Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Stratford-upon-Avon & Area

Stratford-upon-Avon & Area Holiday Reviews

William Shakespeare's House, Stratford-upon-Avon

We offer a great range of hotels in Stratford upon Avon, a town rich in history and culture and the birthplace of William Shakespeare. Experience the life and works of Shakespeare at The Waterside, take a leisurely cruise along the River Avon or visit the cosy pubs and inns dotted around the town. Warwick Castle, the Cotswolds and Blenheim Castle are also close by. Make your visit action packed by combining one of our hotels in Stratford upon Avon with return rail or tickets to top attractions, including RSC theatre tickets.

Some of the main attractions around Stratford Upon Avon include:

  • Shakespeare's Birthplace - It would be a crime to visit Stratford Upon Avon and miss out on visiting Shakespeare's Birthplace. Visit the house where the bard was born and raised on Henley Street in Stratford Upon Avon.
  • RSC - The Royal Shakespeare Company are based in Stratford and a visit there should always involve taking in a play. Once you are set up in your hotel, pop down to an evening performance and watch some of the stars of the Royal Shakespeare Company perform the Bards greatest works.
  • Warwick Castle and Blenheim Palace - If you are willing to get out of Stratford, then why not spend some time at some of the historic sites based in the surrounding castle. The majestic Blenheim Palace is a must for anyone interested in opulence and grandeur, whilst Warwick Castle gives you the opportunity to be King for the day, all within a short drive of your Stratford Hotel
We offer Stratford upon Avon hotels in a variety of locations to suit your needs, many of which are located in the heart of this historic town. Stratford upon Avon hotels range from 2*-4* and are popular with couples and families throughout the year. With budget and luxury hotels in Stratford upon Avon to choose from, as well an abundance of attractions, historic streets with beautiful black and white half-timbered buildings, and a thriving cultural scene; this picturesque town perfectly blends traditional charm with modern comforts. Head to the theatre and see Shakespeare's work brought to life. For more information why not check out our Stratford City Guide.

We offer packages combining Stratford upon Avon hotels with tickets to one of The Royal Shakespeare Company's performances. With all this and more this beautiful market town really does have something for everyone.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 850

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Ettington Chase had its day

Stay Date: 26/08/15, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

The staff were brilliant, the food was spot on but hotel was not so good - it needs a lot of work to bring rooms up to the mark. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stratford Races  
Shakespear Tour  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ettington Chase Experience

Stay Date: 30/08/15, a customer aged 45-64 from London who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

Hotel is 7 miles from Stratford and 15 miles from Banbury, which makes it a long way to get to any shops, restaurants etc. The hotel staff were friendly and when asked for help it was given. The See More  Read more information bar and restaurant menu was limited, but there was a children's menu which was good. The room was dusty and while not unclean lots of the room had been missed when cleaning and judging by the dusthad been so for some time. The hotel said it had a children's area but this was limited and on the 1st September what they had was packed away. The pool had no bars around the edge making it trickyfor young children to have anywhere to hold on to in the pool and there was no shallow area at all for them. The pool for adults was nice, although changing rooms were on the cold side. I do not thinkI would return to Ettington Chase but it was fine for a short break. We had a superior room which was of a good size as we had to have a fold up bed for a child.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stratford Upon Avon  
Warwick Castle  
Ragley Hall  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Worn out in Stratford

Stay Date: 11/09/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

There is so much to see and do in the Stratford area we were worn out after two days. The hotel is in a lovely location and the food and staff service were excellent, enjoyed the swimming and See More  Read more information Jacuzzi. On the minus side for a 4 star hotel the place needs redecorating and refurbishment, the bed was like sleeping on a rock!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Warwick Castle  
Stafford on Avon  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ettington Chase Hotel

Stay Date: 26/09/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

The hotel was good but very busy with conferences on Thursday and Friday and a wedding on Saturday. The bar area was very busy. The restaurant was good in the evening but very busy in the mornings. See More  Read more information The bedroom were well laid out and comfortable but sound travelled. You could hear conversations, snoring and people using the toilets. Overall impression was a nice hotel, more a conference centrethough. The hotel is starting to look a little tired. Leisure facilities good especially the pool.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Upton House  
Heritage Motor Centre  
Charlescote Park  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
the Chequers Inn, Ettington  
Ettington Chase Resturant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Service at the dining room

Stay Date: 25/09/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

The food was good when we finally got it, the service was really slow and we had to ask a member of staff 2 times in between courses. There was not enough staff to cope with the amount of customers See More  Read more information in the restaurant.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Trust House  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Avoid

Stay Date: 30/10/15, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

Booked a 2 night stay with dinner on first night. We were served stale bread to nibble on whilst waiting for the starters. Menu uninspiring, good starters but my wife's main course was not what was See More  Read more information described on the menu. We were offered a glass of wine as an apology. Being charged £22.50 for a bottle of wine that was available in local supermarket for £6.50 was annoying, but most hotels are likethat I suppose. There was a Murder Mystery weekend taking place, we will check before booking if we stay again to ensure that no such event is on. Excellent location for anyone not wanting to stay inStratford itself.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stratford Upon Avon  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hobsons Patisserie, Stratford  
Dirty Duck, Stratford  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing weekend. Great value.

