Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Stratford-upon-Avon & Area

Stratford-upon-Avon & Area Holiday Reviews

William Shakespeare's House, Stratford-upon-Avon

We offer a great range of hotels in Stratford upon Avon, a town rich in history and culture and the birthplace of William Shakespeare. Experience the life and works of Shakespeare at The Waterside, take a leisurely cruise along the River Avon or visit the cosy pubs and inns dotted around the town. Warwick Castle, the Cotswolds and Blenheim Castle are also close by. Make your visit action packed by combining one of our hotels in Stratford upon Avon with return rail or tickets to top attractions, including RSC theatre tickets.

Some of the main attractions around Stratford Upon Avon include:

  • Shakespeare's Birthplace - It would be a crime to visit Stratford Upon Avon and miss out on visiting Shakespeare's Birthplace. Visit the house where the bard was born and raised on Henley Street in Stratford Upon Avon.
  • RSC - The Royal Shakespeare Company are based in Stratford and a visit there should always involve taking in a play. Once you are set up in your hotel, pop down to an evening performance and watch some of the stars of the Royal Shakespeare Company perform the Bards greatest works.
  • Warwick Castle and Blenheim Palace - If you are willing to get out of Stratford, then why not spend some time at some of the historic sites based in the surrounding castle. The majestic Blenheim Palace is a must for anyone interested in opulence and grandeur, whilst Warwick Castle gives you the opportunity to be King for the day, all within a short drive of your Stratford Hotel
We offer Stratford upon Avon hotels in a variety of locations to suit your needs, many of which are located in the heart of this historic town. Stratford upon Avon hotels range from 2*-4* and are popular with couples and families throughout the year. With budget and luxury hotels in Stratford upon Avon to choose from, as well an abundance of attractions, historic streets with beautiful black and white half-timbered buildings, and a thriving cultural scene; this picturesque town perfectly blends traditional charm with modern comforts. Head to the theatre and see Shakespeare's work brought to life. For more information why not check out our Stratford City Guide.

We offer packages combining Stratford upon Avon hotels with tickets to one of The Royal Shakespeare Company's performances. With all this and more this beautiful market town really does have something for everyone.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 920

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Enjoyable Stay At Ettington Chase Hotel

Stay Date: 20/03/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

The room was quite sizeable although the bed was not very comfortable. The food was good in the hotel restaurant - breakfast excellent. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cotswolds  
Stratford Upon Avon  
Banbury  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Shakespeare Country

Stay Date: 16/03/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

Ettington chase hotel in lovely location, with very good facilities, good staff, and nice restaurant. Close to stratford upon avon, excellent base for a shakespeare experience. Good shops in See More  Read more information stratford.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shakespeare's Birthplace  
Stratford  
Nash House  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Super Break

Stay Date: 16/03/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

My wife and I wanted a couple of days away at a hotel with a swimming pool and other leisure facilities. Ettington chase is basically a conference hotel in the week and a private function hotel at See More  Read more information weekends. The lovely original house is still there, but there is a huge 3-storey extension in two wings that resemble dormitories. We arrived just before 2pm on monday and the place was deserted. Iasked at reception if they had a better room available and we were given a free upgrade to a superior double. The room itself was large, modern and clean, with a nice en suite, but only a double bed (notking-size). It was in the nearer part of the extension, overlooking the old house. Some descriptions mentioned golf and tennis facilities, so we decided to check them out. The putting green is nomore (and has been removed from most on-line descriptions of the hotel). It is just a grassy field now. There is one tennis court but it was obviously not often used or maintained. However, we did manageto play some tennis. The leisure facilities were quite nice - there is a gym, an x-shaped swimming pool, a jacuzzi and a sauna. The changing rooms were a bit small with only a few working lockers,but the leisure facilities are not really used by the conference crowd (they prop up the games bar) so we were happy. I guess the leisure facilities might be busier at weekends, and there are a fewleisure club members from the village. The hotel seems to have a skeleton permanent staff, with extra workers brought in when required. The maintenance guy was on holiday, so it was a big problem when ourroom safe wouldn't open. After almost 24 hours, a cover maintenance guy arrived from sheffield to put some new batteries in it, because none of the staff knew what to do! luckily, not all of ourmoney was locked away and we weren't checking out the next day, but it could have been a disaster. We had our first night dinner in the hotel's restaurant, as part of the package. A few people had arrivedfor a conference that started the next day, but the hotel wasn't busy. However, when we phoned down to book a table, the earliest available slot was 8pm. If this was a ploy to get us to go to thegames bar before dinner then it worked! we ordered a bottle of wine and some nibbles - the wine was expensive and they were sold out of crisps and nuts. (we were told that it had been a busy weekend -but why didn't they restock on monday?) the restaurant is geared to catering for big gatherings, but the food wasn't 4-star. The starters that we chose were very good, but the main courses and dessertswere poor (bland and unimaginative). They tried to charge us again for the wine we bought in the games bar, but this was corrected immediately. Breakfast was also the standard self-service stuff youfind in chain hotels: cheap sausages, cold bacon and a limited fruit selection. The orange juice was particularly disgusting (cheap and watered down, i presume). Go for the grapefruit juice instead. Wehave eaten much better breakfasts in many private b&bs. Much better dining can be found in the village, which is a short walk from the hotel (along a pavement too). There are two pubs: the whitehorse inn and the chequers inn. The former serves typical pub fare; the latter is more of a gastro-pub. We opted for the chequers inn on the second night. I thought it was excellent (and surprisinglycheaper than the hotel) but my wife didn't like her main course - duck with green vegetables in a cream sauce on rigatoni.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stratford town walk  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chequers Inn  
Ettington Chase Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Stratford-Upon-Avon

Stay Date: 06/03/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stratford  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Thai Restaurant In Stratford  
 
 

Stratford Upon Avon

Stay Date: 09/03/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

An awesome experience. Great hotel, great attractions. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
RSC  
Shakespeare House  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Vintner  
Ettington Chase Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Stratford-Upon-Avon

Stay Date: 06/03/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stratford Upon Avon  
 
 

Ettington Chase; Highly Recommended

Stay Date: 06/03/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

Me and my husband wanted to just get away for a couple of days, just the 2 of us, and ettington chase was perfect. We could have happily just stayed at the hotel the entire time. The service was See More  Read more information impeccable, the facilities beautiful including pool, sauna and gym, the restaurant was faultless, food wonderful and service superb, so pleased. Our day out to stratford was brilliant, a must visit is alittle shop called 'where magic begins' that you can find just past shakepeares birthplace, upstairs is a wizards museum, exciting for all ages. Highly recommended break away, we'll be returning...Thank you!.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shipton, Lovely Little Village  
Stratford Upon Avon, Shakespeares Birthplace  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Encore, Stratford, Bit Pricey But Very Nice  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break Stratford-Upon-Avon

Stay Date: 27/02/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Lovely Hotel & Spa

Stay Date: 27/02/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe Stratford (2 Night Offer/1st Night Dinner & Wine or Afternoon Tea) in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

This is a lovely hotel and the staff are very welcoming and friendly. Only problem for us we were put in a room directly above a wedding reception, which meant that on the 2nd night we could not go See More  Read more information to sleep until 12.30am.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Stratford-Upon-Avon

Stay Date: 14/02/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Birmingham  
Stratford Upon Avon  
Warwick Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ettington Chase Hotel  
 
 
 

Showing 621 - 630 of 920 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:26

Last rendered @ 17/06/2019 05:35:58

Last rendered @ 17/06/2019 05:35:58

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.