Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Whitby & Area

Whitby & Area Holiday Reviews

Located on the coast of north east England, Whitby is a popular resort with a great range of Whitby hotels perfect for a short break. With miles of sandy beaches, exciting attractions and a traditional seaside charm, Whitby attracts holidaymakers year after year with our hotels in Whitby making an ideal base for exploring this coastal town.

Rich in literary history, Whitby is perhaps most famous for its association with Bram Stoker’s Dracula, and was the setting for the vampire’s arrival on English shores. Featured in the famously haunting tale and easily accessed from our hotels in Whitby are the striking ruins of Whitby Abbey, which tower above the town below.

  • As Whitby’s oldest and most recognisable landmark, Whitby Abbey is incredibly popular with visitors and a must-visit for its magnificent views of the surrounding area
  • Whitby and is lined with traditional cobbled streets, and boutiques selling locally mined Jet and the iconic whalebone arch which commemorates Whitby's historic link with the whaling industry
  • Nearby Robin Hood’s Bay – five miles south of Whitby – is a great day out – the quaint fishing village is home to a family-friendly sandy beach and is a great starting point for stunning coastal walks
  • With some of the very best Fish and Chip shops in the country, no trip to Whitby is complete without tucking in to this seaside classic!
Whatever you discover, we’ve got a great range of Whitby hotels to choose from that provide a comfortable retreat after a day spent exploring this beautiful seaside town. Check out our fab hotels in Whitby in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 90

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Goathland

Stay Date: 11/05/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Mallyan Spout Hotel in Goathland rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Heartbeat Country  
Captain Cook's Cottage, Whitby  
 
 

Great Day Out in Whitby

Stay Date: 12/04/07, a customer from Chelmsford who stayed at 3* Mallyan Spout Hotel in Goathland wrote this review.

we hopped on board one of the 'official tour buses' on a very cold and foggy morning in whitby. it took us to the old whitby abbey which was shrouded in fog which gave it a very spooky setting. just See More  Read more information down from the abbey is st mary's church which dates back to the 15th century, and this was bought by a local land owner to ensure that all god's children are equal, apart from his family who built awalkway around the church above so that they could look down on the local people. you either love or hate what he has done to the church, personally i hate it, as i feel the church has lost it's oldcharm. walking down the many steps to get to the bottom of 'old whitby', there are numerous jewellery shops selling whitby's famous 'jet stones'. this stone comes in a variety of colours, but mainlyblack, and is famous around the world. another famous link for whitby, is that it was the uk centre for whaling for over 100 years. this is commemorated by two giant whale bones on the top of theheath looking out across the harbour.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Whitby  
Sutton Bank  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Trenchers Restaurant in Whitby  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Days Out

Stay Date: 18/04/07, a customer from Ormiston who stayed at 3* Mallyan Spout Hotel in Goathland wrote this review.

Our trip to Scarborough was very good. We used the park and ride,which we thought was an excellent service. Our trip to Whitby was also very good, but the service and the food which we had in the See More  Read more information restaurant Trenches was excellent.Worth the trip.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Scarborough  
Whitby  
Goathland  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Trenches in Whitby  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Relaxing Stay in 'Heartbeat' Village.

Stay Date: 11/04/07, a customer from Morpeth who stayed at 3* Mallyan Spout Hotel in Goathland wrote this review.

Hotel was fantastic. Very clean, comfortable and welcoming. The room felt more like being in a nice country cottage rather than a hotel room. We ate in the bar where the staff were very friendly and See More  Read more information the food was good. 'Heartbeat' Village, i.e. Goathland, is in a beautiful area on the North Yorkshire Moors. The village itself is very pretty and had a quite relaxed feeling about it. We went for astroll in the evening to the Aidensfield Arms, alias the Goathland Hotel, where we enjoyed a cool pint while sitting outside and taking in the scenery. I would imagine the village can get quite busyon a weekend. We visited midweek which was surprisingly quiet. If you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the church bells accross the road chime ever quater hour rightthrough the night although we didn't find this a problem. Altogether a great stay. We will certainly return.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Runswick Bay  
Staithes  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Mallyon Spout Hotel - Goathland

Stay Date: 09/04/07, a customer from Lancashire who stayed at 3* Mallyan Spout Hotel in Goathland wrote this review.

We booked the Hotel Mallyon Spout after seeing it on the internet and were delighted when we arrived to find out it was actually the same village as in Heartbeat. We went into the 'Aidensfield Arms' See More  Read more information for a drink and had a look around the shops. Had a great meal in the restaurant before going into to Whitby for a short time. The room was spotless clean and very very comfortable with all thelittle niceties you come to expect (shower gel and cap etc) A short walk after a good English breakfast down to the Mallyon Spout - slighter longer coming back uphill! before heading for home. A greatweekend shortly to be repeated.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Whitby  
Mallyan Spout  
Steam Railway  
Aidensfield (Goathland) Village, North Yorks  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Yorkshire

Stay Date: 25/02/07, a customer from Surrey who stayed at 3* Mallyan Spout Hotel in Goathland wrote this review.

I have always loved Yorkshire but had never been to the coast so we decided to have a restful few days in the beautiful part of the country. We visited York on the only wet day and had an See More  Read more information interesting tour of the Minster by a knowledgable guide as well as walking around the city. We followed some trails across the Moors on our last full day, which was fun and the scenary amazing.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Scarborough  
York  
Robin Hood Bay  
Yorkshire Moors  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great day out in Goathland

Stay Date: 09/02/07, a customer from Staffs who stayed at 3* Mallyan Spout Hotel in Goathland wrote this review.

The Mallyon Spout Hotel is one of the best I have stayed in, the food, the log fires, the welcome...5 star treatment in a 2 star hotel, needs to be regraded, its got to be a 4 star. The village is See More  Read more information so welcoming in Goathland, people are friendly, must visit the owner at the garage in Goathland he can tell a few stories! Pleasant ride to Whitby, enjoyed local fish and chips. Tourist centre veryhelpful   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Whitby  
Goathland  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Whitby  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Heartbeat Country

Stay Date: 20/01/07, a customer from Leeds who stayed at 3* Mallyan Spout Hotel in Goathland wrote this review.

The village of Goathland is the fictional village of Aidensfield from the Heartbeat series. Visiting the village makes you feel like you are walking onto the film set. The pub, garage, sugery, See More  Read more information school and shops are as depicted in the series and gives you a real feel of stepping back in time to the 1960's. Even the local railway station has a feel of the past about it, it also featured in theHarry Potter films. As for the people who live in the village, they remain friendly and appoachable despite, I imagine, being plagued by the repetition of tourists questions.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Goathland - home of "Heartbeat"  
Whitby and Robin Hoods Bay  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Yorkshire

Stay Date: 29/09/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Mallyan Spout Hotel in Goathland rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
North Yorkshire Moors Railway  
Whitby  
Dalby Forest  
 
 

Short Break in Goathland

Stay Date: 05/09/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Mallyan Spout Hotel in Goathland rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grosmont  
Pickering  
Goathland  
 
 
 

Showing 81 - 90 of 90 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 12:13:55

Last rendered @ 19/06/2019 06:31:34

Last rendered @ 19/06/2019 06:31:34

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.