Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - South England

South England Holiday Reviews

Spinnaker Tower, Portsmouth

Whether you're looking for a busy break, shopping and sightseeing in one of the region's popular cities, or a relaxing getaway in the country wining, dining and unwinding, then our excellent hotels in South England will have something to offer you. As diverse as South England is, you could easily find yourself at a historic site on the mystical Salisbury Plains, boutique shopping in trendy Guildford, or sunning yourself on the South coast.

Treat yourself on one of our excellent value two night dinner deal packages or a stay with afternoon tea included for that extra bit of indulgence. Take the kids with you and make the most of our South England hotels great location close by to Chessington World of Adventures and Thorpe Park, or the outdoor playground that is the New Forest.

  • Our Windsor hotels are, understandably, amongst our most popular for family breaks; enjoy the brilliant fun of LEGOLAND Windsor or the historic delights at pretty Windsor Castle.
  • For culture and history however, do check out our wonderful hotels in Oxford - not only are the world-famous Oxford University buildings well worth a visit, but a number of charming museums and markets make this one of the region's premier short break destinations.
  • The vibrant port cities of Portsmouth and Southampton should also make your shortlist - offering the fine dining, exciting nightlife and superb shopping you'd expect from bustling cities, both are also steeped in fascinating maritime history.
  • For a quieter break by the sea, our hotels in Bournemouth are very hard to beat - enjoy a traditional cream tea, rest easy on the 7 miles of sandy beaches or head for a walk in the gorgeous Dorset countryside or along the nearby Jurassic Coast.


With a wealth of things to see and do, the region is the perfect choice for a short break - check out our range of hotels in South England in the list below. Alternatively, explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 2175

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Oatlands Hotel

Stay Date: 27/10/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Tewkesbury who stayed at 4* Oatlands Park Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Weybridge wrote this review.

Cold room, no heating in bathroom so had to contact duty manager to get portable heater, previous guest reported same problem on 22/10/16. The waiter in dining room on first night was very rude and See More  Read more information assumed that we were only entitled to a 2 Course Dinner which was incorrect, when choosing wine I do not expect the waiter to chant 'Go Soave' at me. We wanted dinner on the second one night but weretold we could only eat at 6:30 or 9:00. We went a 6:00 only to find the menu was exactly the same as the night before. It would appear that it was more important to provide service for attendees atthree different functions that night than to guests on a SuperBreak!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hampton Court  
brooklands museum  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Good weekend in Bournemouth

Stay Date: 04/11/16, a customer aged 65+ from Milton Keynes who stayed at 4* Best Western Hotel Royale (Min 2 Night Half Board Offer) in Bournemouth wrote this review.

We went away for this weekend to celebrate my wife's birthday. The hotel was in a good position in a quiet location. All the staff were welcoming and very helpful. Overall it was a very good break See More  Read more information before winter sets in.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel

Stay Date: 12/11/16, a customer aged 25-44 from Bournemouth who stayed at 3* Best Western Chilworth Manor (Cream Tea Offer) in Southampton wrote this review.

Stunning main building however modern parts let it down, communal halls/stairs smelt. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Total relaxation

Stay Date: 18/11/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Best Western Hotel Royale (Min 2 Night Half Board Offer) in Bournemouth wrote this review.

Could not fault the hotel break it was exactly as advertised. Definitely will return again. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Theatre  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Royale Western

Stay Date: 15/11/16, a customer aged 65+ from Trowbridge who stayed at 4* Best Western Hotel Royale (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Bournemouth wrote this review.

We paid extra for an executive room and this did not come up to standard. No point complaining and spoiling our 2 nights. The carpet was grubby, the tops of the furniture was sticky and the bathroom See More  Read more information smelled damp. The rims of the restaurant tables were also sticky. Not a good start to finding a company that does short breaks.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bournemouth  
Poole  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harry Ramsdens  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Brilliant Hotel

Stay Date: 28/11/16, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Best Western Hotel Royale (Min 2 Night Half Board Offer) in Bournemouth wrote this review.

Have never stayed on or near the South Coast before. We felt we very lucky by choosing the Best Western Royale Hotel. ALL the staff from reception to waiters & waitresses, in fact everyone we met See More  Read more information were most helpful. Will recommend to out friends.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Monkey World  
isle of wight ferry  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel stay

Stay Date: 26/12/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Hawkwell House Hotel Oxford by Compass Hospitality in Oxford wrote this review.

The hotel staff were excellent from start to finish and we were very pleased with the quality of our room. However, we were disappointed with the limited dinner menu - although the food was o.k. it See More  Read more information certainly was uninspiring - basically chicken and chips, burger, steak, risotto and one fish dish. On our second night we were unable to find a chair to sit on in the bar before dinner as a weddingparty completely filled it leaving no room for other residents. We would certainly use this hotel again but will check to see if there is a wedding on during future stays.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
City Centre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

New Year's Eve

Stay Date: 31/12/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Best Western Chilworth Manor New Year Break in Southampton wrote this review.

Fantastic hotel for New Year. Brilliant atmosphere. Food good quality and hot. Staff excellent. We had a fantastic time in this hotel for the New Year there was a good singer on also before and See More  Read more information after dinner with dancing till 2am. Highly recommend this hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent New Year

Stay Date: 31/12/16, a customer aged 65+ from Knoll Hill who stayed at 4* Hilton Reading New Year Break in Reading wrote this review.

Hotel new & modern. Room was a good size & bed very comfortable. It was quiet i.e. no traffic noise or noise from other rooms. New Year meal & entertainment were all good. It would have been See More  Read more information improved if we had been given another choice for starter, main & desert courses either to pre-book or at the table. When a vegetarian companion asked, one was provided but not without some discussion. Duringthe process of booking & checking in etc we were not asked about dietary requirements. There was a bus stop very close to the hotel which made it easy to visit Reading centre. Would use this hotelagain. The staff were very helpful.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shopping Centre  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Reading New Year Break

Stay Date: 31/12/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Hilton Reading New Year Break in Reading wrote this review.

What a fantastic time such a great New Year's break - everything was perfect. The hotel went out of their way to make sure our stay was just perfect. The New Year's party was a fantastic night, the See More  Read more information ballroom was decorated nicely and the atmosphere was amazing. Would definitely go back for the same package.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 41 - 50 of 2175 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 12:13:57

Last rendered @ 19/06/2019 16:54:20

Last rendered @ 19/06/2019 16:54:20

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.