Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - South England

South England Holiday Reviews

Spinnaker Tower, Portsmouth

Whether you're looking for a busy break, shopping and sightseeing in one of the region's popular cities, or a relaxing getaway in the country wining, dining and unwinding, then our excellent hotels in South England will have something to offer you. As diverse as South England is, you could easily find yourself at a historic site on the mystical Salisbury Plains, boutique shopping in trendy Guildford, or sunning yourself on the South coast.

Treat yourself on one of our excellent value two night dinner deal packages or a stay with afternoon tea included for that extra bit of indulgence. Take the kids with you and make the most of our South England hotels great location close by to Chessington World of Adventures and Thorpe Park, or the outdoor playground that is the New Forest.

  • Our Windsor hotels are, understandably, amongst our most popular for family breaks; enjoy the brilliant fun of LEGOLAND Windsor or the historic delights at pretty Windsor Castle.
  • For culture and history however, do check out our wonderful hotels in Oxford - not only are the world-famous Oxford University buildings well worth a visit, but a number of charming museums and markets make this one of the region's premier short break destinations.
  • The vibrant port cities of Portsmouth and Southampton should also make your shortlist - offering the fine dining, exciting nightlife and superb shopping you'd expect from bustling cities, both are also steeped in fascinating maritime history.
  • For a quieter break by the sea, our hotels in Bournemouth are very hard to beat - enjoy a traditional cream tea, rest easy on the 7 miles of sandy beaches or head for a walk in the gorgeous Dorset countryside or along the nearby Jurassic Coast.


With a wealth of things to see and do, the region is the perfect choice for a short break - check out our range of hotels in South England in the list below. Alternatively, explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 2289

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

A soggy bank holiday break

Stay Date: 30/08/15, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Milton Hill in Abingdon wrote this review.

The hotel was comfortable. The swimming pool was small. The reception and other staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. No maps available as hotel location was difficult and no brochures anywhere of See More  Read more information anything to do nearby or places of interest. Really essential information that should be available.Two weddings taking place at the weekend and staff seem stretched. Service at breakfast was very pooras staff were hovering waiting for us to finish. Not a hotel I would recommend to anyone else to stay at as there was room for much improvement.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
oxford  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A nightmare visit

Stay Date: 05/09/15, a customer aged 65+ from Somerset who stayed at 4* Basingstoke Country Hotel in Basingstoke (Nr) wrote this review.

The hotel and facilities were very poor certainly not 4 star more like 1 or 2 star. The restaurant only had a buffet service with a fixed meal price. The bed were terrible with lumps all over. I See More  Read more information would never visit this or any other hotel in this chain, or recommend it to any of my friends!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Awful hotel

Stay Date: 02/10/15, a customer aged 25-44 from Sandhurst who stayed at 4* Langstone Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Hayling Island (Nr Portsmouth) wrote this review.

The Langstone Hotel. We were given a room where carpets were not hoovered and mould was growing on tiles in ceiling and bathroom. Extractor fan was broken so nowhere for damp to get out made rest of See More  Read more information room damp. 2nd night of stay there was a wedding noise coming from reception/bar so loud I couldn't sleep for 2 hours. A complaint was made to reception at 1am and they offered for us to move toanother room in the middle of the night, which was unacceptable. Was told noise caused by a broken fire door in corridor that was jammed open! What if there was a fire? Reception did not ask other gueststo be quiet at 1am so noise/shouting/screaming etc continued for at least another hour. Worst night's sleep ever.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
hotel swimming pool  
Gunwarf Quays  
haling island beach  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Cumberland Hotel, Bournemouth

Stay Date: 28/10/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* The Cumberland Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Bournemouth wrote this review.

