Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 640

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Unexpected luxury

Stay Date: 29/04/17, a customer who stayed at 4* Lancaster House Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Lancaster wrote this review.

Gosh, we just loved the place, it's just full of character. There's no lift there so be warned. The bedrooms were big, clean and very comfortable, very pretty in fact. Nice view from our window See More  Read more information and very with it - pots for tea or coffee. The spa was exceptional, massive sauna and steam room. Also a nice big pool, and Jacuzzi inside and outside yes I did say outside. Goodness we were soimpressed with this hotel - the staff were great as well. We go away most weekends but this is the best one. We will go back soon and it's not that far from where we live.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel Stay

Stay Date: 14/05/17, a customer aged 65+ from North Shields who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Lindeth Howe is a superb hotel in a stunning location. The meals are of international standard. All the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Beautiful hotel and stay

Stay Date: 29/04/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Keighley who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

The hotel was beautiful, the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you. The meal we had in the restaurant was outstanding. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Helvellyn  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fabulous Stay in the Lake District

Stay Date: 05/05/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

My partner and I wanted a relaxing weekend in the Lake District and this is exactly what we got. The hotel was absolutely superb and in a lovely location approximately 1 mile from Bowness. The See More  Read more information staff are very friendly and helpful, the hotel spotlessly clean and comfortable and both dinner and breakfast delicious. The weather was extremely good and we sat in the hotel garden for lunch. Sopeaceful and relaxing. There is a lovely walk, passed a Marina and Lake Windermere into Bowness. Bowness is a pretty and lively small town, with lots of bars and restaurants to suit all tastes. We wouldn'thesitate to stay here again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic two night stay

Stay Date: 14/08/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Please Select...Northumberland who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night BB Offer + Windermere Cruise) in Windermere wrote this review.

Had a wonderfully relaxing time at this beautiful hotel. Fantastic staff, fantastic views, fantastic spa and fantastic food. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windermere Boat Trip  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Burlingtons  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Superb Hotel

Stay Date: 26/08/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Greater Manchester who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

We could not fault the Lindeth Howe Hotel in any way. The accommodation, location and restaurant all exceeded our expectation and we have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to anybody. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Orrest Head  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kirkstone Pass Inn  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing in Windermere

Stay Date: 30/08/17, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Lindeth Howe is an excellent hotel in every way. From the greeting from Jade the lovely receptionist to the minute we left we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. My husband is recovering for surgery and we See More  Read more information were given a perfect ground floor bedroom with French doors out to the grounds. Dinner superb, breakfasts equally good. We will definitely return.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Motor Museum  
Steam Train  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Italian  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lakeside view

Stay Date: 03/10/17, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Hotel excellent, very relaxed fabulous views. Very comfortable and large bedroom. The hotel is built in tiers so there are a lot of steps from car park to bedroom on top floor, didn't spoil it See More  Read more information though. The restaurant was very slow. Booked for 7.15 didn't get dessert 'til 8.50 even though not many diners. However will return. Easy to get to all attractions in area.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
General Shopping  
Hayes Garden World  
scenery/lakes  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Lakes sightseeing

Stay Date: 05/10/17, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Hotel could not be faulted. Perfect setting and location. Service excellent and food superb. Will definitely recommend to friends and family, and will certainly return, should have stayed longer. See More  Read more information Although several station changes on rail travel it was clearly planned for us on the information we were given.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windermere Lake Cruise  
Ambleside  
Beatrix Potter tour Hill Top  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambleside 'apple pie shop'  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

The Wild Boar - fabulous!

Stay Date: 30/11/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* The Wild Boar Inn in Windermere wrote this review.

Loved this place, great location, cosy inn, fab food and brilliant staff. Can’t recommend highly enough. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 11 - 20 of 640 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 10:44:06

Last rendered @ 21/07/2019 01:40:33

Last rendered @ 21/07/2019 01:40:33

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.