Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - South England

South England Holiday Reviews

Spinnaker Tower, Portsmouth

Whether you're looking for a busy break, shopping and sightseeing in one of the region's popular cities, or a relaxing getaway in the country wining, dining and unwinding, then our excellent hotels in South England will have something to offer you. As diverse as South England is, you could easily find yourself at a historic site on the mystical Salisbury Plains, boutique shopping in trendy Guildford, or sunning yourself on the South coast.

Treat yourself on one of our excellent value two night dinner deal packages or a stay with afternoon tea included for that extra bit of indulgence. Take the kids with you and make the most of our South England hotels great location close by to Chessington World of Adventures and Thorpe Park, or the outdoor playground that is the New Forest.

  • Our Windsor hotels are, understandably, amongst our most popular for family breaks; enjoy the brilliant fun of LEGOLAND Windsor or the historic delights at pretty Windsor Castle.
  • For culture and history however, do check out our wonderful hotels in Oxford - not only are the world-famous Oxford University buildings well worth a visit, but a number of charming museums and markets make this one of the region's premier short break destinations.
  • The vibrant port cities of Portsmouth and Southampton should also make your shortlist - offering the fine dining, exciting nightlife and superb shopping you'd expect from bustling cities, both are also steeped in fascinating maritime history.
  • For a quieter break by the sea, our hotels in Bournemouth are very hard to beat - enjoy a traditional cream tea, rest easy on the 7 miles of sandy beaches or head for a walk in the gorgeous Dorset countryside or along the nearby Jurassic Coast.


With a wealth of things to see and do, the region is the perfect choice for a short break - check out our range of hotels in South England in the list below. Alternatively, explore more UK weekend breaks.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 2168

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Top Class Stay at the Randolph

Stay Date: 21/05/09, a customer from Crewe who stayed at 5* Macdonald Randolph Hotel in Oxford wrote this review.

Mt husband and I recently stayed for one night at the Randolph Hotel in Oxford. From the moment we arrived the service was second to none - the staff could not do enough for us. The executive room See More  Read more information was lovely - huge bed and the turn down service at night was a nice touch - chocolates on the pillows and classical music on the television created a lovely atmosphere to come into. Well worth a tripif you want to be spoilt.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend Break In Oxford

Stay Date: 26/06/09, a customer who stayed at 5* Macdonald Randolph Hotel in Oxford wrote this review.

Lovely city steeped in history See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
University colleges  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
4550 Miles From Deli  
Macdonald Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fabulous Hotel

Stay Date: 20/02/10, a customer from Nottingham who stayed at 5* Macdonald Randolph Hotel in Oxford wrote this review.

Oxford is a lovely city and this hotel is the perfect base. Central and with attentive (but not fawning) staff we couldn't fault it. The breakfast was just delicious. A word of warning - do not use See More  Read more information the ncp car park next door, it charges a fortune and is very ticket happy with unclear signage!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ashmolean Museum  
Colleges - Various  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

52nd Wedding Anniversary in Oxford

Stay Date: 14/04/14, a customer aged 65+ from Fleet who stayed at 5* Macdonald Randolph Hotel in Oxford wrote this review.

The Randolph Hotel in Oxford was perfect for our celebration. The staff were attentive and very friendly and helpful. The food was an experience in culinary excellence. When I next stay in Oxford it See More  Read more information will certainly be at the Randolph.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Christchurch College  
Bodlian Library  
Ashmoleon Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
White Horse  
Rose Revived  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A leisure break in Oxford

Stay Date: 23/04/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Tamworth who stayed at 5* Macdonald Randolph Hotel in Oxford wrote this review.

Finding the hotel was a dream - easy to find everything, was perfect. The hotel as it is conveniently situated right in the centre of Oxford, hotel facilities was excellent the hotel staff were See More  Read more information discrete and cautious The breakfast set us up for the day ordering cooked food breakfast which arrived at your table fresh and hot. Oxford itself steeped in history with amazing architecture - heard somany amazing facts, went on a walking tour well worth doing (recommend paying for this and not going on a free one). Lots to do and see. Also managed some retail therapy at Bister Outlet a reallygood break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
oxford college/christ church history  
churches/with history  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent country hotel

Stay Date: 08/08/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 5* Summer Lodge Country House Hotel (2 nt Offer & 1st nt Dinner) in Evershot wrote this review.

This hotel is excellent. The rooms are very well appointed and spacious. The service is first class - this is a dog friendly hotel and all the staff knew our dogs name! One of the best hotels we See More  Read more information have stayed in.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Sculpture by the Lakes  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Acorn Inn  
Summer Lodge  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Disappointing Stay

Stay Date: 17/08/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 5* Summer Lodge Country House Hotel in Evershot wrote this review.

For our first meal despite appearing on the wine list, the wine we ordered was "unavailable". Our first breakfast the next morning (a Thursday at 8 am) had nobody in attendance (for a good 5 mins) See More  Read more information so we had to find our own way around! Having been out for the day on the Friday (and been at the hotel for 2 days) as we drove into the car park a man in a Panama hat jumped out and asked us whether wewere residents before he would allow us to park...! There are ways and means of dealing with residents and non-residents, but this was particularly unprofessional. The room whilst clean, tidy andgenerally comfortable (with some nice touches e.g. Earl grey tea, fresh fruit and shortbread) had a hole in the floor underneath the carpet (presumably a broken floorboard). The hot water in the basinwas excruciatingly hot. Also whilst we are dog lovers, we were not made aware that we would have dogs in the room next door. Every move we made was accompanied by barking! All in all a disappointingstay. Whilst the hotel was pleasant and the food very good the service, in particular, was disappointing. So didn't feel the hotel was worth the premium price and certainly won't be recommending it tofamily or friends.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lyme Regis  
Chesil Beach  
Abbotsbury Swannery  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Oxford for a weekend

Stay Date: 21/04/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Ulverston who stayed at 5* Macdonald Randolph Hotel in Oxford wrote this review.

Superb hotel, central location and easy to walk to city centre sights. Also buses and taxi services readily accessible. Hotel staff polite and helpful, room very comfortable with a view of the See More  Read more information Ashmoleum museum.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Pleasant stay

Stay Date: 29/04/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 5* Summer Lodge Country House Hotel in Evershot wrote this review.

This hotel was small and beautifully formed. See views exceptional and although expensive the a la carte menu was exceptional. Breakfast however was a disappointment. Service again good but table See More  Read more information become cluttered coffee was weak and bread pre sliced. Pastries were over cooked and there was a limited amount of fresh fruit. Spa and pool lovely but a little tired, cobwebs in ladies rest room,gardens however were exquisite. 8/10 all round score for a five star hotel that was pricey.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Oxford history

Stay Date: 25/04/18, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 5* Macdonald Randolph Hotel in Oxford wrote this review.

Staying in the Macdonald Randolph Hotel - was on the centre of Oxford and close to all the historical sites and colleges. The hotels link to the Morse series also adds to its charm. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ashmolean Museum  
City Bus Tours  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Browns  
The Red Lion  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 2168 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:26

Last rendered @ 20/05/2019 20:23:16

Last rendered @ 20/05/2019 20:23:16

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.