Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Stratford-upon-Avon & Area

Stratford-upon-Avon & Area Holiday Reviews

William Shakespeare's House, Stratford-upon-Avon

We offer a great range of hotels in Stratford upon Avon, a town rich in history and culture and the birthplace of William Shakespeare. Experience the life and works of Shakespeare at The Waterside, take a leisurely cruise along the River Avon or visit the cosy pubs and inns dotted around the town. Warwick Castle, the Cotswolds and Blenheim Castle are also close by. Make your visit action packed by combining one of our hotels in Stratford upon Avon with return rail or tickets to top attractions, including RSC theatre tickets.

Some of the main attractions around Stratford Upon Avon include:

  • Shakespeare's Birthplace - It would be a crime to visit Stratford Upon Avon and miss out on visiting Shakespeare's Birthplace. Visit the house where the bard was born and raised on Henley Street in Stratford Upon Avon.
  • RSC - The Royal Shakespeare Company are based in Stratford and a visit there should always involve taking in a play. Once you are set up in your hotel, pop down to an evening performance and watch some of the stars of the Royal Shakespeare Company perform the Bards greatest works.
  • Warwick Castle and Blenheim Palace - If you are willing to get out of Stratford, then why not spend some time at some of the historic sites based in the surrounding castle. The majestic Blenheim Palace is a must for anyone interested in opulence and grandeur, whilst Warwick Castle gives you the opportunity to be King for the day, all within a short drive of your Stratford Hotel
We offer Stratford upon Avon hotels in a variety of locations to suit your needs, many of which are located in the heart of this historic town. Stratford upon Avon hotels range from 2*-4* and are popular with couples and families throughout the year. With budget and luxury hotels in Stratford upon Avon to choose from, as well an abundance of attractions, historic streets with beautiful black and white half-timbered buildings, and a thriving cultural scene; this picturesque town perfectly blends traditional charm with modern comforts. Head to the theatre and see Shakespeare's work brought to life. For more information why not check out our Stratford City Guide.

We offer packages combining Stratford upon Avon hotels with tickets to one of The Royal Shakespeare Company's performances. With all this and more this beautiful market town really does have something for everyone.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 850

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Break at Walton Hall

Stay Date: 19/08/14, a customer aged 65+ from Durham Dh1 5Py who stayed at 4* Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Our stay at Walton Hall was an amazing experience from arriving to leaving. First impressions were fabulous, the reception staff could not have bee nicer. Our allocated room was first class could See More  Read more information not be faulted, meals both evening and breakfasts were really good. The restaurant staff were very attentive and efficient could not fault anything and hopefully we will return. Thank you Walton Hallfor a wonderful break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stratford on Avon  
Surrounding Areas  
beautiful countryside  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Walton Hall

Stay Date: 07/09/14, a customer aged 65+ from Bournemouth who stayed at 4* Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Walton Hall, fine building in lovely grounds,"far from the madding crowd" in the real countryside! You need a car to get there but well signed from Wellesbourne. Room and restaurant excellent, good See More  Read more information health club. Good walks in the vast grounds.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Coventry Cathedral  
Charlecote House  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Stay at Walton Hall

Stay Date: 26/10/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

The room was spacious, the bed was great, slept really well. Breaksfast first day was excellent. 2nd day there were some staff shortages. Local cabs are hard to get. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stratford-Upon-Avon  
Warwick CAstle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Kings Head  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend break with friends

Stay Date: 22/04/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Lovely old house set in beautiful grounds - rooms comfortable, with access to nice pool, sauna and steam included, but only a limited range of beauty spa treatments offered. Food in restaurant was See More  Read more information nicely served - wine list was a bit limited though. Without fail, all staff were very friendly and helpful, and made the stay a real pleasure. Lots to see and do in the area - great centre forsightseeing - Charlecote Manor was a great place to visit.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Charlecote Manor  
Stratford Upon Avon  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Wonderful Romantic Weekend in Warwickshire

Stay Date: 20/05/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Rushden who stayed at 4* Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

The hotel was very good, clean and fresh. The spa facilities were excellent but the sauna was on the small side. The staff I could not find fault with if I tried, they were excellent, friendly and See More  Read more information attentive. The only downside of a very good stay were the evening meals, although excellent quality they were very small portions. Back to the good points and there are many, the hotel is set inbeautiful, quiet country surroundings and the local attractions are excellent. Just to say again that the good points of this stay far out weigh the bad, I would certainly stay at this hotel again andrecommend to friends and family.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Warwick  
Stratford Upon Avon  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Welcome to the Walton