On arrival I had trouble getting through the heavy door whilst the receptionist watched me. We booked a two day break with our two dogs and being put on the top floor was not helpful. The room was See More  Read more information small and too hot - there was no temperature control. They did provide a fan on request. They said and were confident they could feed me as I am gluten intolerant. This was more hope than reality andmaybe they should say we will try instead of yes of course - it would be more honest. There is not enough parking for the rooms and if you arrive after 5pm you are out on the street which is freeafter 5pm but not after 9am. We have stayed at other hotels nearby but we would not rush back to this one because of the above points.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beaumont Estate Hotel

Stay Date: 30/10/15, a customer who stayed at 4* De Vere Beaumont Estate in Windsor wrote this review.

If you are going on conference you will be fine here. But if you are a 4 star guest do not go to this hotel you will be very disappointed. The service at best can be described as lackadaisical in See More  Read more information both restaurant, bar and definitely housekeeping. Deluxe room smaller than Premier Inn, window very high so no view, glass bathroom door. Bed very very hard. Housekeeping safe broken on arrival and cupmissing, desk had been broken something was missing as spring was poking up. When complained about bed it took 4 requests and 7 hours to get two mattress toppers. Restaurant bar staff had no idea,waitresses slow with food, the steak was missing sauce on both plates. For dessert, the cheese was missing celery, hotel ran a carvery service just like a Toby Inn which is probably why the a la cartewas so disastrous. Breakfast if not there at 8 am you have to queue to get in. All self service - bacon over cooked and hard eggs dried out from being in a heat tray. Not appetising at all. Pool looksnothing like the picture in description looks a bit tatty. Disabled changing room so nowhere to put stuff down and no seat only the one for the shower. The lobby looks swish till you look closer -damage to several chairs. This is definitely not what you expect from a good 4 star hotel. This was a 60th birthday treat and not even a complimentary box of chocs or bottle of bubbly to acknowledge thespecial occasion.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great location but no sleep

Stay Date: 22/01/16, a customer aged 25-44 from East Sussex who stayed at 4* Oxford Spires Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Oxford wrote this review.

The staff are lovely but unfortunately our stay at the hotel was disrupted by noise at night. We stayed for two nights. On night one the fire alarm went off at 4am and we had to evacuate the See More  Read more information building so spent the following day (our only full day in Oxford) feeling completely exhausted. No real explanation given by the hotel other than an apology note placed under the door. On night two, therewas a function which seemed to go on until the early hours. Our room was close to reception and the front car park and we were kept awake by people attending the function until the early hours. Oxfordis a great place to visit, the hotel is in a good location and the staff were friendly but lack of sleep on both nights meant that the break was actually exhausting rather than restful.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel

Stay Date: 11/03/16, a customer aged 18-24 from Torfaen who stayed at 4* Apollo Hotel & Leisure Club (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Basingstoke wrote this review.

The bedrooms could do with a updating they are a little old fashioned apart from that it's a ok hotel. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Vespers  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Disappointed with Salisbury

Stay Date: 25/03/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Legacy Rose and Crown Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Salisbury wrote this review.

Found Salisbury disappointing overall, traffic in and out was always queuing, there were only a few restaurants to choose from. Shopping was nothing special. Good location as a base for New Forest See More  Read more information & south coast attractions.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Salisbury Cathedral  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Legacy Rose & Crown  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Not 4 star

Stay Date: 15/04/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Apollo Hotel & Leisure Club (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Basingstoke wrote this review.

Arrived at 18.00 hrs went to reception got our keys. Went to our room it had not been cleaned went to reception and was told would send a cleaner. I paid to upgrade my room because I would not wait See More  Read more information for the cleaner. The staff was very rood at this hotel. The rooms were not cleaned to a good standard. The food was very good. The leisure facilities was good.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
hatch  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Below par

Stay Date: 17/05/16, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Beaulieu Hotel in Beaulieu (New Forest) wrote this review.

On the surface the hotel looked clean but in fact it needs a deep clean to bring it up to a decent standard. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
national car museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
hoptel  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 2121 - 2130 of 2289 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open Open 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001995 @ 15/11/2018 15:25:46

Last rendered @ 17/11/2018 11:11:50

Last rendered @ 17/11/2018 11:11:50

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.