Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 634

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Kendal

Stay Date: 07/08/08, a customer who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Gianni Restaurant  
 
 

Trip to the Lakes

Stay Date: 23/08/08, a customer who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

On arrival from Scotland we were met by a member of staff who told us she didnt have any details for us because we had booked through Superbreak, we were then pointed to where our room was,the room See More  Read more information itself was clean but looked on to a main road.because the weather was so poor we would have liked to have a drink and relax in the lounge but the bar wasnt open till 6pm. hotel location was goodclose to town centre and near enough to outlying areas,all in all not a trip to remember as we werent even asked if we enjoyed our stay,   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lakeside Aquarium  
Morecambe  
Keswick  
Holker Hall Motor Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Emperor of India  
Messani Restaurant  
The John Peel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's Comments: We work hard to ensure our booking procedures are very comprehensive and we are working with the hotel to ensure that their reservation procedures are reviewed.

 

Short Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 27/09/08, a customer from Gainsborough who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Nene Valley Railway  
Sacrewell Farm & Country Centre  
 
 

Catching Up with my Boy at University

Stay Date: 01/11/08, a customer from Worcester who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Lancaster in Lancaster wrote this review.

We stayed at Holiday Inn Lancaster fro a weekend mainly to catch up with our son who is now at university and to see th elocal istes. Lancaster is a really interesting place and I like th eNorthern See More  Read more information feel of the city and it's people. The hotel is undergoing some refurbishment and ouur room lacked lustre but everything else was great. Good swimming pool, responsive staff and a great breakfast...   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Castle  
University  
Morecambe Bay  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Marcos Resturant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lancaster House Hotel

Stay Date: 07/08/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Lancaster House Hotel in Lancaster wrote this review.

The apartment itself was finished to a good standard. We asked for a upstairs quiet room and got a downstairs very noisy at night room - wedding reception guests smoking and arguing outside our See More  Read more information window took to 2am to get to sleep we had to make our way to the room through a wedding reception overall we were quite disappointed.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ravenglass Steam Railway  
Beeston Castle  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor’s comments: Our booking confirmations state that any requests, such as non-smoking rooms, rooms close together etc. cannot be guaranteed, however every effort will be made to satisfy your requirements.

 

2 Days On The Lakes

Stay Date: 10/08/09, a customer who stayed at 3* Damson Dene Hotel & Leisure Club in Crosthwaite (Nr. Bowness) wrote this review.

Directions could have been better for distance and turnings to hotel. A very nice comfortable family hotel in it's own setting and gardens with freindly staff although for a 3 star service could be See More  Read more information a bit more polished in dinning room. Breakfast on first morning was awful but wonderful on second morning (2 chefs?). I would go back but think a bit pricey for quality of 3 star. Very well situatedfor Bowness, Windemere ect.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beatrix Potter World  
Yellow Cruise  
Haverthwaite Steam Railway  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hylton Bowness On Windermere  
Damson Dene Hotel & Leisure Club  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editors Comments: Directions for the Damson Dene Hotel & Leisure Club are provided by the hotel.

 

Nice Break

Stay Date: 12/10/10, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

The hotel was in a lovely position on the side of the lake. It was let down by the state of the bedroom which was in need of refurbishment as was the corriders where wallpaper was peeling off the See More  Read more information walls. The atmosphere within the hotel was of comfort and elegance and some parts had already been refurbished. Not keen on the restricted and expensive dinner menu so ate elsewhere.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lakeland Animal Park  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Swan Hotel, Newby Bridge  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Kendal

Stay Date: 10/07/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Keswick  
Derwent Water  
Beatrix Potter Museum  
Windermer Lake  
 
 

Lakeland Stay

Stay Date: 21/09/12, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Macdonald Swan Hotel in Grasmere wrote this review.

Visited local places ie. Grasmere, Keswick and Windermere only had snacks as evening meal in hotel. Reception areas and grounds to hotel excellent, room superficially attractive but lighting bad and See More  Read more information ceiling lights and heated towel rail in bathroom did not work at all. Would not return to this hotel as the evening meals were very poor, namely the cumberland pie and the coq au vin, vegetablesalmost raw. Complaints not dealt with just brushed over , as they were obviously short staffed. We were compensated by the lovely weather and places we visited in the rare sunshine!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Birthday in Lakes

Stay Date: 05/10/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Hyde who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Been to hotel about 3 years ago. Found it very "tired" now, desperately in need of an overhaul of decorating and furniture. The evening meal was also absolutely extortionate in price. The Staff See More  Read more information were amazing however. They were so friendly and pleaseant and are a credit to the Hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lakeland Plastics  
Kendal  
K Village  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lakeland Plastics  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 571 - 580 of 634 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:27

Last rendered @ 25/05/2019 18:15:36

Last rendered @ 25/05/2019 18:15:36

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.