Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 753

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Hotel-Select Plus Room

Stay Date: 20/06/12, a customer who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Beautiful views from the room.The bath in the room looked well used and grubby even though it was clean to the touch.Washbasin cracked and the plug not attached.Dinner service, the waiter didnt know See More  Read more information which plate he was serving was the mackerel and which was the braised pork cheek.Overall the food was very good/excellent.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

short break in the lakes

Stay Date: 22/07/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Dobcross who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

2 day break with husband to celebrate wedding anniversary despite the rain had lovely walk around the lake, used the hotel leisure facilities and restaurant the food was amazing. the hotel lounge See More  Read more information and bar area were warm and welcoming with superb lakeside view sadly the bedroom was in need of a refurb bedrrom am bathroom very tired and. overall though a fabulous mini break   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake Windemere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good Break in Windermere

Stay Date: 18/09/12, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

good dayout in Bowness and Windermere not very far frpom hotel. we did not eat an evening meal at the hotel.however I beleive from speaking to the over guest the meals were very good. we enjoyed the See More  Read more information breakfast each morning, and we did go swimming both days we were there however on the last day when we went swimming there was a sign up that the pool was closed till 10.00am it was 3.00pm we wentand asked at reception they said the pool was open we could go in. so we went in then about half an hour later a workmen who tests the pool said we had to get out it was closed, we went back toreception and they said they did not know anything about this they thought it was open. they said they were sorry. I think there should be better comuncation between them. Because we did come back early so wecould go for a swim. but we did enjoy the hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
Windermere  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend In Bowness On Windermere

Stay Date: 22/09/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Paisley who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Hotel was lovely but room was disgraceful had damp patches on walls and around patio doors there was a humidifier on in the room.The bathroom desperately needs decorated.The hotel was 4miles away See More  Read more information from town and it cost £9 to go into town and £14 to get back by taxi if parking car in town it cost £1 an hour.Pubs were nice very busy on Saturday night but very quiet on Sunday .The John Peel and TheAlbert Hotel well worth a visit.The Lakeview Hotel does a carvery meal which is excellent value for money.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lakeview Hotel  
Me To You Chinese  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Rain and flooding in the Lake District

Stay Date: 23/09/12, a customer from Brentwood who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Arrived on Sunday afternoon, it started to rain and did not stop until Wednesday morning, we left to return home late morning. We were very pleased with our 'select lake view room' and the See More  Read more information accommodation was very comfortable. Unfortunately we were unable to do any sightseeing or walking due to the rain and flooded roads!!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambleside  
Motor Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beech Hill Hotel  
George and Dragon, Clifton  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Lake District

Stay Date: 30/09/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Reading who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Although we had a wet holiday it did not spoil the break. The scenery was fantastic, we also did a lot of National Trust properties eg Hill top Wray Castle See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hill Top  
Wray Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Express  
The Boar Inn  
The Gateway Inn  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Days on Lakes

Stay Date: 01/10/12, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Good service at The Beech Hill hotel See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hill Top  
Beatrix Potter Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Swan Inn  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Birthday in Lakes

Stay Date: 05/10/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Hyde who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Been to hotel about 3 years ago. Found it very "tired" now, desperately in need of an overhaul of decorating and furniture. The evening meal was also absolutely extortionate in price. The Staff See More  Read more information were amazing however. They were so friendly and pleaseant and are a credit to the Hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lakeland Plastics  
Kendal  
K Village  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lakeland Plastics  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

The Beech Hill Hotel

Stay Date: 20/10/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Rillington who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

The Hotel was great , the view of the lake etc & breakfast. The only fault was the room needed the decor updating & the bed cover etc. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lake District

Stay Date: 21/10/12, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Beautiful scenery all year round. Many interesting places to visit. Very good independent shops I Keep going back for a few days each year and always find something interesting. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 211 - 220 of 753 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 8am-10pm GMT, 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001926 @ 12/06/2018 07:48:24

Last rendered @ 18/06/2018 16:20:57

Last rendered @ 18/06/2018 16:20:57

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.