Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - South England

South England Holiday Reviews

Spinnaker Tower, Portsmouth

Whether you're looking for a busy break, shopping and sightseeing in one of the region's popular cities, or a relaxing getaway in the country wining, dining and unwinding, then our excellent hotels in South England will have something to offer you. As diverse as South England is, you could easily find yourself at a historic site on the mystical Salisbury Plains, boutique shopping in trendy Guildford, or sunning yourself on the South coast.

Treat yourself on one of our excellent value two night dinner deal packages or a stay with afternoon tea included for that extra bit of indulgence. Take the kids with you and make the most of our South England hotels great location close by to Chessington World of Adventures and Thorpe Park, or the outdoor playground that is the New Forest.

  • Our Windsor hotels are, understandably, amongst our most popular for family breaks; enjoy the brilliant fun of LEGOLAND Windsor or the historic delights at pretty Windsor Castle.
  • For culture and history however, do check out our wonderful hotels in Oxford - not only are the world-famous Oxford University buildings well worth a visit, but a number of charming museums and markets make this one of the region's premier short break destinations.
  • The vibrant port cities of Portsmouth and Southampton should also make your shortlist - offering the fine dining, exciting nightlife and superb shopping you'd expect from bustling cities, both are also steeped in fascinating maritime history.
  • For a quieter break by the sea, our hotels in Bournemouth are very hard to beat - enjoy a traditional cream tea, rest easy on the 7 miles of sandy beaches or head for a walk in the gorgeous Dorset countryside or along the nearby Jurassic Coast.


With a wealth of things to see and do, the region is the perfect choice for a short break - check out our range of hotels in South England in the list below. Alternatively, explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 2175

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Farnham

Stay Date: 14/07/07, a customer from Hertford who stayed at 3* Farnham House Hotel in Farnham rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break in Salisbury

Stay Date: 20/07/07, a customer from Swindon who stayed at 4* Legacy Rose and Crown Hotel in Salisbury rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Haunch Of Venison  
 
 

Quiet Break

Stay Date: 25/07/07, a customer who stayed at 4* New Place in Southampton wrote this review.

We had a relaxing stay. Room was nice. Leisure facilities great. We were a bit cut off not having transport. Hotel staff didnt seem to know where nearest town, rail station was or if there were See More  Read more information buses. After a bit of walking around dicovered bus route and drivers were very helpful. We took a taxi to the Rose Bowl for ?11, which turned out to be nearer than if we stayed in Southampton. The hotelwas advertised as being in Southampton, where we intended to be, but i felt that it was nearer Winchester. This mattered to us because we took train to Southampton only to find a long ?30 taxi ride. Wefound out that we could have got a train to within a few miles of the hotel. In the end we had a nice break. We stayed at a Holiday Inn in Southampton too and found when we were there that we wantedthe luxury of the De Vere back. Only bad point was a lot of banging of doors by other guests.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Rose Bowl  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's comments: Maps and travel information for the hotels are available on our website. Alternatively, please call our Reservations Department on 0871 221 3344 for more information.

 

Nice First Romantic Break

Stay Date: 21/07/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Newbury Elcot Park in Newbury (Nr) wrote this review.

At the first sight everything was as nice in reality as on the website. Lovely hotel in a nice and quiet setting. We enjoyed my boyfriend and I a cappucino in the lounge bar followed by a delicious See More  Read more information dinner in the restaurant of the hotel. The staff was as good as the quality of the meal. The only negative side was a lack of accomodation for smokers as it was raining and could not find one coveredarea outside.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
L'Orangery  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Southampton

Stay Date: 24/07/07, a customer from Berkshire who stayed at 4* New Place in Southampton rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Memorable Bournemouth

Stay Date: 01/08/48, a customer from Milton Keynes who stayed at 3* Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa in Bournemouth wrote this review.

Sea view was absolutely brilliant, very friendly people, very relaxed and restful atmosphere. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pier  
Wessex Christian Centre  
Church of England  
Bournemouth Park - Musical Concert  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
DNA  
Yeah Man - Caribbean Restaurant in Bosco  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Pity About The Weather

Stay Date: 20/07/07, a customer from Hayes who stayed at 3* Durley Dean Hotel in Bournemouth wrote this review.

Four of us stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Stayed before, but much better room this time. It was the weekend of the terrible floods, so weather was very hit and miss. The Shamrock Bar (just down See More  Read more information road from hotel), great place to spend an evening. Especially if you are sports fans.The swimming pool in the hotel was very welcoming, but freezing!!. Still a good time was had by all.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harry Ramsden's  
Bournemouth Steak House  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Hotel

Stay Date: 28/07/07, a customer from Gravesend who stayed at 4* Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa in Camberley wrote this review.

Our decision to stay at Macdonald Frimley Hall was a good one. The hotel is excellent and the staff very helpful and friendly. Our room was lovely. We walked into nearby Camberley in the daytime See More  Read more information (took approx 20 mins) which is a nice town (slightly uphill on the way back).   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Used the Spa Facilities

Stay Date: 27/07/07, a customer from Walton On Thames who stayed at 4* The Runnymede on Thames in Windsor wrote this review.

We relaxed and used the spa facilities. These were great as some sessions were adult only. We enjoyed ourselves had fun let our worries slip away. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Runnymede Hotel Spa Facilities  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pub opposite Runnymede Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Bournemouth

Stay Date: 31/07/07, a customer who stayed at 2* The Roundhouse Hotel in Bournemouth rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 
 

Showing 1501 - 1510 of 2175 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 12:13:57

Last rendered @ 27/06/2019 09:00:52

Last rendered @ 27/06/2019 09:00:52

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.