Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Windermere & South Lakes

Windermere & South Lakes Holiday Reviews

View from Windermere to Langdale

For tranquil valleys, clear lakes, charming towns and elegant villages, book one of our superb South Lakes hotels. Choose from a collection of amazing Lake District destinations, as well as a fantastic selection of hotels in Windermere and the surrounding area for a truly memorable short break.

With our Windermere and South Lakes hotels, you can discover spectacular Lakeland scenery, as well as a whole host of amazing attractions, restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops.

  • For a magical experience the whole family can enjoy, head to The World of Beatrix Potter. Delve into the world of Peter Rabbit at this award-winning attraction, complete with an indoor recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
  • The biggest attraction in the area is the Lake District National Park itself. Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, walkers and cyclists, you’ll have plenty of rolling hills, picturesque valleys and mountainous landscapes to discover.
  • Go back in time with a visit to the 12th century Kendal Castle and Museum. From here you’ll have stunning views of Kendal town, as well as insights into the history of this medieval ruin.
Whether you love the great outdoors or fancy a relaxing getaway in the Lakes, our hotels in Windermere and the South Lakes area are an excellent choice for a short break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 640

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Beautiful hotel and grounds

Stay Date: 06/07/19, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Sawrey House Hotel in Ambleside wrote this review.

We enjoyed our stay very much. Lovely evening meal and breakfasts, comfortable beds, excellent blackout curtains in the rooms. Attractively decorated lounge and restaurant areas. Beautiful garden See More  Read more information and views. Very well located for all Windermere attractions.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
'Green' boat tour of Windermere  
walk from Bowness to Orrest Head  
Brockhole gardens and play area  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Misto pizzeria Ambleside  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fab weekend away in the Lakes

Stay Date: 05/07/19, a customer aged 18-24 from Llanfairpwllgwyngyll who stayed at 4* Low Wood Bay in Windermere wrote this review.

We really enjoyed our weekend away in Low Wood Bay. The staff are really friendly and helpful and the food here is delicious. Our room was good (equipped with everything you could ask for and local See More  Read more information products. Only downside to our stay is that we could not get the TV to work but we weren’t too bothered about this. The spa facilities were amazing (especially the infinity pool).   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ambleside  
Lake Cruise  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Indian in Windermere  
Thai restaurant in ambleside  
Blue smoke restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great holiday overall

Stay Date: 18/06/19, a customer aged 45-64 from Cannock who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

First room was unacceptable and not as shown on website. Reception quickly found us a much better room; spacious but bed very uncomfortable. Evening meals were superb and beautifully presented. Spa See More  Read more information area lovely. First impressions not good. Outside areas look very tired and dirty; and hotel not attractive from the outside. Staff in dining room do not speak good English, and often did notunderstand simple questions. One morning we went to the buffet area to serve ourselves with a hot breakfast, when we returned to our table, it had been cleared of everything, including our tea and toastwhich they had only just given to us! Not switched on at all.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Motor Museum  
Boat Trips  
Beatrix Potter Farmhouse  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Stay near Bowness

Stay Date: 09/06/19, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel (2 Nt/1st Night Dinner + Windermere Cruise) in Windermere wrote this review.

Hotel had a lovely view of Lake Windermere, the pool and outdoor Jacuzzi was brilliant, especially as the weather was lovely. Would have been a lot better if there was a footpath into See More  Read more information Bowness-on-Windermere as a lovely walk. Would certainly recommend this hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
Bowness  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great hotel Beech Hill Hotel & Spa Windermere

Stay Date: 25/05/19, a customer aged 45-64 from Mansfield who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa in Windermere wrote this review.

Great hotel with stunning views, room was clean and we had a spa bath. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating, would stay here again. Food was excellent and a good pint of beer. Great See More  Read more information stay at the Beech Hill Spa Hotel!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely Lakes

Stay Date: 24/05/19, a customer aged 25-44 from Leeds who stayed at 4* Waterhead Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ambleside wrote this review.

We had an amazing stay at The Waterhead. All the staff had a smile and were very attentive. Our room was fabulous and had views of the lake. The Hotel is conveniently located for any Lake cruises See More  Read more information you may wish to go on too.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lake Cruise  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent 2 days in the Beech Hill Hotel

Stay Date: 02/05/19, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel (2 Nt/1st Night Dinner + Windermere Cruise) in Windermere wrote this review.

Lovely clean hotel. Very friendly staff and lovely food. The hotel is in a great location with breathtaking views. Only £10 in a taxi into Bowness so no need to take the car for a meal and some See More  Read more information drinks. Well worth a bit it and definitely go again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Pub  
Another pub  
The final pub  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Trattatori  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short break in Newby Bridge

Stay Date: 26/04/19, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Newby Bridge Hotel & Leisure Centre in Newby Bridge wrote this review.

The hotel was clean and the staff very welcoming and friendly - especially to our two dogs. The breakfasts were delicious. The linen was very clean. We needed to stay in a ground floor room as our See More  Read more information elderly dog has arthritis and cannot climb stairs easily. We were allocated the bedroom for disabled clients. This was adequate but a very dark room as our only window looked onto a brick wall. Thefurniture was old fashioned. As the room was geared up for a disabled person, there was a walk-in shower. The room wasn't very modern and the bathroom facilities were very basic. No air conditioning.Bathroom window didn't close properly. The small grounds were limited but very attractive. Car parking was fairly limited. All in all, a very pleasant stay. Thank you.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowness  
Morecombe  
Lakeside Yellow Cruise on Lake Windermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lake District

Stay Date: 24/04/19, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beech Hill Hotel & Spa (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

The Beech Hill Hotel was lovely, food was good, spa brilliant. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
trip on boat  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The flying pig  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Bowness

Stay Date: 20/04/19, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* The Wild Boar Inn (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Windermere wrote this review.

Lovely hotel, food good, but too far away from centre. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
wild boar  
baha  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 640 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 11:23:27

Last rendered @ 18/07/2019 22:19:33

Last rendered @ 18/07/2019 22:19:33

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.