Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - South West England

South West England Holiday Reviews

Cornwall Beach, Newquay

Simply ideal for an escape to the country, and with lots of exciting city breaks to be had too, our hotels in South-West England are a fantastic choice for a getaway. With unique local cuisine, breath-taking spots to reconnect with nature and lots of nationally-renowned tourist attractions, this region has much to offer.

Home of top attractions for the whole family, spa breaks to unwind and indulge, and great value dinner deals, our South-West England hotels have something for everyone. Be sure to find yourself at the most popular tourist sites - such as Cheddar Gorge and Wookey Hole - and off the beaten track in Exmoor and Dartmoor National Park or the North Cornish coast.

  • Choose a hotel in Bristol for the region's most exciting city break; with fine dining and fascinating museums galore, the city's must-see attractions include the Clifton Suspension Bridge and the family-friendly museum M Shed.
  • Our hotels in Bath are understandably amongst the region's most popular; the historic city is famous for its Roman Baths and is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
  • Reconnect with nature at one of our Devon hotels or enjoy a delicious cream tea by the seaside on the English Riviera!
  • Discover beautiful Cornwall on an adventure break - catch the surf, go horseback riding, or on a hike to Land's End - before rewarding yourself with the country's very finest seafood.


A superb destination for your next short break, check out our fab range of hotels in South-West England in the list below. Alternatively, explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1226

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Grand Hotel Torquay

Stay Date: 16/02/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Grand Hotel in Torquay wrote this review.

We were unbable to have an evening meal at the hotel because a function had taken over the restaurant, and the lift was not working for the whole weekend although nobody was in attendance to repair See More  Read more information it - neither of these are acceptable in a four star hotel!!!! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone else Neither would I return   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kents Cavern  
Living Coast  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bianco's  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Torquay

Stay Date: 30/03/07, a customer from Bilston who stayed at 4* Grand Hotel in Torquay wrote this review.

I spent five days in Torquay from 30th March to 3rd April 2007. I stayed at the 4* Grand Hotel as I wanted to treat myself to a little luxury. Not so! My single room was small. The bathroom - See More  Read more information couldn't swing a cat round in it! Both rooms were cold. Although there was a radiator in the room, even on maximum heat, the room was not warm due to the galeforce draughts coming through the window. Therewas no radiator in the bathroom - so that was absolutely freezing. The furniture in the room was both shabby and dusty. I'm asthmatic - so that didn't help! The window in the bathroom was plain glasslooking straight out onto the stree! One of the curtains was hanging from the rail in the bathroom - this was fixed about two hours after my arrival. I had to wait almost half an hour before myluggage was brought up to my room - it had been in store due to the fact I had arrived too early to check in. I did have a complimentary coffee and biscuits in the bar on my arrival. The majority of thestaff were pleasant enough but not particularly attentive. Each morning at breakfast I had to ask for coffee and toast - other guests were asked as soon as they were seated. In the bar the procedure wasto be seated and a member of staff would come to you. Each time I went in the bar I had to wait ages, even when that bar was not particularly busy. One particular day I got so fed up of waiting formy order to be taken I walked out. Yet again, other guests were attended to immediately they were seated. The leisure club was a great disappointment. Unsupervised. Both times I used the pool therewere incidents of 'stupid' behaviour from other guests which had the potential to be dangerous. No specific times when children not allowed to use the facilities. Changing rooms cramped and notparticularly clean. No access to pool for anyone like myself with slight mobility problems. Steps into pool were not secure. Rail on side of steps to jaccuzzi was extremely loose. On the positive side . .. Torquay and the surrounding areas has a lot to offer and there's plenty to do. I would certainly go back to Torquay but not to the Grand.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Buckfast Abbey  
Cockington Village  
Torquay Museum  
Bygones Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ella's Restaurant Torquay  
The Drum Inn Cockington  
Buckfast Abbey Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Newquay

Stay Date: 13/04/07, a customer who stayed at 4* The Headland Hotel and Spa in Newquay rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Newquay Pubs  
 
 

House & Garden Visits

Stay Date: 24/06/07, a customer from Knaresborough who stayed at 4* Manor House Hotel - Moreton in Marsh in Moreton-in-Marsh wrote this review.

There were a number conveniently located in the area and well worth a visit - particularly Blenheim Palace and Bourton House Gardens. Blenheim was especially good and the guide conducting the tour See More  Read more information round the palace made it both interesting and humurous. The grounds were also in excellent condition and a full day is worth considering to do the place justice.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blenheim Palace  
Bourton House Gardens  
Batsford Arboretum  
Hidcote Manor Garden  
 

User Review Ratings: 3 out of 3 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

A Wet Few Days in Cornwall

Stay Date: 24/06/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Legacy Hotel Victoria, Newquay in Newquay wrote this review.

visited during a very wet week. eden project and lost gardens of heligan are very good for keen gardeners. Victoria Hotel was average. room needs updated and was a bit cramped. gym was out of See More  Read more information action all week and lift to beach is not pleasant. overall, disappointing for the price.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Eden Project  
Lost Gardens of Helligan  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Senor Dick's  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel

Stay Date: 06/08/07, a customer from Kingswinford who stayed at 3* Abbey Sands Hotel in Torquay wrote this review.

Asked what I would like for my starter and sweet all at the same time, when finished my main coarse was asked if I would like tea or coffee which was brought out with the sweet. Could not access my See More  Read more information room with the key required member of staff to let me in my room every time with the house maids key.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Lechlade-on-Thames

Stay Date: 24/10/07, a customer who stayed at 3* New Inn Hotel in Lechlade-on-Thames wrote this review.

only issue with train booking was that we were not told what station in London to get it from!! - luckily some local knowledge let us figure out it was Paddington - perhaps something to add to See More  Read more information booking details? Lovely relaxing trip, friendly locals and good atmosphere. Dont go looking for haut-cuisine or lots of entertainment though!! - if you want a break in the coutryside, and slow peacefuldays, this is the place for you.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break Torquay

Stay Date: 21/10/07, a customer from Kilburn,Belper who stayed at 3* Abbey Sands Hotel in Torquay wrote this review.

Very nice resort easy to find lots to do or just relax. Close to lots of places of interest See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Steam Train  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Brixham Fish & Chip Shop  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Bath

Stay Date: 23/03/08, a customer from Banstead who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Bath in Bath rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Roman Baths  
 
 

Short Break in Lechlade-on-Thames

Stay Date: 05/06/08, a customer from St. Austell who stayed at 3* New Inn Hotel in Lechlade-on-Thames rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 
 

Showing 1191 - 1200 of 1226 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 11:23:27

Last rendered @ 20/07/2019 15:15:48

Last rendered @ 20/07/2019 15:15:48

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.