Stay Date: 28/11/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Rickmansworth who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

Leisure facilities good. Food ok. Wine list rather small and quite expensive. Location very good. Generally excellent value as most SuperBreaks are. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stratford on Avon  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Vintner  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Visit to Stratford

Stay Date: 30/01/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

Decided to take my wife for a short break to Stratford. We arrived early and were pleasantly surprised that we could have our room early. The room was satisfactory although I found the bed is a See More  Read more information little too firm but that is a personal choice. We used the swimming pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. The pool and jacuzzi were fine however the sauna lacked any real heat which is pointless. That evening wehad dinner in the restaurant which was busy. The starters were good but the service was slow. We noticed other people waiting a long while for their drinks/food. We eventually had our main course - mywife had beef which was ordered medium rare and I had the haddock. The beef was over cooked by so much it made you wonder why they asked "how would you like your beef?''. The fish was OK althoughlacking in any quantity (I don't like huge meals but consider the portion size to be very small). We don't like to complain however when we were asked "how is your meal?" we rejected it. The restaurantmanager came over and was apologetic and helpful (thank you Matt). We waited a considerable time for the new main courses to arrive of which unbelievably the chicken pie was found to be lukewarm! Afurther complaint was given with the chicken pie being returned .The manager came over again and was again very apologetic even to offering another meal the next night to make up for it. By this time mywife was too on edge to order and wait for another main course so we had a dessert. The total time it took to have our meal was just under 3 hours! We rarely rush our meal but this was a long time.Other people were also there a similar amount of time. We could see meals being delivered which were not ordered - a vegetarian being given a meat burger on the next table (this particular girl ate hermeal on her own as everyone else had after such a long wait eaten theirs). We finished our meal thinking why have we agreed to coming here again tomorrow night?! We consoled ourselves that it couldn'tbe as bad the next night. The next day Sunday we had breakfast at the hotel which was ok/good. We then set off to Stratford-upon-Avon . We enjoyed our day there in spite of the weather. Promisingourselves we will come back in the summer. That evening we returned to the hotel restaurant for our dinner. The service was a little quicker. I had a poor starter which was a tartlet. After eatingsome of it I could not help thinking " I wonder if the chef that cooks this food actually tries it?" because if they did they would appreciate how unsatisfactory it really is. The rest of the meal was atbest ok. We had a plated traditional hot breakfast on the Monday morning which was excellent (thank you) Our break was for 2 nights with dinner on the first night and breakfasts on both days. I wishI had taken my wife to another hotel. In summary I think this hotel requires improvement, particularly the dining experience. The cleaning around the food station could be a lot better. There is abuild up of dust etc on the glass displays mirrors and ceramic vases. On a positive note the staff are very pleasant and the hotel could be good with some changes.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Nice location, mixed hotel thoughts

Stay Date: 26/02/16, a customer aged 45-64 from North Yorkshire who stayed at 4* Billesley Manor Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Room very basic, view onto roofs. Dinner - starter good, but main course ridiculously small. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Baddesley Clinton  
packwood hhall  
charlecot manor  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in Shakespeare town

Stay Date: 25/03/16, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

We stayed in Ettington Chase which from the outset and on the website looked like a nice old hotel, much in keeping with its surrounding area. When we arrived we were a little disappointed to learn See More  Read more information the actual size of it. The only rooms based in the old house are suites or executive rooms, all other rooms are based in a modern brick built building to the side, much like a Premier Inn style hotel.The staff were very polite and when our meal on the first night took a very long time to be served we were given free complimentary drinks which was nice. The rooms were fine, a little plain butadequate. The bed was extremely soft, and had probably seen better days! My main criticism was that on the Saturday night a wedding was taking place at the hotel, in order to exit the hotel for us togo out for dinner we had to walk right through where the bride and her wedding party were having drinks! It made me feel like I was imposing and quite uncomfortable, I'm sure she wasn't too pleasedeither! We didn't use the facilities so aren't able to comment on those. All in all a fine hotel but if you're hoping for something tucked away in a quiet corner for a relaxing break this isn't it. Iwould say this is more for people who have functions on at the hotel, or who are staying a night and travelling onwards. Not a hotel for a quiet weekend away.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tudor Museum  
shakespeare's birth place  
Croft hall  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Marco Pierre White  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 751 - 760 of 850 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 11:30:19

Last rendered @ 16/07/2019 21:25:47

Last rendered @ 16/07/2019 21:25:47

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.