Stay Date: 03/06/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Lovely hotel, great facilities and good food! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
RSC Theatre  
Mary arden farm  
Anne Hathaway bourse  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend break near Stratford

Stay Date: 10/06/16, a customer aged 25-44 from Telford who stayed at 4* Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

The hotel and grounds were beautiful and the food was very good. Good value stay. The bed was quite uncomfortable and the pillows are tired. The gym and pool were good. The bar was a little under See More  Read more information stocked. Good access to the Cotswolds and Stratford if you have a car, and overall a great time was had!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal Shakespeare Theatre  
Boughton On The Water  
Stratford  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Anne Hathaway tea rooms  
Sorrento Restaurant Stratford  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Walton Hall Warwickshire

Stay Date: 22/06/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Looking at the pictures for Walton Hall before booking you would think that you are about to stay in the grandeur of a wonderful country mansion but the reality is that you are more likely to stay See More  Read more information in one of the bland 'boxes' that are in a separate set of buildings to the rear of the main house. Of course, you can stay in the actual Walton Hall for a much higher price per night. We stayed on a 2night B & B break with evening meal on the first night only. It seemed like good value at about £210 for 2 people but it fell short on this in a number of areas. Disappointment in not staying in theactual house was one. The bedroom was clean with a nice little balcony which we later discovered was essential as there was no air conditioning. Leaving the balcony door open overnight to get some airmeant we had a noisy night as our room overlooked the car park. Then there was the issue of the bed. Why is it that hotel chains in this country think that people want to sleep on what feels like asack of potatoes? So, 2 nights of twisting and turning amidst a noisy atmosphere wasn't exactly that relaxing. The other irritation was that for some reason only one set of towels were left each day for2 people so more phone calls to reception to sort that out. On the plus side the room was clean and staff were polite and very helpful, quick to put things right. The breakfast was good with anextensive selection of hot and cold foods, decent coffee and fruit juices etc. Breakfast staff were very attentive and helpful. The first night evening meal was a 3 course meal from a very limited menu.Unfortunately, the food was dire. I ordered an olive and goat's cheese tartlet that came with a minuscule salad. The tart was cold, dried up and tasted very bland. Being hungry I ate it and beingtypically English let it go without comment. The main course was baked bream on a bed of mashed potatoes with celeriac and seasonal vegetables. The actual meal consisted of a pathetic piece of overcookedbream on a squish of mash with a sprinkling of very nearly raw chopped vegetables. It was bland and both my wife and I complained. Other people also sent their meals back to. We managed to upgrade to amuch better sirloin steak at no extra charge. This was excellent and the reason we didn't go for this originally was because it carried an extra £10 surcharge. The staff were very apologetic about allthis. We left it at that, not fancying the final dessert option. The hotel grounds for Walton Hall are lovely comprising of a lake, set in a large expanse of grassland and well manicured walledgardens. Overall, we wouldn't go back to this hotel as it didn't represent good value for money and having stayed in other Mercury hotels I felt this one fell well short of my expectations.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Walton Hall Warwicksire  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Rose Tree restaurant in Bourton on the water  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Hidden gem

Stay Date: 24/06/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Walton Hall is quite impressive & the grounds are immaculate. The staff are very helpful & friendly. Room was large & very clean, views from the room were lovely. Food is very good. The staff are See More  Read more information always clearing the plates away from the tables & are looking all the time to see if any help is required. Very nice swimming pool. Would visit again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kenilworth Castle  
Stratford Upon Avon  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Not a super break

Stay Date: 03/08/16, a customer aged 65+ from Nottingham who stayed at 4* Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Advertised as Walton Hall and Spa but found ourselves in the annex. Dark room unable to read in daylight hours even with the lights on as the bulbs were very dim. Housekeeping had missed our room so See More  Read more information we inherited lack of fresh towels, extra pillows, usable tea tray, no cups, unclean surfaces. Management did put things right eventually but wasted too much of our time to enjoy the local area. Nextday we used the pool facilities as we realised there was no hairdryer in our room. Finally went out to explore locally and returned late afternoon to find housekeeping had missed our room again!Unforgivable! Management apologetic again but we were glad to leave the establishment.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 751 - 760 of 850 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 11:23:27

Last rendered @ 23/07/2019 20:41:48

Last rendered @ 23/07/2019 20:41:48

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.