Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Torquay & Area

Torquay & Area Holiday Reviews

Torquay Harbour

Located on the stunning English Riviera, Torquay has plenty to offer including exhilarating water sports, breath-taking scenery, 22 miles of golden beaches and plenty of Torquay hotels to choose from. A short distance from many of the hotels in Torquay you will find plenty to see and do.

  • Visit Splashdown at Quay West Water Park for an action packed family day out or head to Torquay’s Coastal Zoo; Living Coasts. Babbacombe Model Village, Kents Cavern and Paignton Zoo are also worth a visit.
  • Plus our hotels in Torquay also provide an ideal base from which to explore the Dartmoor National Park, which offers 450 miles of open countryside, a must for all outdoor enthusiasts!
  • Much of the activity in Torquay centres round the new waterfront, where you will find a tree lined promenade and lively harbour.
  • There is also a wide variety of pavement cafes, restaurants, pubs and nightlife close to our hotels in Torquay, plus some great shopping opportunities.
After you have spent the day seeing the sights, having fun on the beach, or taking a scenic walk along the coastal path, head back to one of our great Torquay hotels and take a well-earned rest. We have a great range of Torquay hotels with something to suit every budget and taste, with many offering some great food and leisure facilities for you to enjoy.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 156

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Torquay

Stay Date: 30/05/06, a customer from Nuneaton who stayed at 4* Grand Hotel in Torquay rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kents Cavern  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wilsons, Babbacombe  
 
 

Short Break in Torquay

Stay Date: 16/06/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Abbey Sands Hotel Formerly John Burton-Race in Torquay wrote this review.

Simius food good but tried to overcharge for the drinks by putting 1 ltre of wine which we did not have on the bill. A mistake yes but had to argue to get it corrected. Mimas waiters were friendly See More  Read more information and food okay but asked for a tip at the end which I do not like. Bianco's was excellent in every way.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cockington Village  
Torquay  
Paignton  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bianco's  
Mimas  
Simius  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Torquay

Stay Date: 01/09/06, a customer who stayed at 4* The Imperial Torquay in Torquay rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
North Devon Area  
 
 

My Weekend in Torquay

Stay Date: 24/11/06, a customer who stayed at 4* The Imperial Torquay in Torquay wrote this review.

The Paramount Imperial Hotel is a good hotel with good rooms and fantastic sea views from balconies, although a little tired around the edges. As it is on the top a steep hill I would not recommend See More  Read more information it for persons with walking difficulties. Breakfast was dissapointing it was standard and very basic for vegetarians. Some items on the menu were charged additionally for e.g. Smoked Salmon and CreamCheese Bagel and Smoked Haddock etc. I have stayed in the Derwent Hotel and the breakfast there was far superior to the Imperial. Food was in abundance and anything you wanted was at no extracost. Nice setting and surroundings,being around the harbour area you are just out of the town. Town is good for shopping,although a steep climb again not suitable for persons with walkingdifficulties. Plenty of bars and restaurants, didnt do any sightseeing as it was only for a weekend and weather was very wet. We all liked Torquay and enjoyed our weekend away and would definately go again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Torquay

Stay Date: 06/12/06, a customer who stayed at 4* Grand Hotel in Torquay rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Valentines Weekend in Torquay

Stay Date: 15/02/07, a customer from Helston who stayed at 3* Abbey Sands Hotel Formerly John Burton-Race in Torquay wrote this review.

We originally went to the Rainbow International Hotel - we were not impressewd with this hotel so Superbreak kindly arranged for us to move to the Grosvenor Hotel which was excellent. The Grosvenor See More  Read more information Hotel has excellent staff who are all very helpful. The rooms are clean and tidy, and the facilities such as the pool and gym are excellent. We enjoyed the food from the restaurant and the eveningsentertainment. We would reccommend this hotel. We also visited Appleby's Bar and we found the food their excellent value for money. Paignton Zoo is also a great day out for those young or old.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Paignton Zoo  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grosvenor Hotel Restaurant  
Applebys Bar & Resturant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Torquay

Stay Date: 09/02/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Abbey Sands Hotel Formerly John Burton-Race in Torquay rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Peace and Quiet in Torquay

Stay Date: 08/02/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Abbey Sands Hotel Formerly John Burton-Race in Torquay wrote this review.

