Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 640

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 25/11/06, a customer who stayed at 4* Low Wood Bay in Windermere rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Trip to the Lakes

Stay Date: 23/08/08, a customer who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

On arrival from Scotland we were met by a member of staff who told us she didnt have any details for us because we had booked through Superbreak, we were then pointed to where our room was,the room See More  Read more information itself was clean but looked on to a main road.because the weather was so poor we would have liked to have a drink and relax in the lounge but the bar wasnt open till 6pm. hotel location was goodclose to town centre and near enough to outlying areas,all in all not a trip to remember as we werent even asked if we enjoyed our stay,   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lakeside Aquarium  
Morecambe  
Keswick  
Holker Hall Motor Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Emperor of India  
Messani Restaurant  
The John Peel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's Comments: We work hard to ensure our booking procedures are very comprehensive and we are working with the hotel to ensure that their reservation procedures are reviewed.

 

Great Day Travelling Around the Lakes

Stay Date: 01/04/09, a customer who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

We stayed at Craig Manor Hotel in Bowness. The Hotel was listed on the net as a 3* but my husband and I felt it deserved a far better rating. The location was lovely set back of the main road with See More  Read more information gardens to the rear of the hotel for which we were fortunate to have a view of from our window and able to watch the birds making their nests in early April. The breakfast was very good and staff werevery attentive and polite. The room was warm and inviting and decorated nice with a very clean modern bathroom. Our only complaint was the bed was too hard for us to enjoy a good sleep.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Keswick  
Honister Pass  
Buttermere  
Grassmere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windermere Marine Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Windermere

Stay Date: 17/04/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa in Bowness-on-Windermere rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Two Night Break in The Lakes

Stay Date: 18/01/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Waterhead Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ambleside wrote this review.

Went to Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, the hotel was a 4 star hotel but was definitely not worth it, the breakfast was cold and i don't eat a lot but what you got for your breakfast was terrible. i See More  Read more information asked for egg and bacon the egg was like a batam egg and i got two small slices of bacon. The room was quite nice but the taps in the bathroom were not clean. The staff were very nice and worked veryhard. We went to Keswick for a day that was really nice, went your Windermere and Ambleside. On our way home went to Cartmel. The location of the hotel was nice, but would not go back to this hotelagain in a hurry   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Great hotel but bad Room

Stay Date: 06/07/13, a customer aged 25-44 from Bolton who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

The room itself was ok but as we stepped in,it was like walking into a greenhouse. We could not open the patio door as they were doing repairs to the terrace and we only had a small window which See More  Read more information opened a couple of inches.we had to request a couple of fans which we needed on constantly which made for a restless night.my wife was looking forward to a spa bath,which did not work but didn't knowuntil she was already in.it ruined our wedding anniversary night.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

The Hotel

Stay Date: 26/10/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

The area & hotel very good, with splendid views across the lake from the restaurant terrace. My only criticism of the hotel was the fact that our room was located at the rear of the hotel right on See More  Read more information the A592. Between 6am and 7am every morning a lorry arrived (I suspect to deliver supplies) and was left running for approx 10 minutes.This awoke us and after it left was very difficult to get back tosleep. Being so close to the road we could here every passing car.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kendal  
Lakeland Motor Museum  
Ravensglass & Eskdale Railway  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Alarming stay

Stay Date: 07/11/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* The Wild Boar Inn (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

As promised the hotel gives easy access to the lakes and you cannot fault its surroundings. The staff were very good and helpful at all times. Our room was large very clean and had everything you See More  Read more information wanted for a weekend break but I found the bed to be a bit hard for my comfort. A meal in the restaurant on the first night was included in our deal the food was good but a little expensive. As withanother reviewer my wife spoke to the manager about her dish having to much salt in its preparation. Our first night sleep was disturbed twice by the fire alarm sounding with a fault but aspromised their fire alarm engineers were there first thing to fix the fault. however on our second night we were woken once again around midnight with the alarm sounding with a fault once again add this tothe dog barking in another room for much of Saturday evening not the restful stay I had expected.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lakeland Motor Museum  
Lake Windermere  
Lake District  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Shocking!

Stay Date: 19/09/15, a customer aged 25-44 from Doncaster who stayed at 3* Damson Dene Hotel & Leisure Club in Crosthwaite (Nr. Bowness) wrote this review.

Extremely unhappy with the hotel. Very run down, no place to hang towels, damp above bed, door wouldn't lock correctly, cold breakfast plates, dirty shower room in leisure area - absolutely run See More  Read more information down! So unhappy with our short break - it was a nightmare! Just an awful experience glad we only booked for one night, We usually stay in the Salutation Ambleside but it was full so tried something newwith SuperBreak advertised as a 2 star with photos that clearly once there are very old!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
fells and moutains  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
All excellent  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Shame about the noise

Stay Date: 19/11/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Lovely hotel in a splendid location overlooking Lake Windermere. The only thing that ruined our stay was the noisy people in the room next to us. Television on very loud both nights until gone one See More  Read more information in the morning and very loud snoring from the same room and very loud talking! The walls were very very thin! Spoke to reception staff about it but was told there was nothing they could do.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 631 - 640 of 640 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 10:44:06

Last rendered @ 21/07/2019 17:52:36

Last rendered @ 21/07/2019 17:52:36

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.