficulty in getting up steps. The room was very small but there was a great view of thelake.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
boat & train trip on Lake Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Grasmere Lovely - Shame about the Hotel

Stay Date: 28/08/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Uk who stayed at 3* Macdonald Swan Hotel in Grasmere wrote this review.

We have stayed at the Swan at Grasmere before and were looking forward to staying again. We had requested a ground floor room, we got a ground floor room no 41 there are only 42 rooms on the ground See More  Read more information floor. it was easier to walk round outside than walk through the building. The bed and pillows were too soft after the first night the cleaner didn't bother to remove a jug of fresh milk which wasleft to go sour another day no milk cartons or biscuits left.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere  
Holker Hall  
Allan Banks - National Trust  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bar of Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 651 - 660 of 753 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001956 @ 19/07/2018 12:07:26

Last rendered @ 22/07/2018 06:02:21

Last rendered @ 22/07/2018 06:02:21

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.