Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Winchester & Area

Winchester & Area Holiday Reviews

Winchester Cathedral, Winchester

Often described as ‘the perfect English city’, Winchester is an ideal destination for a relaxing getaway. Our hotels in Winchester provide the perfect base to explore this culturally rich medieval city and the beautiful countryside that surrounds it.

Based in the county of Hampshire, one hour south-west of London, Winchester was once the capital of England back in the Dark Ages. This historic city sits between South Downs and the New Forest, meaning our Winchester hotels provide visitors with the best qualities of a city break and a country retreat.

  • With a rich history, the incredibly impressive Winchester Cathedral is a must-visit; one of the biggest Gothic Cathedrals in Europe, the building is breath-taking inside and out
  • Winchester is also home to a number of other striking historic buildings including Wolvesey Castle – also known as the Old Bishop’s Palace – and Winchester Castle, home to King Arthur’s Round Table
  • Nearby Marwell Zoo is a great choice for those travelling with the kids – covering a staggering 140 acres, it’s a great place to roam for the day
  • The city is also popular with culture vultures and foodies alike; lively street theatre, impressive architecture and a buzzing contemporary arts scene attract a diverse array of visitors all year round.
Browse our range of Winchester hotels in the list below to find the perfect place to stay during your trip to this fabulous city.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 119

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

One night stay

Stay Date: 05/06/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Marwell Hotel in Winchester (Nr) wrote this review.

A great one night stay on way to ferry port at Portsmouth, luxury room, great staff and a fantastic breakfast - very good value for money! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Marwell Zoo  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Nice break

Stay Date: 19/07/15, a customer aged 65+ from Luton who stayed at 3* Marwell Hotel in Winchester (Nr) wrote this review.

A welcome break at the Marwell Hotel with excellent, friendly and helpful staff. However spoilt a little by warmth in the room. Although a fan was provided nights were very hot making it very See More  Read more information difficult to sleep. Finding this location with sat nav was difficult as we were taken to a remote village about 5 miles away on arrival and after visiting Eastleigh we tried again with the same result.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Winchester Cathedral  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great weekend!!!

Stay Date: 17/10/15, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Marwell Hotel in Winchester (Nr) wrote this review.

We stayed one night at The Marwell Hotel as we were visiting Marwell Zoo which is right next door. The hotel was great. Staff were very friendly & helpful. Our triple room was very clean and tidy & See More  Read more information the beds were very comfortable. Our room also had Sky TV which pleased the husband! The pool opens at 8am so we went for a swim before breakfast. It's really clean and the water is lovely and warm.Breakfast had a huge selection. From cereals and fruits to sausages and bacon. The zoo was fantastic, a great day out!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Marwell Zoo  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Dog and Crook  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

4 day break for a couple with limited mobility

Stay Date: 29/03/16, a customer aged 65+ from Nottinghamshire who stayed at 4* The Winchester Hotel and Spa in Winchester wrote this review.

We thoroughly enjoyed our short break at the Winchester Hotel, it was perfect, from the easy parking system all the way through to a Glide through checkout. The staff were very friendly and helpful, See More  Read more information the room perfectly clean and modern, toiletries and tea tray topped up daily - you couldn't ask for more. We stayed in to eat as my husband has walking difficulties the meal in the dining room wassuperb a very good choice at one set price in all courses, we also chose to eat in the bar sometimes, there again excellent value for money. Breakfast was also very good, help yourself to as much as youwished. Fruit left out for guests around the public areas was a very nice touch. All in all I would recommend this hotel and definitely visit again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Salisbury Cathedral  
Watercress Steam Railway  
Winchester Cathedral  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely night in Winchester

Stay Date: 19/10/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* The Winchester Hotel and Spa in Winchester wrote this review.

Hotel and staff were excellent. Locally clean well equipped room. Spa area clean and pleasant although pool small. Added extra of swim resist machine a bonus. Would stay again. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Winchester Town  
Winchester cathedral  
Pizza ecpress  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Express  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good day in Winchester

Stay Date: 18/11/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn Winchester (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Winchester wrote this review.

Excellent day in town, easy to get there from hotel as just outside on the main road is a bus stop. The hotel and staff were excellent, would recommend this to anyone. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Winchester Christmas Market  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ghandi winchester  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic Christmas market stopover

Stay Date: 25/11/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* The Winchester Royal (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Winchester wrote this review.

Warm, comfortable, welcoming hotel. Very convenient for the beautiful city of Winchester, the station and the Christmas market. We will be back! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Christmas Market  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zizzi  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in Winchester for Christmas market

Stay Date: 25/11/16, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn Winchester (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Winchester wrote this review.

Holiday Inn was excellent. Comfy bed, lovely breakfast and all staff really friendly and helpful. Only tiny downside was that bedroom windows don't open at all which can make air in room a bit See More  Read more information stuffy and affected my sleep a little. Winchester is a lovely place. Christmas market is a bit squashed in behind the cathedral. I recommend going in the morning as there were long queues by theafternoon and it is difficult to actually look at stalls properly when it's busy. Had a lovely weekend mooching about with friends.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Christmas Market  
Town Centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Express  
Holiday Inn Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Repeat Visit

Stay Date: 02/01/17, a customer aged 65+ from West Linton who stayed at 4* The Winchester Hotel and Spa in Winchester wrote this review.

This was the fourth time we have stayed at this excellent hotel and it never fails to meet expectations. Excellent staff, room and restaurant. The only recurring blemish is the loud music in the See More  Read more information bar/restaurant area but this is far outweighed by the quality of the experience elsewhere including the spa facilities.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend break in Winchester

Stay Date: 24/03/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn Winchester (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Winchester wrote this review.

Hotel easy to get to and loads of parking. Staff incredibly helpful and the table d'hote menu was very good with portion sizes so generous and food so delicious, we had no room for pudding! Beware See More  Read more information local taxi company £8 one way into Winchester which is expensive and even though we were stood outside the main door of the cathedral to be picked up (which is where we were dropped off) the driverdidn't come all the way up the drive to pick us up...had to walk 100 yards with my 85 yr old mother in a freezing gale. Would have taken the car to the cathedral for the concert but everyone we askedabout parking close by said there was none....not true there is a disabled car park at the rear of the cathedral but we only found out by word of mouth the next morning.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Winchester Cathedral  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 119 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 10:44:10

Last rendered @ 18/07/2019 13:56:42

Last rendered @ 18/07/2019 13:56:42

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.