Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Stratford-upon-Avon & Area

Stratford-upon-Avon & Area Holiday Reviews

William Shakespeare's House, Stratford-upon-Avon

We offer a great range of hotels in Stratford upon Avon, a town rich in history and culture and the birthplace of William Shakespeare. Experience the life and works of Shakespeare at The Waterside, take a leisurely cruise along the River Avon or visit the cosy pubs and inns dotted around the town. Warwick Castle, the Cotswolds and Blenheim Castle are also close by. Make your visit action packed by combining one of our hotels in Stratford upon Avon with return rail or tickets to top attractions, including RSC theatre tickets.

Some of the main attractions around Stratford Upon Avon include:

  • Shakespeare's Birthplace - It would be a crime to visit Stratford Upon Avon and miss out on visiting Shakespeare's Birthplace. Visit the house where the bard was born and raised on Henley Street in Stratford Upon Avon.
  • RSC - The Royal Shakespeare Company are based in Stratford and a visit there should always involve taking in a play. Once you are set up in your hotel, pop down to an evening performance and watch some of the stars of the Royal Shakespeare Company perform the Bards greatest works.
  • Warwick Castle and Blenheim Palace - If you are willing to get out of Stratford, then why not spend some time at some of the historic sites based in the surrounding castle. The majestic Blenheim Palace is a must for anyone interested in opulence and grandeur, whilst Warwick Castle gives you the opportunity to be King for the day, all within a short drive of your Stratford Hotel
We offer Stratford upon Avon hotels in a variety of locations to suit your needs, many of which are located in the heart of this historic town. Stratford upon Avon hotels range from 2*-4* and are popular with couples and families throughout the year. With budget and luxury hotels in Stratford upon Avon to choose from, as well an abundance of attractions, historic streets with beautiful black and white half-timbered buildings, and a thriving cultural scene; this picturesque town perfectly blends traditional charm with modern comforts. Head to the theatre and see Shakespeare's work brought to life. For more information why not check out our Stratford City Guide.

We offer packages combining Stratford upon Avon hotels with tickets to one of The Royal Shakespeare Company's performances. With all this and more this beautiful market town really does have something for everyone.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 915

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

stratford

Stay Date: 10/01/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Stratford-upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

The main purpose of my visit this time was to see the performance of "Merry Wives the musical". I thoroughly enjoyed this. On previous occasions I have enjoyed meals at the Main Theatre Restaurant See More  Read more information and at Lambs Resaurant. I have also enjoyed the trip on the open bus; visiting the various buildings and gardens associated with Shakespeare.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Theatre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Magic of Shakespeare Country.

Stay Date: 10/01/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon wrote this review.

The attraction for us was that of a visit to the theatre where productions are of such high quality, and undoubtably of world class. Backstage tour of the theatre was fascinating and gave insight See More  Read more information into the theatre workings. A class of school children tried on various stage costumes. The evening meals, taken in an unhurried and relaxing atmosphere and attended by superlative staff wouldundoubtably bring us back to this hotel. The menu gave an interesting choice and the food was delicious and the ambience romantic.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shakespeare Houses  
Theatres: - RSC, Swan, Courtyard  
Town of Stratford  
Backstage Theatre Tour  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Alveston Manor Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Startford On Avon

Stay Date: 19/01/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Macdonald Swans Nest Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Overnight trip in order to see play at Theatre. Food in Garrick Pub very good and very large portions. Breakfast at hotel was excellent with lots of choice both hot and cold. Lots of people were See More  Read more information getting take away fish and chips from a cafe opposite the Royal Shakespeare Theatre which looked very good but we didn't try it.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Garrick Pub  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A stormy visit to Stratford upon Avon

Stay Date: 17/01/07, a customer from Leatherhead who stayed at 4* Macdonald Swans Nest Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