Great for a destressing weekend of not doing very much other than walks and reading eating and drinking! Even though it rained. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Brixham  
Kent Caves  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Express  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Torquay

Stay Date: 30/03/07, a customer from Bilston who stayed at 4* Grand Hotel in Torquay wrote this review.

I spent five days in Torquay from 30th March to 3rd April 2007. I stayed at the 4* Grand Hotel as I wanted to treat myself to a little luxury. Not so! My single room was small. The bathroom - See More  Read more information couldn't swing a cat round in it! Both rooms were cold. Although there was a radiator in the room, even on maximum heat, the room was not warm due to the galeforce draughts coming through the window. Therewas no radiator in the bathroom - so that was absolutely freezing. The furniture in the room was both shabby and dusty. I'm asthmatic - so that didn't help! The window in the bathroom was plain glasslooking straight out onto the stree! One of the curtains was hanging from the rail in the bathroom - this was fixed about two hours after my arrival. I had to wait almost half an hour before myluggage was brought up to my room - it had been in store due to the fact I had arrived too early to check in. I did have a complimentary coffee and biscuits in the bar on my arrival. The majority of thestaff were pleasant enough but not particularly attentive. Each morning at breakfast I had to ask for coffee and toast - other guests were asked as soon as they were seated. In the bar the procedure wasto be seated and a member of staff would come to you. Each time I went in the bar I had to wait ages, even when that bar was not particularly busy. One particular day I got so fed up of waiting formy order to be taken I walked out. Yet again, other guests were attended to immediately they were seated. The leisure club was a great disappointment. Unsupervised. Both times I used the pool therewere incidents of 'stupid' behaviour from other guests which had the potential to be dangerous. No specific times when children not allowed to use the facilities. Changing rooms cramped and notparticularly clean. No access to pool for anyone like myself with slight mobility problems. Steps into pool were not secure. Rail on side of steps to jaccuzzi was extremely loose. On the positive side . .. Torquay and the surrounding areas has a lot to offer and there's plenty to do. I would certainly go back to Torquay but not to the Grand.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Buckfast Abbey  
Cockington Village  
Torquay Museum  
Bygones Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ella's Restaurant Torquay  
The Drum Inn Cockington  
Buckfast Abbey Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Hells Kitchen in Torquay

Stay Date: 06/04/07, a customer from Buckinghamshire who stayed at 3* Abbey Sands Hotel Formerly John Burton-Race in Torquay wrote this review.

the hotel is a lovely building with large rooms that would suit a family,the facilities are good for a hotel of this size, ie two pools gym two bars and a sun terrace over looking well kept See More  Read more information gardens. however do not eat the food at the hotel and beware the children stay free as there is a surcharge of £12.50 per child per day and the menu is very limited with no light or healthy options such asfruit or grilled chicken or fish and to be honest the choice for the adults is not much better, all in all a dissapointment one which the hotel needs to address if it wishes to keep a regularclientel. the hotel is situated close to the beach and a pleasent 10-15 minute walk into town (on holiday no need to rush) there was french market over easter selling a wide range of produce which was freshand and gave a nice continetal feel to things,i would definatly return to torquay but i would only stay at the Grosvener if there was a massive improvement in the food.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Paignton Zoo  
Torquay Beach  
Continental Market  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Paignton Zoo Cafe  
marlows Coffee Bar  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 101 - 110 of 156 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:27

Last rendered @ 24/05/2019 04:33:43

Last rendered @ 24/05/2019 04:33:43

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.