Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Stratford-upon-Avon & Area

Stratford-upon-Avon & Area Holiday Reviews

William Shakespeare's House, Stratford-upon-Avon

We offer a great range of hotels in Stratford upon Avon, a town rich in history and culture and the birthplace of William Shakespeare. Experience the life and works of Shakespeare at The Waterside, take a leisurely cruise along the River Avon or visit the cosy pubs and inns dotted around the town. Warwick Castle, the Cotswolds and Blenheim Castle are also close by. Make your visit action packed by combining one of our hotels in Stratford upon Avon with return rail or tickets to top attractions, including RSC theatre tickets.

Some of the main attractions around Stratford Upon Avon include:

  • Shakespeare's Birthplace - It would be a crime to visit Stratford Upon Avon and miss out on visiting Shakespeare's Birthplace. Visit the house where the bard was born and raised on Henley Street in Stratford Upon Avon.
  • RSC - The Royal Shakespeare Company are based in Stratford and a visit there should always involve taking in a play. Once you are set up in your hotel, pop down to an evening performance and watch some of the stars of the Royal Shakespeare Company perform the Bards greatest works.
  • Warwick Castle and Blenheim Palace - If you are willing to get out of Stratford, then why not spend some time at some of the historic sites based in the surrounding castle. The majestic Blenheim Palace is a must for anyone interested in opulence and grandeur, whilst Warwick Castle gives you the opportunity to be King for the day, all within a short drive of your Stratford Hotel
We offer Stratford upon Avon hotels in a variety of locations to suit your needs, many of which are located in the heart of this historic town. Stratford upon Avon hotels range from 2*-4* and are popular with couples and families throughout the year. With budget and luxury hotels in Stratford upon Avon to choose from, as well an abundance of attractions, historic streets with beautiful black and white half-timbered buildings, and a thriving cultural scene; this picturesque town perfectly blends traditional charm with modern comforts. Head to the theatre and see Shakespeare's work brought to life. For more information why not check out our Stratford City Guide.

We offer packages combining Stratford upon Avon hotels with tickets to one of The Royal Shakespeare Company's performances. With all this and more this beautiful market town really does have something for everyone.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 920

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

A Good Short Break in Stratford upon Avon

Stay Date: 21/03/08, a customer from Wallasey who stayed at 4* Macdonald Swans Nest Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Our hotel is the well run Swan's Nest, which is but a short stroll from the centre of things. Its lovely to stroll along the bridge over the river, and arrive in town. We visited Shakespeare's See More  Read more information birthplace with our teenage grandson who was fascinated (as were we), and even got to see where the Poet was buried. Lovely old church. May I also say that the people of Stratford are lovely. A lovelyenjoyable break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Holy Trinity Church  
Shakespeare's Birthplace  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cafe Rouge  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Bit of Culture 1600 Style

Stay Date: 28/03/08, a customer from Hertfordshire who stayed at 4* Macdonald Swans Nest Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Warwick Castle  
Shakespeare Houses  
 
 

One Night Stay In Stratford Upon Avon

Stay Date: 04/04/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Billesley Manor Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Stayed at billesley manor for one night and was more than impressed, the gardens were amazing and the manor itself was quite imposing and grand.staff were helpful and the evening meals were very See More  Read more information good, unfortunately the breakfast was self sevice and not very appetising. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again if i was in that area.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stratford-upon-Avon Shopping Centre & Riverside  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel

Stay Date: 20/05/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Stratford-upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

The modern design that the Mercure have completed within the public bar area will transform the rest of this hotel. Currently everything is in good condition but will become even better. The rooms See More  Read more information benefit from the air cooling and the quiet nature of this historical building has a great feel. Many of the corridors and rooms give a great feel of bygone times - but the Shakespeare is really up todate in a great central location.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's Comments: This review was written by a member of Superbreak staff.

 

Short Break in Stratford-upon-Avon

Stay Date: 29/04/08, a customer from Cheddar who stayed at 4* Macdonald Swans Nest Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
RSC Theatre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The George Town  
 
 

Coffee Queues at Breakfast

Stay Date: 12/05/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

After years of regular visits to Stratford staying always at another hotel I decided to change to Holiday Inn for May 2008 and was delighted with the hotel. Room was airy and spacious, the staff See More  Read more information polite (and fluent English speakers!), the bed very comfortable, the breakfast above other hotel standards in Straford - and thanks for the great parking facility. Only two gripes: Why only two coffeemachines for the whole breakfast area with resultant long queues during my stay, oarticularly as filling a single milk coffee took 48 seconds on average (I timed it over a series of fillings!) There wasone other coffee machine but it was "not working". Also are double beds coming back into fashion? Hotels on the European continent usually offer two single beds for a couple but Holiday Inn couldonly offer a "queensize" double bed - not good for couples used to their own beds.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Stratford Upon Avon

Stay Date: 19/06/08, a customer from Superbreak who stayed at 4* Mercure Stratford-upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Mercure Shakespeare Hotel is an old Tudor building with 74 bedrooms located in the city centre. To the back of the hotel is a good sized car park which cost £10 per 24hrs, this had a separate See More  Read more information entrance to reception through a seating area where guests could relax. The rooms all had different names relating to Shakespeare such as Romeo and Juliet, the rooms were well decorated with traditional andmodern features. Othello's restaurant where we enjoyed dinner had recently had a refurbishment and the food was fantastic, the half board option that we offer is defiantly recommended. We had ashort walk to a local pub, the Dirty Duck which is opposite the Swan theatre and very traditional pub with pictures of different famous actors on the walls. Before we departed Stratford for home wewent on a walking tour of Stratford upon Avon, we visited the birth place of William Shakespeare on one of the main streets, the church in which he is buried (Holy Trinity) and Anne Hathaway'sCottage.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stratford Upon Avon  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Othello's  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's Comments: This review was written by a member of Superbreak staff.

 

Short Break in Banbury

Stay Date: 18/06/08, a customer from Superbreak who stayed at 3* Mercure Whately Hall Hotel in Banbury wrote this review.

We arrived at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel, located in the city centre and within walking distance to all the sights. We quickly dropped our bags in our rooms before meeting in reception for an See More  Read more information informative tour of Banbury. Our guide (a local man who wrote a column in the local paper) and was very passionate about the place he lived. We started off at the famous Banbury cross roads and went on ashort walk visiting Butchers row, The Corn x change (where the market is held). Our last stop was the Reindeer inn pub which had a globe room upstairs, this was where all the travellers used to meet todiscuss their journey. We arrived back at the hotel which was an old looking building with a dark brown brick, inside the hotel is very traditional, in a very nice way with lots of character. Somerooms are located in the main building with others in the adjoining annex. The rooms were a good size. After dinner we returned to the Reindeer pub a short walk away where we enjoyed a couple ofdrinks in the Globe Room. After a superb breakfast we departed for Blenheim Palace from Banbury which only took 30 minutes   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blenheim Palace  
Guided Tour of Banbury  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's Comments: This review was written by a member of Superbreak staff.

 

Short Break in Banbury

Stay Date: 13/06/08, a customer from Lee On Solent who stayed at 3* Mercure Whately Hall Hotel in Banbury rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Weekend at Ettington Chase

Stay Date: 27/06/08, a customer from Cannock who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

after a mix up with the room , we finaly got the room we had booked and paid for . the duty manager on the evening was of great help. the front of house staff were not to good See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 701 - 710 of 920 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 12:13:55

Last rendered @ 19/06/2019 16:33:54

Last rendered @ 19/06/2019 16:33:54

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.