Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 640

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Second time not as good

Stay Date: 27/12/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

After visiting the hotel in August 2015, we decided to return for a romantic couple of days between Christmas and New Year. When we came in the summer we couldn't fault the hotel at all, the staff See More  Read more information were amazing, the room was beautiful with a view over looking Lake Windermere, and the food , this was without a doubt something very special. When we booked again through SuperBreak, we wanted toupgrade to a deluxe room this time but there were none left, so we booked a superior room again. SuperBreak informed them that we were returning guests, we know this because it states it clearly on thebooking form. On arrival we were asked if we had stayed before (someone hadn't bothered to look), then shown to our room. The room was a nice size but nothing like the room we had in the summer, it wastired and dated but worse of all it looked onto the car park and two mobile caravans. When I went downstairs and explained my disappointment I was told there was no more rooms. The dinner in theevening was excellent again, but the waiting on staff were very sluggish and moody. I asked if we could have some more water and the girl looked at me in disgust and walked away (how rude). On checking outI found four drinks which we never ordered on the bill. I explained to the lady about the view, explained that I had only had one drink on the bill, but again she never seemed interested andcomplained that she was now going to have to make out a new receipt for one glass of red wine. Really you would think she would have offered me the glass of wine. The experience has left me very unhappy anddon't think we would return.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beatrix Potter Museum  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

A golden nugget of a hotel

Stay Date: 19/11/15, a customer aged 65+ from Ilkley who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

We have stayed here many times and the standard of this hotel is very good. The hotel is for those who seek a quiet stay and not a place for young families, although they are welcomed. The beauty of See More  Read more information this place is the tranquillity of the surroundings set above Lake Windermere, the peacefulness of the main public areas of the hotel and the warm heated rooms everywhere that make it so welcoming.The food is excellent and the staff are attentive and helpful. We have stayed in many hotels and find this one that still hold good memories.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wild & Co Windermere  
Lucy's on a Plate Ambleside  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Shame about the noise

Stay Date: 19/11/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Lovely hotel in a splendid location overlooking Lake Windermere. The only thing that ruined our stay was the noisy people in the room next to us. Television on very loud both nights until gone one See More  Read more information in the morning and very loud snoring from the same room and very loud talking! The walls were very very thin! Spoke to reception staff about it but was told there was nothing they could do.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ideal location in Windermere

Stay Date: 07/11/15, a customer aged 25-44 from Aviemore who stayed at 3* Windermere Hydro in Windermere wrote this review.

My family was looking for a cheaper hotel to sleep in Windermere. The Hydro is in a central location in Bowness (but up a bit of a steep hill for any with walking difficulties). Hotel from the See More  Read more information outside needs repainting and repair work. Inside is a little dated and in need of refurbishment. However, it was all clean and warm with friendly staff. The family room was brilliant - a massive roomwith single beds put together into a super king bed, a separate TV area and another little area with bunk beds for the children. Breakfast was buffet and enough on offer. Room it was served in was abit conference like and no windows to enjoy views but it was more than adequate. The lift was out of order when we arrived and no hotel information in our room.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beatrix Potter Attraction  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Perfect dining experience in hotel

Stay Date: 21/10/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Good location for room (lake view from decking outside room). Good dining at this hotel. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Hotel in very quiet location and good parking. Will definitely go back for a See More  Read more information quiet break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambleside  
Keswick Market  
Grassmere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Brilliant Beech Hill Hotel

Stay Date: 18/10/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

An excellent hotel - about 3 miles out of Windermere on the Newby Bridge road. Car needed as the bus service to Windermere is very infrequent. Good car park at the hotel. Swimming pool is very See More  Read more information good. Very good breakfast - restaurant overlooks the lake with great views. Very helpful and friendly staff - any problems are sorted very quickly. Many interesting places around the area and many goodwalks. Kendal is the nearest big town but it's full of one-way streets and difficult to park. Hayes garden centre at Ambleside is worth a visit, though credit cards should be kept firmly lockedaway! Have been to Beech Hill Hotel quite a few times and will always try to stay there on visit to the Lake District.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Romantic break

Stay Date: 17/10/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Barnard Castle who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe in Windermere wrote this review.

Lovely hotel, quiet weekend. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Motor Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in the Lakes

Stay Date: 09/10/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

The Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel was superb , the room was excellent, it was big and beautifully furnished. The food was lovely and the service was impeccable. The hotel was lovely and quiet and See More  Read more information perfectly situated for visiting local attractions. We will most certainly stay there again when we next visit the Lake District.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Hidden Prospects

Stay Date: 07/10/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Craig Manor Hotel in Windermere wrote this review.

The hotel is situated on the main road between Windermere and Bowness and can be easily missed, despite a sizeable frontage. However its considerable assets are soon discovered once inside. The See More  Read more information public areas are extremely well-furnished and the views are to die for - you could be in a different world. Staff are friendly and helpful.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Fat Rascals  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Poor Hotel - Disappointed

Stay Date: 28/09/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Windermere Hydro in Windermere wrote this review.

Bowness was fantastic, with loads of lovely pubs and restaurants. View from hotel was great and staff were brilliant, very helpful. Coach load of tourists on the first night so had to queue for See More  Read more information breakfast the next morning and had to wait 20 minutes for teas and coffees as staff were so busy. Had a basic buffet breakfast but we were also offered hash browns and mushrooms but never offered againfor the next 2 mornings. Jacuzzi not working properly in leisure centre. Bath panel at front of bath was hanging off. Mattress was really hard on the bed and the whole of the hotel was shabby. Thecarpet was dirty on entrance to our room. We were really disappointed in the hotel as it looked so much nicer on the website. Would not recommend, even though staff tried their hardest.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere  
Bowness  
Ambleside  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 141 - 150 of 640 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 11:23:27

Last rendered @ 23/07/2019 10:29:11

Last rendered @ 23/07/2019 10:29:11

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.