Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 640

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Staying at the Beech Hill Hotel

Stay Date: 25/09/15, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

The staff were all really nice and helpful. The hotel is tired to be honest, broken tiles in the bathroom and no attention to detail in the room, worn out carpets and dated. The views are beautiful See More  Read more information from the bar and eating area. There was a mix up with our meals in the evening - it was sorted in the end. I would stay again if there were no vacancies elsewhere.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness town  
windermwere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Shocking!

Stay Date: 19/09/15, a customer aged 25-44 from Doncaster who stayed at 3* Damson Dene Hotel & Leisure Club in Crosthwaite (Nr. Bowness) wrote this review.

Extremely unhappy with the hotel. Very run down, no place to hang towels, damp above bed, door wouldn't lock correctly, cold breakfast plates, dirty shower room in leisure area - absolutely run See More  Read more information down! So unhappy with our short break - it was a nightmare! Just an awful experience glad we only booked for one night, We usually stay in the Salutation Ambleside but it was full so tried something newwith SuperBreak advertised as a 2 star with photos that clearly once there are very old!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
fells and moutains  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
All excellent  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great food

Stay Date: 16/09/15, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Just got back from two nights at this hotel and enjoyed every minute. The room was large, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Bathroom was the same with great shower, plenty of hot water and a See More  Read more information lovely deep tub to soak in after a walking day on the fells. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and couldn't fault it. The food was delicious and the desserts were wonderful. We'll certainlybe recommending this hotel to friends and family and we'd have no hesitation in staying there again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

2 Nights at Beech Hill Hotel

Stay Date: 09/09/15, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

The hotel is situated at the side of Windermere. The hotel itself is large and very pleasant. The staff were very helpful at all times. The view from our room over the lake was wonderful and we were See More  Read more information treated to a lovely sunset on our second night. The evening meal as part of the package was excellent and the breakfasts were good. We found that our stay here was very enjoyable and good value formoney.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dove Cottage  
Lake Cruise  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beech Hill Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Stay at Lamplighter Dining Rooms

Stay Date: 07/09/15, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* The Lamplighter Dining Rooms in Windermere wrote this review.

Enjoyed stay at the Lamplighter Dining Rooms. Food was excellent, staff were very pleasant. Negatives were I found stairs to our 2nd floor room difficult to climb after a long day of See More  Read more information sightseeing. The flat screen TV was very small (around 19"). I would however stay here again in the future.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere  
Keswick  
Ambleside  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lamplight Dining Rooms  
Gray Walls  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

3 days of leisure at The Lakes

Stay Date: 01/09/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Uk who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

Craig Manor Hotel with a lake view room lived up to its name. A member of our party had walking difficulties but the hotel was accessible with a ground floor room. Plenty of parking space with See More  Read more information helpful staff. Breakfast was very good and served in a pleasant dining room with lake views. Really well located between Windermere and Bowness on Windermere on the main road with an easy walk into Bownesson Windermere. Unfortunately two consecutive nights the hotel had no steaks so had to dine elsewhere.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake Windermere Cruise  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Watersedge Inn Ambleside  
Skiddaw hotel Keswick  
John Pell Bowness on Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

In Hotel

Stay Date: 26/08/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

We were celebrating our 55th Wedding Anniversary and the hotel gave us a card and something at the end of our meal. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cockermouth  
Bowness  
Keswick  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lazy Lakes

Stay Date: 25/08/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Fairburn who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

We visited this hotel to celebrate our 10th anniversary. Through SuperBreak we had a deluxe room and first night evening meal during our two night stay. Our room was clean tidy and well equipped, See More  Read more information however some standard rooms are in need of a make over. The evening meal at £42.50 a head was nice, but the restaurant had no atmosphere due to to the lack of numbers. Leisure facilities are small andcompact, luckily during our stay my wife and I had it to ourselves. Overall if you book through SuperBreak and get a good deal it's well worth a visit, but don't look too closely at the finishes, youmay be disappointed.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Porto  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Dining

Stay Date: 21/08/15, a customer aged 65+ from Coylton, Ayrshire who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Lancaster in Lancaster wrote this review.

Meals in hotel a bit expensive so went to Brewers Fayre every night where meals were delicious and great value. Bar in Holiday Inn could do with some light background music. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lancaster  
Morecombe Market  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Brewers Fayre  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Windermere

Stay Date: 12/08/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

A piece of paradise .So much has been written about this hotel and the peace and tranquillity to be found within its walls that I find it impossible to enhance those viewpoints. I can however bear See More  Read more information witness as to the truth of those words.This is a tiny piece of heaven in God's own country.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lakeland Store  
Bowness boat hire  
fellfoot park  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
lindeth howe hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 151 - 160 of 640 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 11:23:27

Last rendered @ 23/07/2019 23:25:23

Last rendered @ 23/07/2019 23:25:23

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.