Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Winchester & Area

Winchester & Area Holiday Reviews

Winchester Cathedral, Winchester

Often described as ‘the perfect English city’, Winchester is an ideal destination for a relaxing getaway. Our hotels in Winchester provide the perfect base to explore this culturally rich medieval city and the beautiful countryside that surrounds it.

Based in the county of Hampshire, one hour south-west of London, Winchester was once the capital of England back in the Dark Ages. This historic city sits between South Downs and the New Forest, meaning our Winchester hotels provide visitors with the best qualities of a city break and a country retreat.

  • With a rich history, the incredibly impressive Winchester Cathedral is a must-visit; one of the biggest Gothic Cathedrals in Europe, the building is breath-taking inside and out
  • Winchester is also home to a number of other striking historic buildings including Wolvesey Castle – also known as the Old Bishop’s Palace – and Winchester Castle, home to King Arthur’s Round Table
  • Nearby Marwell Zoo is a great choice for those travelling with the kids – covering a staggering 140 acres, it’s a great place to roam for the day
  • The city is also popular with culture vultures and foodies alike; lively street theatre, impressive architecture and a buzzing contemporary arts scene attract a diverse array of visitors all year round.
Browse our range of Winchester hotels in the list below to find the perfect place to stay during your trip to this fabulous city.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 119

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Winchester And The Winchester Hotel

Stay Date: 19/07/10, a customer who stayed at 4* The Winchester Hotel and Spa in Winchester wrote this review.

We thoroughly enjoyed this short break in the historic city of Winchester and would recommend the Winchester hotel to anyone. It was clean, very comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. See More  Read more information It's also very well situated, close to the railway station and with only a short walk into the town centre. It's also on a bus route, though a rather infrequent service. This means that there areplenty of cafes and restaurants in easy reach. On the Saturday, knowing we would be tired after a trip to Jane Austen's house at Chawton, we booked at the hotel's own bistro and the meal was superlative.We liked Winchester a lot - the cathedral was lovely and there was a good variety of shops and places to eat. We'd go back and would unhesitatingly recommend it to friends.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Winchester Cathedral  
Chawton Cottage  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Winchester Cathedral Cafe  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend In Winchester

Stay Date: 26/02/10, a customer who stayed at 4* The Winchester Hotel and Spa in Winchester wrote this review.

My husband and I stayed at the Winchester hotel for 2 nights. The hotel was lovely, the staff helpful and friendly, the restaurant superb. The town itself a ten minute walk away, variety of shops See More  Read more information and historic attractions all within walking distance of each other. We would visit again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Great Hall  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Loch Fyne  
Chesil Rectory  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Winchester

Stay Date: 18/04/09, a customer from Hampshire who stayed at 3* Marwell Hotel in Winchester (Nr) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Queen's Head pub  
Fisher's Pond pub  
 
 

Short Break in Winchester

Stay Date: 14/04/09, a customer from Wakefield who stayed at 4* The Winchester Hotel and Spa in Winchester rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Winchester City  
Walk through water meadows  
Hampshire County Archives  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
El Sabio Tapas Bar  
The Old Vine  
Winchester Cathedral Refectory  
 
 

Easter in Winchester

Stay Date: 10/04/09, a customer from Didcot who stayed at 4* Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel in Winchester wrote this review.

We had an excellent room with a full view of the north side of the Cathedral which was floodlit in the evening - a truly outstanding location. Sadly, the rest of our experience did not match up to See More  Read more information the view. We have stayed at The Wessex at least six times in recent years but there are, sadly, so many changes (probably for cost cutting purposes) since the hotel became part of the Mercure chain egless than satisfactory buffet breakfast, no indication that other dishes could be cooked to order, horrible sliced bread, porridge like cement, no longer any tablecloths in the dining room, veryimpersonal service, charge for car parking, breathtakingly high bar prices. So disappointing. Despite its perfect location we shall not stay there again. However, Winchester is the most delightful city,with good shopping, a range of restaurants to suit every appetite and pocket and is full of historic interest whilst being a city very much of the Twenty-first Century. There is a huge choice of eatingplaces, good walks, an excellent farmers' market, wide range of interesting museums and wonderful music in the Cathedral. All one needs to make it perfect is a really good hotel!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Winchester Cathedral  
Gurkha Museum  
St Cross Almshouses  
Winchester Farmers' Market  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chesil Rectory, Winchester  
La Place, Winchester  
Loch Fyne, Winchester  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Quick Visit to Winchester

Stay Date: 08/03/09, a customer from Chelmsford who stayed at 4* The Winchester Hotel and Spa in Winchester wrote this review.

For those that like historic towns and cities, Winchester has a great deal to offer and worth more time for exploration than the time we had available. A week will be planned for later in the year. See More  Read more information Shops are the same as you would find in any large town so do not look for surprises here. First impressions of the Winchester Hotel were not great as it is sited on the edge of large public car park.Do not be misled. There is private parking and security seems good (on a Sunday). Being what seems to be a new hotel the room was extremely well appointed as would be expected. Breakfast was adequatealthough the cooked food looked a little tired under the buffet lights. Overall, I would say that a stay here is good value for money.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Great Hall  
Cathederal  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Express  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

A Weekend in Winchester

Stay Date: 28/02/09, a customer who stayed at 4* The Winchester Hotel and Spa in Winchester wrote this review.

We spent one night in Winchester. We stayed at The Winchester Hotel which was lovely and the room was very comfortable. We went to The Pitcher and Piano which was a nice relaxing bar to have a few See More  Read more information drinks in the afternoon. In the evening we went to Prezzo Restaurant whcih was nice food and very reasonable in price. We went to a cocktail place nearby (cannot recall the name but only a few doorsdown on the same side) which did discounted drinks when you presented a restaurant bill from a restaurant on the same street. Overall, a very nice stay in Winchester.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Prezzo  
The Pitcher and Piano  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Winchester

Stay Date: 30/01/09, a customer from St. Austell who stayed at 4* The Winchester Hotel and Spa in Winchester rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break In Winchester

Stay Date: 17/01/09, a customer from Northumberland who stayed at 4* Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel in Winchester rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Day and Night in Winchester

Stay Date: 29/11/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel in Winchester wrote this review.

The Wessex Hotel was very comfortable and the room was very well appointed. The only irritation was that one of the restaurant staff was extremely uncooperative. As hotel residents we assumed that See More  Read more information arriving at the hotel restaurant at 8-25pm on a Saturday evening and requesting a table wouldn't be a problem however the response of one member of staff gave the impression that we had asked for thehead of John the Baptist. We were told the resataurant was fully booked despite many empty tables being visibly free and only after an unecessary wait were we begrudgingly admitted to the restaurant.The food was poor and overpriced.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Winchester Cathedral  
High Street Shops  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Mercure Wessex Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 71 - 80 of 119 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 11:23:27

Last rendered @ 19/07/2019 23:58:28

Last rendered @ 19/07/2019 23:58:28

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.