Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 753

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Stunning views of Windermere

Stay Date: 09/04/15, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Last minute stay at Beech Hill Hotel. Stunning views of Lake Windermere. Stayed in room 2 with a lovely seating terrace looking across the lake. Some areas in need of attention- leak as you go See More  Read more information through to the block of rooms we stayed in, stair carpets bit worn. Our room was lovely with king size bed. Breakfast was good. Our 2nd stay here. Parking can be a problem when really busy.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windermere Lake  
The apple pie cafe  
Garden Centre ambleside  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lake Outing

Stay Date: 10/02/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Laura Ashley The Belsfield Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

The Hotel was located in an excellent location overlooking Lake Windermere,our room No 22 was ok (the bathroom was small) but it did have a wonderful lake view. We only had breakfast in the hotel See More  Read more information which was very good, choice on offer was excellent. I would stay at this hotel again but would ask for a room with a larger bathroom.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Walks  
Boat ride on the lake  
Potter museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Italian near Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great hotel ideally situated

Stay Date: 14/08/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Durham who stayed at 4* Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa in Ambleside wrote this review.

The hotel is situated in the centre of Ambleside which is a great town to visit. The rooms are clean and the staff were very friendly. There is a Jacuzzi and hot tub but it is hard to get in when See More  Read more information there are a lot of people in the facility. The food is good. If you book direct with the hotel it is considerably cheaper. We could have had an upgraded room with a balcony for what we paid for astandard room!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambleside Town  
Centre of Lake district  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
White Lion  
Ambleside Spa hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lazy Lakes

Stay Date: 25/08/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Fairburn who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

We visited this hotel to celebrate our 10th anniversary. Through SuperBreak we had a deluxe room and first night evening meal during our two night stay. Our room was clean tidy and well equipped, See More  Read more information however some standard rooms are in need of a make over. The evening meal at £42.50 a head was nice, but the restaurant had no atmosphere due to to the lack of numbers. Leisure facilities are small andcompact, luckily during our stay my wife and I had it to ourselves. Overall if you book through SuperBreak and get a good deal it's well worth a visit, but don't look too closely at the finishes, youmay be disappointed.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Porto  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

3 days of leisure at The Lakes

Stay Date: 01/09/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Uk who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

Craig Manor Hotel with a lake view room lived up to its name. A member of our party had walking difficulties but the hotel was accessible with a ground floor room. Plenty of parking space with See More  Read more information helpful staff. Breakfast was very good and served in a pleasant dining room with lake views. Really well located between Windermere and Bowness on Windermere on the main road with an easy walk into Bownesson Windermere. Unfortunately two consecutive nights the hotel had no steaks so had to dine elsewhere.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake Windermere Cruise  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Watersedge Inn Ambleside  
Skiddaw hotel Keswick  
John Pell Bowness on Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great food

Stay Date: 16/09/15, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Just got back from two nights at this hotel and enjoyed every minute. The room was large, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Bathroom was the same with great shower, plenty of hot water and a See More  Read more information lovely deep tub to soak in after a walking day on the fells. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and couldn't fault it. The food was delicious and the desserts were wonderful. We'll certainlybe recommending this hotel to friends and family and we'd have no hesitation in staying there again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ideal location in Windermere

Stay Date: 07/11/15, a customer aged 25-44 from Aviemore who stayed at 3* Windermere Hydro in Windermere wrote this review.

My family was looking for a cheaper hotel to sleep in Windermere. The Hydro is in a central location in Bowness (but up a bit of a steep hill for any with walking difficulties). Hotel from the See More  Read more information outside needs repainting and repair work. Inside is a little dated and in need of refurbishment. However, it was all clean and warm with friendly staff. The family room was brilliant - a massive roomwith single beds put together into a super king bed, a separate TV area and another little area with bunk beds for the children. Breakfast was buffet and enough on offer. Room it was served in was abit conference like and no windows to enjoy views but it was more than adequate. The lift was out of order when we arrived and no hotel information in our room.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beatrix Potter Attraction  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Shame about the noise

Stay Date: 19/11/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Lovely hotel in a splendid location overlooking Lake Windermere. The only thing that ruined our stay was the noisy people in the room next to us. Television on very loud both nights until gone one See More  Read more information in the morning and very loud snoring from the same room and very loud talking! The walls were very very thin! Spoke to reception staff about it but was told there was nothing they could do.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A golden nugget of a hotel

Stay Date: 19/11/15, a customer aged 65+ from Ilkley who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

We have stayed here many times and the standard of this hotel is very good. The hotel is for those who seek a quiet stay and not a place for young families, although they are welcomed. The beauty of See More  Read more information this place is the tranquillity of the surroundings set above Lake Windermere, the peacefulness of the main public areas of the hotel and the warm heated rooms everywhere that make it so welcoming.The food is excellent and the staff are attentive and helpful. We have stayed in many hotels and find this one that still hold good memories.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wild & Co Windermere  
Lucy's on a Plate Ambleside  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Stay at Newby Bridge

Stay Date: 31/01/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Newby Bridge Hotel & Leisure Centre in Newby Bridge wrote this review.

Good break - hotel in good location and restaurant food was very good. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Motor Museum  
lakeland wildlife oasis  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 491 - 500 of 753 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001956 @ 19/07/2018 12:07:28

Last rendered @ 21/07/2018 23:51:23

Last rendered @ 21/07/2018 23:51:23

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.