Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - South West England

South West England Holiday Reviews

Cornwall Beach, Newquay

Simply ideal for an escape to the country, and with lots of exciting city breaks to be had too, our hotels in South-West England are a fantastic choice for a getaway. With unique local cuisine, breath-taking spots to reconnect with nature and lots of nationally-renowned tourist attractions, this region has much to offer.

Home of top attractions for the whole family, spa breaks to unwind and indulge, and great value dinner deals, our South-West England hotels have something for everyone. Be sure to find yourself at the most popular tourist sites - such as Cheddar Gorge and Wookey Hole - and off the beaten track in Exmoor and Dartmoor National Park or the North Cornish coast.

  • Choose a hotel in Bristol for the region's most exciting city break; with fine dining and fascinating museums galore, the city's must-see attractions include the Clifton Suspension Bridge and the family-friendly museum M Shed.
  • Our hotels in Bath are understandably amongst the region's most popular; the historic city is famous for its Roman Baths and is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
  • Reconnect with nature at one of our Devon hotels or enjoy a delicious cream tea by the seaside on the English Riviera!
  • Discover beautiful Cornwall on an adventure break - catch the surf, go horseback riding, or on a hike to Land's End - before rewarding yourself with the country's very finest seafood.


A superb destination for your next short break, check out our fab range of hotels in South-West England in the list below. Alternatively, explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1223

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Shopping in Cheltenham

Stay Date: 17/06/08, a customer from Superbreak who stayed at 4* Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery in Cheltenham wrote this review.

My wife and I took a night away in the spa town of Cheltenham to relax (me) and shop (Kari) The Queens proved ideal on both counts. I took up the offer from the hotel to use the spa facilities at See More  Read more information Cheltenham College for girls, whilst Kari launched into the local shops. There is a great selection of boutique stores immediately behind the hotel. When we met back up for afternoon tea there weremany bags to prove that Cheltenham offered more than most of the generic shopping centres across the country. Afternoon Tea was a real treat. Home made scones, clotted cream and jams with lots elsebesides. What a great tradition! To complete our stay we had a delicious breakfast the following morning in the sun-drenched conservatory restaurant. Nice.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shopping in Cheltenham  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Afternoon Tea at The Queens  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's Comments: This review was written by a member of Superbreak staff.

 

Short Break in Lechlade-on-Thames

Stay Date: 05/06/08, a customer from St. Austell who stayed at 3* New Inn Hotel in Lechlade-on-Thames rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Birthday Celebration in Bath

Stay Date: 04/06/08, a customer who stayed at 5* Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel in Bath wrote this review.

Bath was fantastic, we could have spent a week tnere and still be worn out. There was so much to do and see. The Hotel let our stay down. It was strange as if we arrived out of season, yet it was See More  Read more information the 4th June. We had lunch on arrival at the Hotel restaurant (Alfresco) and there were only 2 other tables occupied yet for some reason it took ages and ages for the food to arrive, and mine was only aseared tuna on salad. Which was tasteless. It wasnt worth waiting for. We ate at the hotel for our evening meal, but only the Alfresco restaurant was open for dinner, which was disappointing and theycould only offer the same menu as the one we had for lunch. A very poor show for a 5* hotel. Very slow service. Again there were not many people eating but we had to wait ages again for our food.This time I had a Chicken pasta dish. Slightly more flavour and only about 4 morsels of chicken. Also a lack of quantity, it was more like a large starter size. It took ages to get some bread and tocatch the waiters/tress attention for a drink. But, the SPA in the hotel was brilliant. The reception staff were very slow, didnt seem on the ball at all but were very polite. The hotel gardens/groundsget the best vote from us, they were beautiful.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Roman Baths  
Royal Crescent  
Sally Lunns  
Abbey  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Macdonald Bath Spa Alfresco Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Cheltenham

Stay Date: 17/05/08, a customer from Oldbury who stayed at 4* Hatherley Manor in Cheltenham/Gloucester rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cheltenham Town Centre  
 
 

Birthday Weekend in Bath

Stay Date: 16/05/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery in Bath wrote this review.

As a birthday treat for both my husband and my daughter the family arranged a visit to the Thermae Spa. My husband and I stayed at the Mercure Francis, a charming Georgian hotel with the most See More  Read more information comfortable beds I have ever slept in and very reasonable rates (for Bath!) The Thermae Spa was very impressive and well worth a visit, but be warned, carry your shampoo around with you as the showers aretwo floors away from the lockers and there were queues for them! The joint birthday meal was at La Flamenca which is a truly authentic Spanish restaurant with superb tapas, a guitar player and awonderful ambience. It was a very enjoyable birthday weekend. Bath is a great place to visit with lots going on and a really cosmopolitan feel. As icing on the cake we also managed to find a handy sportspub, The Litten Tree, in which to watch our local football team Pompey win the FA cup!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Thermae spa  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
La Flamenca  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's Comments: The hotel has recently undergone a £6 million refurbishment.

 

Recharging the Batteries

Stay Date: 19/05/08, a customer from Peterborough who stayed at 4* Crowne Plaza Plymouth in Plymouth wrote this review.

The aim of the trip was to visit the Eden project which was less than an hours car ride away with good roads and directions. The Hotel was in a perfect location as we could very easily walk to the See More  Read more information lively Barbican area of Plymouth and also the great pedestrianised town centre. The facilites in the hotel were superb as was the food and cleanliness. We parked the car in the basement car park whichwas very useful   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Eden Project  
House of Marbles  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blues Bar the Barbican Plymouth  
Eden Project Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Bristol

Stay Date: 09/05/08, a customer from Blackburn who stayed at 4* Mercure Bristol Brigstow in Bristol rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shopping in Bristol  
Clifton area including local architecture  
National Comic Book Convention  
 
 

Short Break in Torquay

Stay Date: 13/05/08, a customer from Huddersfield who stayed at 4* Grand Hotel in Torquay rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Eden Project  
 
 

Overnight Stay in Torquay

Stay Date: 16/05/08, a customer from Plymouth who stayed at 3* Abbey Sands Hotel Formerly John Burton-Race in Torquay wrote this review.

We stayed in Torquay ovenight as we had tickets for a show at the Princess Theatre. Hotel location was very good, in walking distance of the theatre and the show was excellent. A very good short See More  Read more information break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Princess Theatre, Torquay  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Breezers  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Exeter

Stay Date: 28/04/08, a customer who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Exeter in Exeter rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Barn Owl  
 
 
 

Showing 881 - 890 of 1223 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 11:30:21

Last rendered @ 20/06/2019 18:13:59

Last rendered @ 20/06/2019 18:13:59

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.