Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Stratford-upon-Avon & Area

Stratford-upon-Avon & Area Holiday Reviews

William Shakespeare's House, Stratford-upon-Avon

We offer a great range of hotels in Stratford upon Avon, a town rich in history and culture and the birthplace of William Shakespeare. Experience the life and works of Shakespeare at The Waterside, take a leisurely cruise along the River Avon or visit the cosy pubs and inns dotted around the town. Warwick Castle, the Cotswolds and Blenheim Castle are also close by. Make your visit action packed by combining one of our hotels in Stratford upon Avon with return rail or tickets to top attractions, including RSC theatre tickets.

Some of the main attractions around Stratford Upon Avon include:

  • Shakespeare's Birthplace - It would be a crime to visit Stratford Upon Avon and miss out on visiting Shakespeare's Birthplace. Visit the house where the bard was born and raised on Henley Street in Stratford Upon Avon.
  • RSC - The Royal Shakespeare Company are based in Stratford and a visit there should always involve taking in a play. Once you are set up in your hotel, pop down to an evening performance and watch some of the stars of the Royal Shakespeare Company perform the Bards greatest works.
  • Warwick Castle and Blenheim Palace - If you are willing to get out of Stratford, then why not spend some time at some of the historic sites based in the surrounding castle. The majestic Blenheim Palace is a must for anyone interested in opulence and grandeur, whilst Warwick Castle gives you the opportunity to be King for the day, all within a short drive of your Stratford Hotel
We offer Stratford upon Avon hotels in a variety of locations to suit your needs, many of which are located in the heart of this historic town. Stratford upon Avon hotels range from 2*-4* and are popular with couples and families throughout the year. With budget and luxury hotels in Stratford upon Avon to choose from, as well an abundance of attractions, historic streets with beautiful black and white half-timbered buildings, and a thriving cultural scene; this picturesque town perfectly blends traditional charm with modern comforts. Head to the theatre and see Shakespeare's work brought to life. For more information why not check out our Stratford City Guide.

We offer packages combining Stratford upon Avon hotels with tickets to one of The Royal Shakespeare Company's performances. With all this and more this beautiful market town really does have something for everyone.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 850

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Stratford-upon-Avon

Stay Date: 19/01/18, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe Stratford (2 Night Offer/1st Night Dinner & Wine or Afternoon Tea) in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

The Hotel was very nice, great setting. The first room was of a lower grade than booked however once we spoke to staff they sorted this out very quickly and explain it was an admin error, they See More  Read more information upgraded the room from what had been booked. The staff were very attentive, polite and helpful. Check your bill, we had items listed / billed we had not had, again sorted out quickly.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stratford Upon Avon  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short winter break

Stay Date: 19/01/18, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

Hotel very good ,staff excellent, room very good but hotel restaurant dinner menu very restricted, Cannot comment further on Stratford-upon-Avon town as weather so bad could not spend any time See More  Read more information sightseeing - will try again in summer.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

New Year

Stay Date: 30/12/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Billesley Manor Hotel New Year Break in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

New years break at Billersley Manor Hotel We had a fantastic 2 night stay - the accommodation, food and staff were excellent - only blemish was when we initially arrived the receptionist didn't See More  Read more information appear to know where our rooms were located in the hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stratford Upon Avon  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ok

Stay Date: 18/12/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Chichester who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

The hotel was ok - it was clean and tidy. Breakfast was good. However the evening meal was not great with pretentious names e.g. pulled beef instead of steak. Risotto was very bland and they forgot See More  Read more information the garlic bread (although it seems an odd accompaniment). First course was served cold when it should have been hot (mushrooms with melted cheese). The hotel is in a nice setting and would make agood conference hotel if they improve the food. However as a hotel for a ‘mini break’ it was nothing special.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shakespeare tour  
Lord leycesters hospital  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
33 the scullery  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Longest Drive to a hotel ...ever!!