We wanted to visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre before it closed, and to see The Merry Wives of Windsor - The Musical, despite its mixed reviews, so booked a night at the Swan Hotel. As pensioners See More  Read more information it was cheaper to book seats directly with the theatre website ourselves, as the Superbreak site makes no provision for age concessions. We enjoyed the outing: the theatre is showing its age, but ismore comfortable than most London theatres, with excellent sightlines and clear acoustics, and the show was well worth seeing. We travelled by car from Surrey, staying one night after the show beforegoing our separate ways, one back to Surrey by train and the other by car to Wales. Unfortunately, 18th January 2007 turned out to be the day of a great storm, so however memorable our visit to thewtown and theatre would have been all was eclipsed by the difficulties of travel home and to Wales. Cancelled trains, roads blocked by fallen trees and floods, lunatic lorry drivers determined toignore mandatory speed limits on motorways: the list goes on and on. Still, we both made it - eventually - and enjoyed the experience in retrospect. The show was better than the critics made out, the hotelwas unexceptional but was within convenient walking distance of the town and theatre, the parking was free, and we managed to avoid the rain whilst we were out. The hotel provided perhaps the bestbreakfast we have enjoyed in a British hotel in the last decade. If only we had waited a bit longer before booking we would also have got in much more cheaply, as MacDonald Hotels ran a cheap promotionin January, but didn't advertise it until after we had booked! You can't win them all.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

2 Days In Stratford-upon-Avon

Stay Date: 29/01/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Macdonald Swans Nest Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

A wonderful relaxing winter break in a delightful location. Our visit to the Theatre to see Merry Wives the musical was fantastic, great fun!!!!!!!! There was a good selection of food at the See More  Read more information theatre cafe bar which was well prepared and served to our satisfaction. We would highly recommend to others. The river walks were very peaceful and tranquil. The shops varied and interesting and thevisit to Shakespears birth place very moving.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shakespeare's Birthplace  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely View of Stratford-upon-Avon

Stay Date: 27/01/07, a customer from Cardiff who stayed at 4* Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Whilst staying at the Holiday Inn, we took advantage of the sights, shopping, the nightlife and the walks along the river. The shopping was mediocre however we found a few lovely jewelry shops. The See More  Read more information walks along the river was superb, watching the ducks and swans playing around. The nightlife was quite low key, but the pub opposite the hotel proved to be entertaining with a live band. All in all itwas a very relaxing weekend away.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Theatre  
The Ghost Tour  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Stratford-upon-Avon

Stay Date: 09/02/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon in Stratford-upon-Avon rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
RSC Swan Theatre  
 
 

3 Days in Stratford

Stay Date: 15/02/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Macdonald Swans Nest Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

A lovely short break with lots to do. Wandered around the town on the 1st day. Lots of lovely places to see. Superb meal at the Thai restaurant across the road from our hotel. The open top tour was See More  Read more information quite interesting but the boat trip was a total waste of time with no commentary and absolutely nothing to see. My only complaint was that the hotel car park had a barrier that never came down. assuch we were reluctant to move the car for fear of not being able to get a space when we got back.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stratford upon Avon Bus Tour  
Stratford Boat Trip  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beefeater, nr Hotel  
Thai Restaurant opposite Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Stratford-upon-Avon

Stay Date: 23/02/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Billesley Manor Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Stratford-upon-Avon rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Warwick Castle  
 
 

A Short Visit to see Relatives

Stay Date: 06/03/07, a customer from Plymouth who stayed at 4* Macdonald Swans Nest Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Having found a new place to stay in Straford hopefully we will stay at the Swans Nest again. We regularly visit this area to visit relatives and need an overnight stay. Our only complaint about the See More  Read more information hotel was the small amount of choice with television channels. Also being an old building the floors creaked when being walked on but this just adds character to it. So all in all an extremelysatisfactory stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 421 - 430 of 915 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 16:47:10

Last rendered @ 22/05/2019 15:38:19

Last rendered @ 22/05/2019 15:38:19

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.