Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 753

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 03/03/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Lakeside Hotel in Windermere (Newby Bridge) wrote this review.

just a wonderfull part of the uk stunning scenery,perfect for winding down and relaxing. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Aquarium of the Lakes  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lakes

Stay Date: 19/03/07, a customer from Nottinghamshire who stayed at 4* Lakeside Hotel in Windermere (Newby Bridge) wrote this review.

My hotel was excellent but unfortunelty I was not booked in when i arrived because Superbreak had not faxed through any deatils, this was very embarrassing! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's Comments: We work hard to ensure our booking procedures are very comprehensive and we are working with the hotel to ensure that their reservation procedures are reviewed.

 

A Long Weekend At Lakeside Hotel

Stay Date: 30/03/07, a customer from Pontefract who stayed at 4* Lakeside Hotel in Windermere (Newby Bridge) wrote this review.

Upon arrival we were met by a concierge, who took our bags and took care of parking the car...a Good Start ! Reception staff were efficient, but the whistle stop tour left us a little bemused by its See More  Read more information speed and brevity. We were shown to our room, which was superb ! The room was large and airy, beautifully decorated with a superb view. We had our own "private garden" which our verandah openedonto. The bathroom was large and spotless, with a huge sunken bath and wonderful power shower. The bed was glorious....large, soft, just perfect. What wasn't so perfect was the prices charged for drinksetc on room service...I mean, ?4.50 for hot chocolate...come on ! However, the bar and resturants were superb - if a little pricey, but this is what is expected at such high class establishments.Overall this was a fabulous stay and a wonderful hotel. I would certainly stay again. Oh.....and the yellow bath duck was given to us as a souvenir.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lakeside Aquarium  
Windermere Lake  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

The Waterhead Hotel

Stay Date: 26/04/07, a customer from Cheshire who stayed at 4* Waterhead Hotel in Ambleside wrote this review.

We found the Waterhead hotel to be situated in a wonderful area, the hotel was comfortable, relaxing and of a very high standard, we would fully recommend this hotel and location A great short See More  Read more information break was had by all !!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 25/05/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Lakeside Hotel in Windermere (Newby Bridge) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break in Ambleside

Stay Date: 25/05/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Waterhead Hotel in Ambleside rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Aquarium of the Lakes  
South Lakes Wild Animal Park  
Lake Windermere Boat Trip  
 
 

Lakeside Hotel, Windermere

Stay Date: 16/06/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Lakeside Hotel in Windermere (Newby Bridge) wrote this review.

A very comfortable and well appointed hotel. The spar was particularly good and the staff were pleasant and efficient at all times. The position of the hotel directly on the lakeside could not be See More  Read more information bettered. The price of food at the hotel was higher than nearby hotels and would be my only criticism.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness-on-Windermere  
Newby Bridge  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Swan Inn, Newby Bridge  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing Break on the Edge of Windermere

Stay Date: 23/06/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Lakeside Hotel in Windermere (Newby Bridge) wrote this review.

We had an fatastic weekend break at the Lakeside Hotel which was nothing but absolutly perfect. I've stayed in a lot of hotels with my job and this buts them all to shame. I couldn't put fault to a See More  Read more information single thing all weekend. Excellent walks from the hotel to Bowness or Ferry Nap. Catch the steamer back with an ice cream is excellent Make use of the hotel row boats - great for a laugh and anexcellent way to see parts of the Lake you wouldn't normally be able to from the shore.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
Ambleside  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 13/07/07, a customer from Dunbar who stayed at 4* Lakeside Hotel in Windermere (Newby Bridge) wrote this review.

Great location, excellent all round. Looking forward to going back See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 03/08/07, a customer from Billingham who stayed at 4* Lakeside Hotel in Windermere (Newby Bridge) wrote this review.

excellent stay, the best hotel on windemere by far, highly reccomended..! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness-on-Windermere  
Ambleside  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 581 - 590 of 753 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001956 @ 19/07/2018 12:17:24

Last rendered @ 23/07/2018 03:17:26

Last rendered @ 23/07/2018 03:17:26

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.