Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 640

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Great hotel ideally situated

Stay Date: 14/08/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Durham who stayed at 4* Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa in Ambleside wrote this review.

The hotel is situated in the centre of Ambleside which is a great town to visit. The rooms are clean and the staff were very friendly. There is a Jacuzzi and hot tub but it is hard to get in when See More  Read more information there are a lot of people in the facility. The food is good. If you book direct with the hotel it is considerably cheaper. We could have had an upgraded room with a balcony for what we paid for astandard room!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambleside Town  
Centre of Lake district  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
White Lion  
Ambleside Spa hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Refreshing Break at Lakeside

Stay Date: 11/08/15, a customer aged 65+ from Sheffield who stayed at 4* Lakeside Hotel in Windermere (Newby Bridge) wrote this review.

Just what my daughter and I needed! A well run hotel in a delightful setting serving great food with a comfortable, well-equipped and serviced room. Wonderful bonus - spa and pool. Relaxing boat See More  Read more information trip to save driving to Bowness where Beatrix Potter attraction is - amazing.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Holker Hall  
Cartmel  
Lake Windermere Steamer  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Punch Bowl Crossthwaite  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

The Lakes

Stay Date: 20/07/15, a customer aged 65+ from Wigan who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

We often go for walks, and like to visit Grasmere, Keswick, Windermere etc. But the hotel and staff really spoilt us - foods was good, and the room had everything you could think of. We will be See More  Read more information staying again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Keswick  
Grassmere  
Lake District  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend break

Stay Date: 24/07/15, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Riverside Hotel in Kendal wrote this review.

We arrived early and our room was ready so we were allowed in. The staff were all very helpful and polite. The room was spacious and clean . The bed was very comfy. There wasn't any toilet rolls in See More  Read more information the room when we arrived but luckily the cleaners were in the corridor and the problem was solved immediately. Our only niggle was the rooms were far too warm - we had the fan on most of the weekend-the hotel would benefit by installing air conditioning going on a lot of TripAdvisor comments. Also a lot of banging doors. Breakfast had a good selection to choose from - wasn't very good the firstday but much better on the Sunday. You had to get your own tea and coffee, personally I prefer it brought to the table. Nevertheless we had a wonderful weekend.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
sawadee thai  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lacklustre lakeside break

Stay Date: 24/06/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Worcester who stayed at 3* Sawrey House Hotel in Ambleside wrote this review.

Not a great start to our break to be told on arrival that all chefs left a month ago so no dinner service. Lake view room did deliver the view but bed was a tad tired so sleep was patchy. Breakfast See More  Read more information was ok but bacon was always a bit dry. Housekeeping was random. At no point was the room hoovered, towels were left in a mess, bins not emptied every day and toiletries not replaced at all. Thelack of dinner service rendered the hotel with a lack of evening atmosphere. The bar service had to be summoned by a bell and with few, if any guests around there was little incentive to stay around foranother. Far better to walk round to the corner to the Pub made famous by Beatrix Potter books where locals drank and provided some atmosphere. On the plus side the hotel staff were friendly andtrying to make the best of a fluid situation. They provide great packed lunch at short notice when asked one morning and were happy to advise on places to eat. Of these the best by far was the King'sArms in Hawkshead although the Queen's Head in the same village is also worth a visit. The walking in the area is great for softies like us but the hills in the area are not hard core Hellvelyn.The western shore of Lake Windermere is also a great walk and the walk from Hawkshead to Tarn Hows is highly recommended: guide available from the info-newsagent in Hawkshead.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Honister Slate Mine  
Coniston Launch  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Queen's Head, Hawkshead  
Crown Inn, Coniston  
King's Arms, Hawkshead  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Amazing stay in Windermere

Stay Date: 07/06/15, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

The Beech Hill Hotel was outstanding, from the room, staff and facilities. Nothing was too much trouble for all staff. The view of the lake from our room was breathtaking. Amazing value for money. I See More  Read more information am looking now to book again for august.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Town  
the lake  
The Lakes Aquarium  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beech Hill Hotel  
the graze  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic hotel, stunning lake views

Stay Date: 13/06/15, a customer aged 25-44 from Brighouse who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

A lovely weekend break staying in the lakes at the Beach Hill Hotel after taking part in the Great North Swim. Family room was possibly the largest family room I've ever seen with breathtaking views See More  Read more information of the lake. Staff were fantastic and very friendly and helpful and the pool was lovely and clean and we all enjoyed a nice swim. Breakfast was self service and very tasty with a fantastic selection.Even our two almost teenage boys were full. A fab setting and a delightful hotel. Will hopefully be back on our own for a romantic weekend.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal Oak Pub  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in the lakes

Stay Date: 29/05/15, a customer aged 65+ from Leeds who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Lovely hotel, excellent breakfast and fantastic views from our room. Staff all friendly and helpful. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic time at Lindeth howe

Stay Date: 10/04/15, a customer aged 25-44 from Middlesbrough who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

We have just returned from a two night break at Lindeth Howe in Bowness on Windermere and I have to say what a fantastic time we had . Lovely location and an amazing restaurant (fantastic views) and See More  Read more information all the staff couldn't do enough to help . What a wonderful place it is... We will definitely be back - thank you so much for your excellent service.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambleside  
Bowness On Windermere  
Bowness steamers  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lindeth Howe  
Bluebell tea rooms  
Costa coffee ambleside  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Stunning views of Windermere

Stay Date: 09/04/15, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Last minute stay at Beech Hill Hotel. Stunning views of Lake Windermere. Stayed in room 2 with a lovely seating terrace looking across the lake. Some areas in need of attention- leak as you go See More  Read more information through to the block of rooms we stayed in, stair carpets bit worn. Our room was lovely with king size bed. Breakfast was good. Our 2nd stay here. Parking can be a problem when really busy.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windermere Lake  
The apple pie cafe  
Garden Centre ambleside  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 161 - 170 of 640 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 11:23:27

Last rendered @ 20/07/2019 15:09:46

Last rendered @ 20/07/2019 15:09:46

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.