Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - South England

South England Holiday Reviews

Spinnaker Tower, Portsmouth

Whether you're looking for a busy break, shopping and sightseeing in one of the region's popular cities, or a relaxing getaway in the country wining, dining and unwinding, then our excellent hotels in South England will have something to offer you. As diverse as South England is, you could easily find yourself at a historic site on the mystical Salisbury Plains, boutique shopping in trendy Guildford, or sunning yourself on the South coast.

Treat yourself on one of our excellent value two night dinner deal packages or a stay with afternoon tea included for that extra bit of indulgence. Take the kids with you and make the most of our South England hotels great location close by to Chessington World of Adventures and Thorpe Park, or the outdoor playground that is the New Forest.

  • Our Windsor hotels are, understandably, amongst our most popular for family breaks; enjoy the brilliant fun of LEGOLAND Windsor or the historic delights at pretty Windsor Castle.
  • For culture and history however, do check out our wonderful hotels in Oxford - not only are the world-famous Oxford University buildings well worth a visit, but a number of charming museums and markets make this one of the region's premier short break destinations.
  • The vibrant port cities of Portsmouth and Southampton should also make your shortlist - offering the fine dining, exciting nightlife and superb shopping you'd expect from bustling cities, both are also steeped in fascinating maritime history.
  • For a quieter break by the sea, our hotels in Bournemouth are very hard to beat - enjoy a traditional cream tea, rest easy on the 7 miles of sandy beaches or head for a walk in the gorgeous Dorset countryside or along the nearby Jurassic Coast.


With a wealth of things to see and do, the region is the perfect choice for a short break - check out our range of hotels in South England in the list below. Alternatively, explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 2175

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Weekend in Oxford

Stay Date: 29/08/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Potters Bar who stayed at 4* Oxford Spires Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Oxford wrote this review.

Hotel was well positioned, short walk along the river into Oxford city. Food in hotel restaurant was excellent with good service. Bus stop near to hotel takes you to many places. Fire alarm going See More  Read more information off in room/hotel at 4.00 am in the morning not fun - false alarm!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Oxford City  
Abingdon  
salters steamers boat trip  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
the kinds head & bellabingdon  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Wonderful trip to Oxford

Stay Date: 29/09/15, a customer aged 65+ from Orpington who stayed at 4* Oxford Spires Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Oxford wrote this review.

Hotel was really excellent. We ate in the Restaurant the first night and had a lovely 3 course meal. The service was great and we really enjoyed the food. We had breakfast each morning which was See More  Read more information also very good with an excellent buffet with loads of choices. Our room was very nice with tea/coffee making facilities and a choice of teas, coffee, hot chocolate and assorted biscuits replenisheddaily. There was also a nice assortment of shampoo, shower gel etc in the bathroom. The location of the hotel is excellent with a nice river walk into the main part of Oxford. Buses run outside the hotelwhich will take you to the Railway Station and town centre. You can also easily get a bus from the town centre to Blenheim Palace which is 8 miles away in Woodstock but an enjoyable scenic ride. If youpurchase your tickets to the Palace from the hotel, you get a substantial discount. You can also have your ticket extended to a yearly pass with no extra charge. Oxford was beautiful and very easy tofind your way around. We didn't use the leisure facilities in the hotel as we were too busy enjoying Oxford but we did take a look and they seemed good. We would definitely recommend this trip andhope to go back in the future.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blenheim Palace  
Christ Church College  
Mary The Virgin  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Costa Coffee  
Pizza Express  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Oxford weekend break

Stay Date: 16/10/15, a customer aged 25-44 from Cambridgehire who stayed at 4* Oxford Spires Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Oxford wrote this review.

I specifically asked for a quiet room as I am a light sleeper. The room was at the back of the hotel overlooking fields and was wonderfully peaceful. Bathroom could do with updating as the counter See More  Read more information was marked, shower was difficult to control - temperature was either too hot or too cold and did vary during use so could suddenly be very hot indeed! No air conditioning, but control of radiators socould manage the room temperature quite well, but this was October, might be different during the warmer summer. Plenty of choice at breakfast and all was nice, although the scrambled eggs on the firstmorning looked like they were swimming in cream - better on the second morning. Was disappointed with the evening meal. The restaurant is trying to be quite fancy, and not quite hitting the mark andI found it difficult to find something that sounded appealing. Fish and chips arrived in a frying basket, form over function. Other diners ordered the southern fried chicken which arrived on a longthin board - and then minutes later was brought a plate as you can't eat it off the board. What is wrong with serving food on plates? I can't have spicy food so requested that the the chilli relish beleft off my burger - this was somehow relayed to the kitchen as with nothing - all I got was the meat patty and a toasted burger bun, No salad, no mayo, no pickles and was, again, served on a board (myown pet hate). The waiter did not ask if we wanted anything else such as sauces, and I discovered the plainness of my burger after he had left the table. No-one came to check if the meal was OK, andno servers came anywhere near our table so I could request anything. Had baked apple for pud, the filling was nutty and yummy and the cinnamon ice cream was lush. The apple was well over-baked as ithad shrunken considerably and looked wizened - the skin was very leathery and not pleasant to eat.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Oxford Castle  
Ashmolean Museum  
Bodleian Librabry  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
All Bar One  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Oxford pubs

Stay Date: 07/11/15, a customer aged 25-44 from Leamington Spa who stayed at 4* Oxford Spires Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Oxford wrote this review.

