Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 640

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Lovely Stay

Stay Date: 01/01/17, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Merewood Country House Hotel (Afternoon Tea Offer) in Windermere wrote this review.

Our party of 4 was very pleasantly impressed and surprised with Merewood as the only other review gave it 1 star so we didn't know what to expect before we arrived. We gave it 5 stars due to the See More  Read more information warmness of the staff, the building itself - historic yet luxurious, and the amazing afternoon tea by a roaring fire in one of the reception rooms which we had to ourselves for the duration. The roomswere lovely too and a great breakfast. We'll definitely be back.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Boat Trip  
BAETRIX POTTER  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
MACDONALD BOWNESS HOTEL  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Disappointed

Stay Date: 29/12/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Liverpool who stayed at 3* Sawrey House Hotel in Ambleside wrote this review.

We booked this break last minute and on arrival walked into an empty hotel without a reception. A young girl eventually appeared but could not find our booking. She went to find the assistant See More  Read more information manager who curtly said "you've just booked this, haven't you? We've been overbooked and will have to do some shuffling around". We were then handed our keys and she disappeared without a smile or awelcome. We had dinner in the restaurant which totally lacked atmosphere. The lamb and guinea fowl was very tasty but we were disappointed that there were no vegetables served with the dishes. We found ourroom clean but far too hot, the bathroom was the tiniest we have ever experienced. The bed was lumpy and the grandfather clock in the hallway annoyingly chimed all night long. We went down forbreakfast at 9am and there was no one to greet us, the same young girl was waiting on and eventually came and took our order. We had to wait 50 minutes for our breakfast to arrive which was good apart fromthe egg being slimy. When we checked out we had to ring a bell for attention for the girl to appear again to take our payment. If it hadn't been for the mix up over our booking we wouldn't have seenany other member of staff apart from this girl who also ran the bar in the evening. We had no issues with her, she was very pleasant but lacked training and was clearly overworked. We would definitelynot stay at this hotel again, we did not feel welcome or looked after which is the very least we expect as paying guests.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic Lake District stay

Stay Date: 04/12/16, a customer aged 25-44 from Ripley who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Situated on Lake Windermere, walking to the bottom of the grounds to the lake is possibly where you will find the best views. We drove up and down the lake looking for the 'perfect view' and ended See More  Read more information up finding it from exploring the grounds of the hotel. It is definitely worth seeing it.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Aira Force  
Bowness On Windermere  
Lake Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shaibs  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

A Great Centre for Exploring

Stay Date: 02/12/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Chester who stayed at 3* Newby Bridge Hotel & Leisure Centre in Newby Bridge wrote this review.

The New Bridge Hotel has a wonderful location on the southern edge of Lake Windermere, so ideal for exploring the southern lakes and also the Furness peninsular, which tends to be ignored by See More  Read more information tourists, yet which has the remains of the second largest abbey in the UK. Furness Abbey (English Heritage) is a real gem, well worth a visit. As for the hotel, it was very comfortable and the staff weremost hospitable. On the downside, the restaurant was quite disappointing (a limited selection and our meal was not very tasty). Bathroom adequate except for the shower, which was difficult to to keepat a constant temperature.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hawkshead  
Furness Abbey  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Swan Hotel, Newby Bridge  
Punchbowl Inn, Crossthwaite  
Bay Horse, Ulverston  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Charming hotel with character and history

Stay Date: 17/11/16, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

We very much enjoyed our stay at Lindeth Howe. The staff were fantastic, the lounges were homely with a lovely period features and our evening meal in the restaurant was one of the best we have had. See More  Read more information We did however feel that our room and the upstairs in general was ever so slightly run down - the bath had been repaired in places and the door to the room never did seem to close properly.Altogether though the hotel is beautiful and in a staggeringly pretty location.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake Windemere  
Ulswater  
Bowness-on-windemere town  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lindeth Howe  
The old john peel inn  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Great place to stay

Stay Date: 06/11/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Food excellent. Staff very friendly. Overall a good hotel. Would be happy to stay again and to recommend. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake Cruise  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bistro cafe Windermere  
Greens grasmere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beech Hill Hotel

Stay Date: 18/10/16, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Everything was fantastic - relaxing and pleasant hotel. Food was excellent and leisure facilities were fantastic especially the hot tub. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
ship inn bowness  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great stay at Windermere

Stay Date: 17/10/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

Fabulous room, food and staff made this a very special few days overlooking Lake Windermere. Can't wait to return next year. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ullswater  
Lake Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing break.

Stay Date: 09/10/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Lindeth Howe (2 Nts,1st Nt Dinner & 1 Cream Tea) in Windermere wrote this review.

The short break booked via SuperBreak was excellent value with first night dinner and breakfast included. Our request for a superior double was amended to a twin as we requested. To be honest we See More  Read more information we wondered it if I was too good to be true but the break exceeded our expectations. The hotel was a delight, comfortable and in a lovely setting. Staff were attentive and efficient. Definitely oneto return to.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grasmere  
Bowness  
Keswick  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
lindeth howe hotel  
Potted Out Cafe  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good Day in Lake District

Stay Date: 09/10/16, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel (2 Nt/1st Night Dinner + Windermere Cruise) in Windermere wrote this review.

Beautiful hotel in fantastic surroundings, spa was second to none, food in hotel restaurant was quality. Staff very friendly. SuperBreak team arranged it all very good. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 91 - 100 of 640 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 11:23:27

Last rendered @ 17/07/2019 11:46:18

Last rendered @ 17/07/2019 11:46:18

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.