Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 753

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Hotel-Select Plus Room

Stay Date: 20/06/12, a customer who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Beautiful views from the room.The bath in the room looked well used and grubby even though it was clean to the touch.Washbasin cracked and the plug not attached.Dinner service, the waiter didnt know See More  Read more information which plate he was serving was the mackerel and which was the braised pork cheek.Overall the food was very good/excellent.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Bowness

Stay Date: 23/08/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Preston who stayed at 4* Laura Ashley The Belsfield Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

Good Hotel, attractive grounds, handy location for local shops. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Bowness on Windermere

Stay Date: 01/09/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Bury who stayed at 4* Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa in Bowness-on-Windermere wrote this review.

Macdonalds Old England is in a lovely location right on the shoreline of Lake Windermere,you can sit and have your Breakfast looking out over the Lake,lovely.We have stayed there before and always See More  Read more information have been in the new part of the Hotel,this time we were in the old part and I must say much prefer the new.Sloping floors and creaks are not my cup of tea,the room itself was spacious and wellequipted but just old and a view of the pub next door,wouldn't want to stay in one of those rooms again.The room in question 112.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lakeland  
Windermere Steamers  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hyltons  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxed

Stay Date: 03/09/12, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Lancaster in Lancaster wrote this review.

walking along the river behind the hotel, visited the lakes on several days. General relaxation. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
brewers fare  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 18/09/12, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

good dayout in Bowness and Windermere not very far frpom hotel. we did not eat an evening meal at the hotel.however I beleive from speaking to the over guest the meals were very good. we enjoyed the See More  Read more information breakfast each morning, and we did go swimming both days we were there however on the last day when we went swimming there was a sign up that the pool was closed till 10.00am it was 3.00pm we wentand asked at reception they said the pool was open we could go in. so we went in then about half an hour later a workmen who tests the pool said we had to get out it was closed, we went back toreception and they said they did not know anything about this they thought it was open. they said they were sorry. I think there should be better comuncation between them. Because we did come back early so wecould go for a swim. but we did enjoy the hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
Windermere  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend In Bowness On Windermere

Stay Date: 22/09/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Paisley who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Hotel was lovely but room was disgraceful had damp patches on walls and around patio doors there was a humidifier on in the room.The bathroom desperately needs decorated.The hotel was 4miles away See More  Read more information from town and it cost £9 to go into town and £14 to get back by taxi if parking car in town it cost £1 an hour.Pubs were nice very busy on Saturday night but very quiet on Sunday .The John Peel and TheAlbert Hotel well worth a visit.The Lakeview Hotel does a carvery meal which is excellent value for money.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lakeview Hotel  
Me To You Chinese  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Rain and flooding in the Lake District

Stay Date: 23/09/12, a customer from Brentwood who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Arrived on Sunday afternoon, it started to rain and did not stop until Wednesday morning, we left to return home late morning. We were very pleased with our 'select lake view room' and the See More  Read more information accommodation was very comfortable. Unfortunately we were unable to do any sightseeing or walking due to the rain and flooded roads!!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambleside  
Motor Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beech Hill Hotel  
George and Dragon, Clifton  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

The Beech Hill Hotel

Stay Date: 20/10/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Rillington who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

The Hotel was great , the view of the lake etc & breakfast. The only fault was the room needed the decor updating & the bed cover etc. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in the Lake District

Stay Date: 25/10/12, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

This weekend was purely for relaxation purposes. First impressions of the hotel were warming,welcoming but a lttle old fashioned.,i.e.furnishings could do with updating. Our room was very See More  Read more information comfortable,warm and spotlessly clean. The view from our room was spectacular as it overlooked the lake.The staff were very pleasant and food and drink were very good. Unfortunately the swimming pool was closedfor repair,so we were disappointed this facility was unavailable for most of our stay. The only disadvantage was you needed your vehicle (10 minute drive) to get to Bowness as it was too far to walk;public transport was intrequent ,taxis were expensive and car parking fees were extortionate. On the whole we had a lovely weekend.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Lakes  
 

User Review Ratings: 4 out of 4 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Weekend Away at Low Wood Bay

Stay Date: 02/11/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Leeds who stayed at 4* Low Wood Bay in Windermere wrote this review.

Used the hotel as a base to go walking during our 2 day stay. This is our second visit to the establishment and once again we were not disappointed. The hotel is ideally located for our purpose to See More  Read more information explore and visit new places although the hotel's facilities are first class in itself. The only negative point is the poor ventilation within the bathroom area and a number of the corridors could dowith updating and a little "tlc". Overall though yet another fabulous weekend away.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambleside  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 541 - 550 of 753 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001926 @ 12/06/2018 07:48:24

Last rendered @ 21/06/2018 20:56:56

Last rendered @ 21/06/2018 20:56:56

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.