Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - South England

South England Holiday Reviews

Spinnaker Tower, Portsmouth

Whether you're looking for a busy break, shopping and sightseeing in one of the region's popular cities, or a relaxing getaway in the country wining, dining and unwinding, then our excellent hotels in South England will have something to offer you. As diverse as South England is, you could easily find yourself at a historic site on the mystical Salisbury Plains, boutique shopping in trendy Guildford, or sunning yourself on the South coast.

Treat yourself on one of our excellent value two night dinner deal packages or a stay with afternoon tea included for that extra bit of indulgence. Take the kids with you and make the most of our South England hotels great location close by to Chessington World of Adventures and Thorpe Park, or the outdoor playground that is the New Forest.

  • Our Windsor hotels are, understandably, amongst our most popular for family breaks; enjoy the brilliant fun of LEGOLAND Windsor or the historic delights at pretty Windsor Castle.
  • For culture and history however, do check out our wonderful hotels in Oxford - not only are the world-famous Oxford University buildings well worth a visit, but a number of charming museums and markets make this one of the region's premier short break destinations.
  • The vibrant port cities of Portsmouth and Southampton should also make your shortlist - offering the fine dining, exciting nightlife and superb shopping you'd expect from bustling cities, both are also steeped in fascinating maritime history.
  • For a quieter break by the sea, our hotels in Bournemouth are very hard to beat - enjoy a traditional cream tea, rest easy on the 7 miles of sandy beaches or head for a walk in the gorgeous Dorset countryside or along the nearby Jurassic Coast.


With a wealth of things to see and do, the region is the perfect choice for a short break - check out our range of hotels in South England in the list below. Alternatively, explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 2168

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Break In Bournemouth

Stay Date: 28/06/10, a customer who stayed at 3* Elstead Hotel in Bournemouth wrote this review.

The Elstead hotel was excellent. Room was immaculately clean. Pool, gym and steam room excellent. Food superb! Bournemouth was lively and totally enjoyed our time there!. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bournemouth Gardens  
Boscombe  
Town Centre  
V Nightclub  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bella Italia  
Mandarin Chinese Restaurant  
Rubyz (Mark On Food Only)  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Location, Location, Location

Stay Date: 18/07/10, a customer who stayed at 3* Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel in Staines wrote this review.

Excellent hotel clean and friendly, but the view from the restauant fabulous. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Nice Break But Hotel Needs Modernising

Stay Date: 23/07/10, a customer who stayed at 3* Britannia Bournemouth Hotel (2 Night Half Board Offer) in Bournemouth wrote this review.

Really good value for money two day holiday. Lovely location near beach. Staff friendly. Food selection good. But decor needs much attention - reception area almost puts you off immediately but the See More  Read more information everywhere seems clean. The lifts only take two people at a time so much improvement required there. Entertainment was good on wed night and visited sister hotel another night and wished we had bookedthere instead as lounge area although dated was much more pleasanter with lots of windows letting in sunshine.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bournemouth Beach  
Bournemouth Shops  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Waterfront Bournemouth  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

By The Thames Path In Staines

Stay Date: 25/07/10, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel in Staines wrote this review.

Good location, we had a nice quiet room overlooking the Thames. A wedding reception on night we arrived so unable to eat in restaurant. Enjoyed our day out at Windsor castle which was 30 mins away. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Windsor Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jimmys  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Bournemouth

Stay Date: 25/07/10, a customer who stayed at 3* Carrington House Hotel in Bournemouth rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Indian Lounge  
 
 

Has Bournemouth Changed In 50 Years?

Stay Date: 05/08/10, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Britannia Bournemouth Hotel (2 Night Half Board Offer) in Bournemouth wrote this review.

Not much - the beach is still pleasantly clean and sandy but the sea seems chillier, though maybe that's just me! It's still a good place to go for a short break, or longer. The Britannia hotel on See More  Read more information east cliff is comfortable with decent food if you don't need a wide choice. The Superbreak half board deal was exceptional value for peak holiday time, though the white bedroom carpet was well-stainedand even the tv had colour fringes, but who goes on holiday for that? A pleasant bargain break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bournemouth Beach  
Bournemouth Air Museum  
Boscombe Market  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Bournemouth Holiday

Stay Date: 14/08/10, a customer who stayed at 3* Carrington House Hotel in Bournemouth wrote this review.

Hotel a bit out from centre got fit doing lots of walking. Hotel was very nice, include bathroom supplies only thing missing a face flannel. Good breakfast but over 2 weeks was the same every day. See More  Read more information Cleanliness excellent. Overall was excellent would recommend.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tank Museum  
Weymouth  
Swanage  
Beaullieu  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Bournemouth Is Lovely

Stay Date: 08/08/10, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Britannia Bournemouth Hotel in Bournemouth rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beaulieu  
Christchurch  
Swanage  
 
 

Budget Break In Bournemouth

Stay Date: 20/08/10, a customer from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Britannia Heathlands Hotel in Bournemouth wrote this review.

We chose this hotel as it could accommodate our family of 5 without having to book 2 separate rooms and because of its close proximity to the beach. The accommodation was very clean and there was See More  Read more information plenty of space to accommodate us. Unfortunately, the room was extremely hot, even with the windows continuously open - you could feel a definate change in temperature in different parts of the hotel.We were woken in the early hours of each morning (several times the first morning) by delivery vans coming to the hotel and the drivers were certainly not trying to keep quiet. The staff at the hotelcould do with some customer service training - the reception staff did not even look up as you stood at the front desk! The first waitress I asked for decaf coffee didn't know what I meant and got hercolleague - even he looked at me blankly and then brought me a sachet of dried up coffee. The breakfast was ok - plenty of it but the usually mass produced fried food. Plenty of cereal but no freshfruit in sight. On the plus side, the price was good for the 5 of us, staying 4 nights with breakfast and was a good base for us to get around. We stayed Monday to Friday with the Bournemouth airfestival (free) starting on the Thursday - it continued through to the Sunday but we were later told that the flying on Saturday and Sunday was cancelled due to the weather. We were lucky with the weatherthe day we spent on the beach for the festival and there was plenty to see and do. The hotel was a short walk to the beach but be warned - steep slope down a (safe) path - fine going down but out ofbreath on the way up - although there is a cliff lift you can take (which costs per person). Anyway hotel was fine regarding cleanliness and comfort (although basic) and we would recommend it for largerfamilies as long as customer service doesn't bother you - you get what you pay for I guess.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Corfe Castle  
Monkey World  
Bournemouth Air Festival  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Prezzo  
Harry Ramsden's  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Lovely Short Break

Stay Date: 24/08/10, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Gorse Hill in Woking wrote this review.

This was the best hotel stay I have ever enjoyed. The hotel is a lovely building in a delightful setting. It is very clean and the view from our room was great. Above all else the staff were the See More  Read more information friendliest and most helpful I have ever encountered. We will definitely stay here again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Virginia Waters  
Royal Windsor Races  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1571 - 1580 of 2168 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 16:47:10

Last rendered @ 21/05/2019 17:48:14

Last rendered @ 21/05/2019 17:48:14

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.