Stay Date: 16/12/17, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

We have stayed at Walton Hall near Stratford-upon-Avon a couple of times before so knew what to expect when we booked with Super Break. Indeed, our early plans for Christmas included a Christmas Day See More  Read more information stay here which unfortunately due to work commitments could not be taken. The deal was for Bed and Breakfast with a three course dinner on the first night. The drive to the hotel is a good mile anda half from the main road and very potholed, you have to drive with caution, but the approach to the hotel is amazing. Our room had a good and bad feeling, it was enormous with a huge window andview, but it had two single beds pushed together when I clearly asked for a double, so we had a dilemma, give up a wonderful room or opt for a double bed. We went for the first option although it wasn'tideal on cold nights. The three course dinner was amazing but the price of the drinks was heavily overpriced. Beware, you have to walk outside of the hotel from your room to reach the mainbuilding, and this was very difficult late at night and in the morning when there was ice on the path, which was also badly in need of repair. We will of course return again in the summer as it is ahighlight for us as the hotel is perfectly positioned for visiting Stratford-upon-Avon, Leamington Spa and Warwick.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Long Marsh Airfield Saturday Market  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Winter time

Stay Date: 14/12/17, a customer aged 25-44 from Cosby who stayed at 4* Billesley Manor Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Super Break are just what they say they are. From Anne when we called to book to the Checkout. The hotel beautiful and the rooms and facilities were excellent. The staff a real asset. Will See More  Read more information definitely use Super Break again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Packwood House  
Baddesley Clinton  
Charlecote  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
At The Hotel  
The Blue Boar  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Disappointing visit

Stay Date: 07/12/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

We have stayed at Ettington Chase Hotel many times over the last 20 years. Sadly this time we felt that the excellent service and overall experience we have had previously was lacking. The "new" See More  Read more information buffet evening meal was very disappointing. My main gripe here is that the food should be as good at 9pm as it is at 7pm. Also £4 for a coffee out of a vending machine?!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Billesley Manor Hotel: 2 Night Stay

Stay Date: 26/11/17, a customer aged 25-44 from Newton Abbot who stayed at 4* Billesley Manor Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Overall the Billesley Manor Hotel is a good place to stay. Beautiful old buildings in beautiful grounds with generally welcoming and friendly staff. If the hotel would like to improve on good See More  Read more information then they need to be addressing the following points (albeit some trivial). This may help. I stayed in a lovely double room. Only improvements I'd make would be to the bathroom: extractor fan is fartoo noisy, the glass shower curtain is too big and there isn't enough deep shelf space to leave a toiletry bag easily. The pool is good although the gym is pretty average considering the size andquality of the hotel. The gym needs more space and better equipment. Breakfast was also good (the sausages especially) although it could do with slickening it up from a service point of view. I hadto wait for bowls and eggs when they'd run empty. Some of the eating areas are incredibly dark. Reading a paper was almost impossible due to the lighting. If there was budget I'd try and modernisethese areas a bit so they don't feel quite so stuffy and dingy, without of course destroying the history of the place. The hotel from a layout point of view is a bit like a rabbit warren. I can'timagine anyone would have the budget to open it up a bit and give it a better sense of flow but if they did it could be fabulous. In the meantime I'd look at improving the interior signage (put signs ondoors) as it's not that easy to find your way round if you don't know the place. Finally nearly all the staff were friendly, welcoming and attentive. The only problem I had was when my room key carddidn't let me back in after breakfast. I had to go all the way back to reception (quite a walk) to get it fixed, back to my room to find that the fix hadn't worked and then back to reception to getthe same rather surly and unapologetic member of staff who made another member of staff (who was very helpful) come with me to my room and let me in with a master key. All of this made me leave muchlater than I wanted. But as I said overall it's a good hotel, but there is a little bit of work to make me say excellent.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A trip down memory lane

Stay Date: 24/11/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

The hotel was uninspiring, the food was limited and the staff did not appear to work together as a team. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stratford Upon Avon  
Solihull  
Leamington Spa  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing country break

Stay Date: 25/11/17, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

The hotel was beautiful. We were allocated a room in the old house which was lovely, larger than average and had everything you needed. The breakfast was a buffet with a good selection of hot and See More  Read more information cold food. The hotel is located in countryside but only a few miles from the attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. We had a lovely stay and would come again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 31 - 40 of 850 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 10:44:06

Last rendered @ 24/07/2019 05:46:38

Last rendered @ 24/07/2019 05:46:38

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.