Are impressive! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Bear Pub  
The turf pub  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in Oxford

Stay Date: 13/11/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Oxford Spires Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Oxford wrote this review.

The staff were excellent and the hotel facilities were very good. However we did think that the room, although very generous in size, was rather tired. The en-suite bathroom was a bit of a problem: See More  Read more information it had no shelving for storing toiletries, the bath was damaged and the the plaster above and around the bath were not in good condition.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ashmolean  
Shopping  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Express  
Thai noodle bar  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Great location but no sleep

Stay Date: 22/01/16, a customer aged 25-44 from East Sussex who stayed at 4* Oxford Spires Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Oxford wrote this review.

The staff are lovely but unfortunately our stay at the hotel was disrupted by noise at night. We stayed for two nights. On night one the fire alarm went off at 4am and we had to evacuate the See More  Read more information building so spent the following day (our only full day in Oxford) feeling completely exhausted. No real explanation given by the hotel other than an apology note placed under the door. On night two, therewas a function which seemed to go on until the early hours. Our room was close to reception and the front car park and we were kept awake by people attending the function until the early hours. Oxfordis a great place to visit, the hotel is in a good location and the staff were friendly but lack of sleep on both nights meant that the break was actually exhausting rather than restful.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Spa Break

Stay Date: 26/02/16, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Oxford Spires Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Oxford wrote this review.

Beautiful hotel with beautiful views. Could hear the rowers on the Thames from the hotel but could soon block this out. Food in the restaurant was fabulous and great choice for breakfast too. Slept See More  Read more information really well on both nights and made full use of the leisure facilities during our stay. The fire alarm went off on the first evening whilst in the Jacuzzi but all was dealt with very professionallyand made sure extra towels were on hand so we didn't freeze! Superb value for money - would definitely recommend and stay again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend break in Oxford

Stay Date: 05/03/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Oxford Spires Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Oxford wrote this review.

Our SuperBreak included rail travel. Everything worked out very smoothly. Train on time, taxi from hotel picked us up within minutes of arriving at 10.30 am. Hotel staff at Oxford Pillars very See More  Read more information friendly and helpful. Allowed us to leave our bags before booking in so we could walk into Oxford along the Thames Path, which was easily accessible from the hotel. Our twin-bedded room was large andspacious, with a sofa, chair and large TV. Beds were comfy. There were two private events at the hotel Saturday evening so bedroom doors did not stop slamming until quite late. However we watched a latemovie so did not bother us too much. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice for every taste. We enjoyed used the swimming pool and steam room before having dinner on the Sunday evening. The swimming poolwas nice and liked the fact that there were individual changing booths in the changing rooms. There was no machine to spin dry our swimming costumes but this was not a problem as dried them on theradiator in our bathroom. Our break allowed us a free 3 course dinner which impressed us. The menu was varied and we thoroughly enjoyed our main course of the Lamb Special. Before leaving Monday morningwe had another walk along the Thames Path. Reception ordered us a taxi and it was waiting for us on our return to take us to the Railway Station for the 10.28 train which again ran on time! The wholebreak ran so smoothly and we think it was fantastic value for what we had. During our stay we visited the Oxford Castle/Prison which was very interesting and entertaining. We went next door afterwardsand had tea in Malmaison so we could have a look round this very dark and intriguing hotel. We enjoyed visiting the Ashmolean museum and had a very nice rye bread sandwich in the cafe. The highlightwas visiting the Christchurch College - I loved the great hall which was used in the Harry Potter films. Thank you SuperBreak.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ashmolean Museum  
Christchurch College  
Oxford Jail  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
ashmolean  
Cafe Loco  
Paul, High Street  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend visiting parents

Stay Date: 09/04/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Doncaster who stayed at 4* Oxford Spires Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Oxford wrote this review.

Fantastic place to stay. The staff, food and location were all excellent. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

2 day Oxford break

Stay Date: 21/04/16, a customer aged 65+ from Manchester who stayed at 4* Oxford Spires Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Oxford wrote this review.

Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel was very good value for money. Location is excellent - short walk into centre of Oxford. Room was of good size, restaurant and lounge bar had good and varied See More  Read more information selection of food on offer and all staff were helpful and friendly.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Carfax Tower  
Trinity College  
Hop On Hop Off Bus  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 2081 - 2090 of 2175 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 11:30:21

Last rendered @ 19/06/2019 10:35:35

Last rendered @ 19/06/2019 10:35:35

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.