Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Swindon & Area

Swindon & Area Holiday Reviews

River Kennett, Marlborough

Located in south west England, this vibrant and modern town has a great selection of Swindon hotels for you to enjoy at a range of prices. Swindon is a popular destination for shoppers as it offers a great choice of hotels in Swindon close to the Brunel and Parade shopping centres.

  • Swindon is also home to the fabulous Designer Outlet Mall which has around 100 shops to choose from. As the biggest covered designer outlet location in Europe this really is a shopper’s dream destination and is easily accessible from many of our Swindon hotels.
  • For rail enthusiasts there is the not-to-be-missed Museum of the Great Western Railway, which houses many historic engines and tells the story of Swindon’s long-standing railway heritage.
  • Visitors to this popular town can also enjoy the local countryside during their stay in one of our Swindon hotels, by exploring the Roves Farm Visitor Centre or taking a stroll through Lydiard Country Park.
Whatever you choose to do during your stay at one our hotels in Swindon, you’re sure to enjoy this south west town.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 85

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Disappointed

Stay Date: 23/03/18, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Alexandra House (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Swindon wrote this review.

We have used this hotel for many years but now believe standards have slipped greatly. Large amounts of cutlery and crockery left outside our room for 2 days (not ours I may add). Our room was not See More  Read more information cleaned on the second day and the door had been left open by a member of staff , when we returned from a days shopping! On the first night my husband asked for the drinks to be returned, as they wereboth flat (the waitress agreed). I passed on my comments to the duty manager, who refunded our room weekend stay. Such a shame, as we have had good experiences in the past.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Poor food at Alexandra Park Hotel

Stay Date: 19/10/17, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Alexandra House (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Swindon wrote this review.

The dinner at Alexandra Park was dreadful and, for the first time ever, we ate out on the second night of our stay. Only the dessert was edible and it had been plainly bought in (as opposed to being See More  Read more information home made).   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Marlboroiugh  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Fratelliis  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Wroughton break

Stay Date: 15/10/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Totnes who stayed at 4* Alexandra House (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Swindon wrote this review.

Great hotel, food ok. Downside was there was only 3 channels on the TV. Breakfast was under lights, no service. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Poorly run and maintained hotel

Stay Date: 07/10/17, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Alexandra House (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Swindon wrote this review.

The hotel's facilities were good - lovely indoor pool, Jacuzzi, steam room etc. Nice bedrooms, but shower was dangerous - they had a problem with thermostats and it was impossible to regulate See More  Read more information temperature - it went from boiling to cold without touching it. This was the same throughout the hotel. The restaurant was a disaster. We had one evening meal, but once our food order was taken, it was anhour before we even got our starters and the main courses were a long time coming after that. We enquired after our food numerous times, and eventually it was admitted that our order had been "lost".When the food eventually arrived, the burgers were overcooked and the food dry. We were compensated with free drinks and the staff were very apologetic, but three hours to have a 2 course meal isridiculous. The next morning's breakfast was equally disastrous, with food not being replaced. With an hour left for serving, most of the hot food serving bowls were empty and at no time did we see thembeing replenished. On the second morning, I requested poached eggs. They arrived 15 minutes later, after I had finished the rest of my breakfast, and when opening up one of the eggs, the egg wasvirtually raw, with the egg white being still liquid. When we complained, the chef said this is how he always cooks his eggs. I do not believe an almost raw egg is acceptable.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bourton-on-the-Water  
Marlborough Merchants House  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Nepalese in Swindon  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Service and Food Awful

Stay Date: 22/09/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Huntingdon who stayed at 4* Alexandra House (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Swindon wrote this review.

Hotel was ok. The restaurant for dinner and breakfast were very poor. My dinner was dropped into my husband's lap by the waiter! My husband scooped it all back onto the plate and the waiter then See More  Read more information proceeded to place it in front of me! I told him to take it away but when he came back the same food has just been rearranged on the plate. My husband had the steak which had a £7.50 supplement. Hecouldn't eat it as the steak was so tough. He complained and we were charged the £7.50 anyway. Breakfast was also very poor and the service was terrible.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Swindon outlet

Stay Date: 04/09/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Alexandra House in Swindon wrote this review.

I visited the outlet to start my Christmas shopping, we travelled there 2 days in a row, there have plenty of shops in a historical setting, we will visit again as enjoyed the outlet. We stayed at See More  Read more information Alexandra Hotel which was 7 miles from outlet the original post had said 3 miles, this didn't matter it was easily located, set in a peaceful setting, very quiet and tranquil. Nice spa facilities,clean and tidy. My only disappointment was evening meal, the food was limited choice and expensive for what you received. Breakfast however was full of choice and nice. There was tea/ coffee available forfree, nicely decorated lounge and well equipped bedrooms.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shopping Outlet  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Subway  
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fabulous relaxing weekend in Swindon

Stay Date: 11/08/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Alexandra House in Swindon wrote this review.

Lovely hotel in beautiful location. Delicious food, and warm hospitable and courteous staff. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
McArthur Glen Shopping Outlet  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Moan caribbean restaurant  
Kenzo  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Very good stay at Alexander hotel as always

Stay Date: 20/01/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Alexandra House (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Swindon wrote this review.

Hotel stay very relaxing as always, very friendly staff, well kept hotel for decor and extremely comfortable beds also. We also used the swimming pool, sauna and steam room, which was very relaxing See More  Read more information also.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing short break near Swindon

Stay Date: 02/12/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Alexandra House (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Swindon wrote this review.

We have stayed at this hotel many times and enjoy location and service. The bar and restaurant are very good though because there were parties on the evening we stayed the hotel was quite noisy See More  Read more information until early hours of the morning. We did see used food trays left out in hotel corridors for extended periods of time. We did enjoy the spa, using the swimming pool and sauna both nights of the stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ridgeway path  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Visit to Swindon

Stay Date: 25/11/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Alexandra House (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Swindon wrote this review.

The hotel was in a great location, in spacious grounds. The leisure facilities were very good, the swimming pool was lovely with interesting posters! Easy reach of Swindon! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 85 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 11:30:23

Last rendered @ 18/06/2019 15:56:12

Last rendered @ 18/06/2019 15:56:12

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.