Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Stratford-upon-Avon & Area

Stratford-upon-Avon & Area Holiday Reviews

William Shakespeare's House, Stratford-upon-Avon

We offer a great range of hotels in Stratford upon Avon, a town rich in history and culture and the birthplace of William Shakespeare. Experience the life and works of Shakespeare at The Waterside, take a leisurely cruise along the River Avon or visit the cosy pubs and inns dotted around the town. Warwick Castle, the Cotswolds and Blenheim Castle are also close by. Make your visit action packed by combining one of our hotels in Stratford upon Avon with return rail or tickets to top attractions, including RSC theatre tickets.

Some of the main attractions around Stratford Upon Avon include:

  • Shakespeare's Birthplace - It would be a crime to visit Stratford Upon Avon and miss out on visiting Shakespeare's Birthplace. Visit the house where the bard was born and raised on Henley Street in Stratford Upon Avon.
  • RSC - The Royal Shakespeare Company are based in Stratford and a visit there should always involve taking in a play. Once you are set up in your hotel, pop down to an evening performance and watch some of the stars of the Royal Shakespeare Company perform the Bards greatest works.
  • Warwick Castle and Blenheim Palace - If you are willing to get out of Stratford, then why not spend some time at some of the historic sites based in the surrounding castle. The majestic Blenheim Palace is a must for anyone interested in opulence and grandeur, whilst Warwick Castle gives you the opportunity to be King for the day, all within a short drive of your Stratford Hotel
We offer Stratford upon Avon hotels in a variety of locations to suit your needs, many of which are located in the heart of this historic town. Stratford upon Avon hotels range from 2*-4* and are popular with couples and families throughout the year. With budget and luxury hotels in Stratford upon Avon to choose from, as well an abundance of attractions, historic streets with beautiful black and white half-timbered buildings, and a thriving cultural scene; this picturesque town perfectly blends traditional charm with modern comforts. Head to the theatre and see Shakespeare's work brought to life. For more information why not check out our Stratford City Guide.

We offer packages combining Stratford upon Avon hotels with tickets to one of The Royal Shakespeare Company's performances. With all this and more this beautiful market town really does have something for everyone.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 920

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Stratford-upon-Avon

Stay Date: 01/02/07, a customer from Caen who stayed at 4* Macdonald Swans Nest Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Dispite the fact that my reservation was made almost two month ahead, when arriving at Sawn hotel, there was no trace of the reservation onto thier computer file. I feel that your businessis not See More  Read more information very serious. Hopefully, there was two rooms avalable at that late hour of the day ! I better not think of the situation where no room at all where free !   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shakespeare Museum and House  
Stratford City Centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lambs Restaurant, Sheep Street  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's Comments: We work hard to ensure our booking procedures are very comprehensive and we are working with the hotel to ensure that their reservation procedures are reviewed.

 

Lovely View of Stratford-upon-Avon

Stay Date: 27/01/07, a customer from Cardiff who stayed at 4* Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Whilst staying at the Holiday Inn, we took advantage of the sights, shopping, the nightlife and the walks along the river. The shopping was mediocre however we found a few lovely jewelry shops. The See More  Read more information walks along the river was superb, watching the ducks and swans playing around. The nightlife was quite low key, but the pub opposite the hotel proved to be entertaining with a live band. All in all itwas a very relaxing weekend away.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Theatre  
The Ghost Tour  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

De-Stress in Stratford

Stay Date: 09/02/07, a customer from Glenrothes who stayed at 4* Macdonald Swans Nest Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

From the moment of our arrival we knew the Swan's Nest was our best choice yet in Stratford. As Shakespeare fans we've had various Superbreak deals, but this was the best yet. Although it's the See More  Read more information cheapest of the three Macdonald hotels, we were in no way disappointed with our accommodation or service. Having the privilege of using the leisure facilities at the nearby Macdonald hotel made thepackage complete - my daughter and I de-stressed by the pool while my husband enjoyed the rugby. "The Merry Wives of Windsor" was Shakespeare with a difference - it was the musical version with themarvellous Simon Callow and Dame Judi Dench in starring role. A night to remember. Most marvellous memory - the Avon iced over and the town covered with a blanket of snow! We've always has brilliantsunshine before, so it was like a different country!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Symphony Hall Birmingham  
Leisure Facilities in sister hotel  
Shopping in Stratford-upon-Avon  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Theatre Bistro  
Avon Spice  
Thai Elephant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fabulous Judi Dench

Stay Date: 10/02/07, a customer from Middlesex who stayed at 4* Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

We visited Stratford for the weekend specifically to see Judi Dench in The Merry Wives of Windsor at Theatre Royal - was amazing! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Moreton in Marsh  
Theatre Royal, Stratford-upon-Avon  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Marshmallow Tea Shop, Moreton-on-Marsh  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Don't Miss A Visit To The RSC

Stay Date: 16/02/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Billesley Manor Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Do you think Shakespeare is heavy, dull and difficult to understand? I did, until we went to the Royal Shakespeare Company's Henry VI part II, and I couldn't have been more wrong. The new theatre at See More  Read more information the Courtyard in Stratford is superb, the staging was constantly surprising (I have never seen so much stage blood or circus antics) and the acting was so good we were totally immersed in the story.If you get the chance to see something at the RSC, make sure you take it, I'm sure you won't regret it!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Warwick Castle  
RSC  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Billesley Manor Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

3 Days in Stratford

Stay Date: 15/02/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Macdonald Swans Nest Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

A lovely short break with lots to do. Wandered around the town on the 1st day. Lots of lovely places to see. Superb meal at the Thai restaurant across the road from our hotel. The open top tour was See More  Read more information quite interesting but the boat trip was a total waste of time with no commentary and absolutely nothing to see. My only complaint was that the hotel car park had a barrier that never came down. assuch we were reluctant to move the car for fear of not being able to get a space when we got back.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stratford upon Avon Bus Tour  
Stratford Boat Trip  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beefeater, nr Hotel  
Thai Restaurant opposite Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Celebrations With Shakespeare

Stay Date: 23/02/07, a customer from York who stayed at 3* Best Western Grosvenor Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

We chose Stratford for our 2007 Wedding anniversary. It was a good choice, not least because the town has that special "feel" of a place with history and character. Stratford also put on a See More  Read more information Shakespearian production- the last before the theatre is refurbished. Corialanus is not the best known of the bard's writings, but it was a memorable occasion for us. This was our 47th anniversary; thelocation, the "sights", and the hotel all made for a wonderful stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Anne Hathaway's Cottage  
Nash's House  
Stratford Methodist Church  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Hut  
Grosvenor Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Stratford-upon-Avon

Stay Date: 23/02/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Billesley Manor Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Stratford-upon-Avon rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Warwick Castle  
 
 

A Short Visit to see Relatives

Stay Date: 06/03/07, a customer from Plymouth who stayed at 4* Macdonald Swans Nest Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Having found a new place to stay in Straford hopefully we will stay at the Swans Nest again. We regularly visit this area to visit relatives and need an overnight stay. Our only complaint about the See More  Read more information hotel was the small amount of choice with television channels. Also being an old building the floors creaked when being walked on but this just adds character to it. So all in all an extremelysatisfactory stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Stratford

Stay Date: 23/03/07, a customer from Surrey who stayed at 4* Billesley Manor Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Warwick Castle  
 
 
 

Showing 741 - 750 of 920 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 11:30:23

Last rendered @ 26/06/2019 17:44:52

Last rendered @ 26/06/2019 17:44:52

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.