Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Torquay & Area

Torquay & Area Holiday Reviews

Torquay Harbour

Located on the stunning English Riviera, Torquay has plenty to offer including exhilarating water sports, breath-taking scenery, 22 miles of golden beaches and plenty of Torquay hotels to choose from. A short distance from many of the hotels in Torquay you will find plenty to see and do.

  • Visit Splashdown at Quay West Water Park for an action packed family day out or head to Torquay’s Coastal Zoo; Living Coasts. Babbacombe Model Village, Kents Cavern and Paignton Zoo are also worth a visit.
  • Plus our hotels in Torquay also provide an ideal base from which to explore the Dartmoor National Park, which offers 450 miles of open countryside, a must for all outdoor enthusiasts!
  • Much of the activity in Torquay centres round the new waterfront, where you will find a tree lined promenade and lively harbour.
  • There is also a wide variety of pavement cafes, restaurants, pubs and nightlife close to our hotels in Torquay, plus some great shopping opportunities.
After you have spent the day seeing the sights, having fun on the beach, or taking a scenic walk along the coastal path, head back to one of our great Torquay hotels and take a well-earned rest. We have a great range of Torquay hotels with something to suit every budget and taste, with many offering some great food and leisure facilities for you to enjoy.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 156

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Grosvenor Hotel

Stay Date: 29/08/08, a customer who stayed at 3* Abbey Sands Hotel Formerly John Burton-Race in Torquay wrote this review.

Very dated, dirty, scruffy hotel. Needs investment & refurbishment. Outdoor patio could be lovely bu in need of TLC. Indoor pool very dirty & changing rooms filthy. Only plus is the good location of See More  Read more information hotel to seafront.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Restaurant @ Mulberry House  
Biancos  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Last Visit to the Sea This Year

Stay Date: 13/11/08, a customer from Bristol who stayed at 3* Abbey Sands Hotel Formerly John Burton-Race in Torquay wrote this review.

My daughter and I thought that we'd have one last visit to the sea before the winter set in. As we all know, we were rather cheated by the dreadful summer this year! We booked a stay with See More  Read more information superbreak, at The Grosvenor-Torquay. We were very pleased when we arrived (in foul weather conditions) to find such a welcoming hotel, the staff on duty during our stay were very friendly and accomodating. Wewere also very pleased with our room which was much larger than we had expected, and very good value for money. I wouldn't hesitate to book with Superbreak again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Shopping Area  
The Prom  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Brewers Fayre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Torquay

Stay Date: 14/11/08, a customer from Lostwithiel who stayed at 3* Abbey Sands Hotel Formerly John Burton-Race in Torquay rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grosvenor Hotel Restaurant  
 
 

Best Way To See The Eden Project.

Stay Date: 16/03/09, a customer who stayed at 3* Abbey Sands Hotel Formerly John Burton-Race in Torquay wrote this review.

We had a very pleasent surprise when we got to the eden project it was excelent value and very interesting , especialy for children but it was for adults too.our journey from torquay hotel to the See More  Read more information eden project was very good and we had a good time there and back.the Grovsnor Hotel in Torquay was excelent for accommodationand we had a small suite it was rather nice quite unexpected thanks tosuperbreak.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Eden Project  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beefeater  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Stay at Torquay

Stay Date: 14/03/09, a customer from Par who stayed at 3* Abbey Sands Hotel Formerly John Burton-Race in Torquay wrote this review.

I would like to say how much I enjoyed my brief stay at this hotel. The Staff were very friendly and helpful. The Hotel Restuarant was good. £19.99 for a three course meal + coffee. Great sea view See More  Read more information from the room. Nice and quiet. Only wish we could have stayed longer. Will definately use this hotel again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Newton Abbot

Stay Date: 11/04/09, a customer from Southampton who stayed at 3* Best Western Passage House Hotel in Newton Abbot wrote this review.

The Passage House Hotel is a hotel with potential. We found it suberbly situated to enjoy Dartmoor and the coast especially Teignmouth. The hotel itself has lovely facilities, including pool, sauna See More  Read more information & steam room. The more experienced staff were very welcoming & helpful, but too many were inexperienced & unable to provide adequate service. The restaurant was disappointing; food poorly cooked &bland sauces. The Inn next door we found to be far better value for money, although the food was still not of a high quality.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Evita In Torquay

Stay Date: 11/12/09, a customer from Seaton who stayed at 3* Abbey Sands Hotel Formerly John Burton-Race in Torquay wrote this review.

Hotel was good. Room was huge with four poster bed. Went to theatre to see Evita which was very good and had excellent meal before the show at the Pierpoint restaurant which I would recommend. Over See More  Read more information all a very enjoyable night.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Theatre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pierpoint Restaurant, Torquay  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Bank Hoiday In Torquay

Stay Date: 30/08/09, a customer who stayed at 3* Abbey Sands Hotel Formerly John Burton-Race in Torquay wrote this review.

We stayed overnight in Torquay for the bank holiday. Stayed at the Grosvenor Hotel (about 4 times now) very pleasant, dated furniture but a nice friendly hotel. Breakfast was excellent, help See More  Read more information yourself and plenty of it. Very close to the sea front.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Summer Visit.

Stay Date: 09/08/09, a customer who stayed at 3* Abbey Sands Hotel Formerly John Burton-Race in Torquay wrote this review.

Our visit was with 2 children 10 & 5 an elderly lady age 86 with limited walking skills and a blind girl in a wheel chair. The hotel is situated very close to the sea front and minutes from the See More  Read more information park. Good location if you wish to walk. If you have a wheel chair user please use another hotel, whilst chair lifts are installed their are no lifts and therefore you have to carry everything. For thechildren it is a good hotel with a good indoor and excellent outdoor heated pool. Breakfast was good and plentiful however the restaurant needs to up its anti. It has the presence to be good and startedwell with silver served rolls.... However serving "supermarket bap rolls" is not appropriate. Al Dente food that is not cooked is not the way forward. It has plenty of potential and its pub food isgood, specially its "lite bites" in the lounge. Overall good for a family on b & b but not for the infirm and specially not wheel chair users. Thank you.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Living Coasts  
Model Village Babbacombe  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Grosvenor Hotel

Stay Date: 30/01/10, a customer who stayed at 3* Abbey Sands Hotel Formerly John Burton-Race in Torquay wrote this review.

It looked quite old fashioned and over burdened with flowers. Our room was enormous and comfortable and the modern bathroom was a joy, if a little cold. Very good value. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 111 - 120 of 156 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open Open 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001995 @ 15/11/2018 15:25:46

Last rendered @ 17/11/2018 11:37:57

Last rendered @ 17/11/2018 11:37:57

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.