Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 753

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

3 days of leisure at The Lakes

Stay Date: 01/09/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Uk who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

Craig Manor Hotel with a lake view room lived up to its name. A member of our party had walking difficulties but the hotel was accessible with a ground floor room. Plenty of parking space with See More  Read more information helpful staff. Breakfast was very good and served in a pleasant dining room with lake views. Really well located between Windermere and Bowness on Windermere on the main road with an easy walk into Bownesson Windermere. Unfortunately two consecutive nights the hotel had no steaks so had to dine elsewhere.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake Windermere Cruise  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Watersedge Inn Ambleside  
Skiddaw hotel Keswick  
John Pell Bowness on Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

2 Nights at Beech Hill Hotel

Stay Date: 09/09/15, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

The hotel is situated at the side of Windermere. The hotel itself is large and very pleasant. The staff were very helpful at all times. The view from our room over the lake was wonderful and we were See More  Read more information treated to a lovely sunset on our second night. The evening meal as part of the package was excellent and the breakfasts were good. We found that our stay here was very enjoyable and good value formoney.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dove Cottage  
Lake Cruise  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beech Hill Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Walking in the Lake District

Stay Date: 16/10/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* The Daffodil Hotel & Spa in Grasmere wrote this review.

Excellent scenery, decent weather. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake District  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Travellers' Rest Inn  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Second time not as good

Stay Date: 27/12/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

After visiting the hotel in August 2015, we decided to return for a romantic couple of days between Christmas and New Year. When we came in the summer we couldn't fault the hotel at all, the staff See More  Read more information were amazing, the room was beautiful with a view over looking Lake Windermere, and the food , this was without a doubt something very special. When we booked again through SuperBreak, we wanted toupgrade to a deluxe room this time but there were none left, so we booked a superior room again. SuperBreak informed them that we were returning guests, we know this because it states it clearly on thebooking form. On arrival we were asked if we had stayed before (someone hadn't bothered to look), then shown to our room. The room was a nice size but nothing like the room we had in the summer, it wastired and dated but worse of all it looked onto the car park and two mobile caravans. When I went downstairs and explained my disappointment I was told there was no more rooms. The dinner in theevening was excellent again, but the waiting on staff were very sluggish and moody. I asked if we could have some more water and the girl looked at me in disgust and walked away (how rude). On checking outI found four drinks which we never ordered on the bill. I explained to the lady about the view, explained that I had only had one drink on the bill, but again she never seemed interested andcomplained that she was now going to have to make out a new receipt for one glass of red wine. Really you would think she would have offered me the glass of wine. The experience has left me very unhappy anddon't think we would return.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beatrix Potter Museum  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Stay at Newby Bridge

Stay Date: 31/01/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Newby Bridge Hotel & Leisure Centre in Newby Bridge wrote this review.

Good break - hotel in good location and restaurant food was very good. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Motor Museum  
lakeland wildlife oasis  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fab break in Lakes

Stay Date: 12/02/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* The Regent Hotel (2 Nights Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ambleside wrote this review.

Very central location in between Windermere and Ambleside, hotel was lovely, décor was good, room size and comfort were excellent. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Food was of a high See More  Read more information standard and good portion size.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing trip in the Lakes

Stay Date: 28/03/16, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Bowness-on-Windermere wrote this review.

Very nice traditional hotel, with good standards. Restaurant is expensive, but the breakfast is good and the staff are excellent. Ideal option for people wanting to relax and beautiful surroundings. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Wall-to-Wall Sunshine in Windermere

Stay Date: 15/03/16, a customer aged 65+ from London who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe in Windermere wrote this review.

The skies were endlessly blue and the sunshine gently warm for our Spring break to the Lakes. It was our fist visit and was thoroughly enjoyed. It was heartening to see how positive local people See More  Read more information were after the awful problems they have faced with the terrible winter weather. There are so many outdoor activities to enjoy - lake trips and minibus tours. Can highly recommend the Mountain Goat LakesTour. Our hotel the Lindeth Howe was attractive and comfortable and the staff were first class. However we would not recommend the hotel restaurant - fine dining is lovely but not when the portionsare so small as to be hard to see and extremely expensive. (Words of caution: Bowness has no chemist and no local museum.)   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake Windermere Boat Trip  
Mountain Goat minibus round the Lakese lakes  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jacksons, Bowness  
Lindeth House Hotel Restaurant  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Great day in Windermere

Stay Date: 04/04/16, a customer aged 45-64 from London who stayed at 3* Windermere Hydro in Windermere wrote this review.

Windermere Hydro Hotel, although a little ancient in décor, provides a warm and welcoming stay. Staff are polite and wanting to help. The hotel is up a hill, great to walk down but you need a See More  Read more information healthy pair of legs to climb back up, thankfully there is a bench for resting. The hotel is in close proximity to Lake Windermere and main attractions in the area. There are a lot of different restaurantsto choose from and quite a few pubs if you fancy a drink. A lovely day out.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beatrix Potter  
Lakes Cruise Lakeside  
Lakes Cruise Amberside  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Lake District Break

Stay Date: 26/04/16, a customer aged 65+ from Ashbourne who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Wonderful quiet location overlooking the Lake and the mountains. Very comfortable public rooms, good food and ambiance. We would stay again. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
Derwent Water  
Ills water cruise  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 381 - 390 of 753 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001956 @ 19/07/2018 12:17:24

Last rendered @ 23/07/2018 12:39:02

Last rendered @ 23/07/2018 12:39:02

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.